We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“informative”

Espiritu Santo Coffee Tour
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Naranjo
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
168 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“informative”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

learned alot from the tour and helped me realize all the hard work involved with coffee making. just hope i brought my insect repellant.

Helpful?
1 Thank pao_otr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    23
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
“Espiritu Santo Coffee Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

A beautiful lush setting, knowledgeable guides, delicious coffee, but most of all the opportunity to pick coffee and learn from literally the ground up what it takes to make a cup of coffee. We just loved the people, the tour, and the gift shop.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Laurie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Coffee and leafcutter ants”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

I really enjoyed this tour. We learned a lot about coffee production and also the other things we ended up spotting coincidentally on the tour, like the amazing leafcutter ants! The tour guide was friendly and knowledgeable, and there's a cute little gift shop at the end. The free coffee on the tour is a great bonus :)

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JerseyTraveler461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach
Level Contributor
95 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Great Day Trip from Punta Arenas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

When cruising we don't usually sign up for optional tours since we have found them invariably overpriced and usually not very interesting at any price. While in Punta Arenas, Costa Rica, on the Norwegian Star (Norwegian Cruise Line) we took a chance on what NCL called A Real Coffee Experience. It turned out to be the exception that proves the rule. The brochure described a 90-minute bus ride into the mountains and forests of Costa Rica just to get to the Espiritu Santo coffee plantation (and a 90-minute return, of course). It defied logic to take this tour, but for some reason we decided to give it a shot. We're very glad we did.

The ride to the plantation near the mountain town of Naranjo was wonderful. the scenery just breathtaking. A brand new, comfortable, fully equipped motor coach (Asuaire was the name of the tour company) and a terrific guide named Wendy Johnson made the time fly (though Costa Rican, Wendy's English was faultless). The tour of the coffee plantation was well organized, the guides personable and informative (we learned, for example, that they sell 80 percent of their coffee to Starbucks and another US coffee chain I'd not heard of called Caribou Coffee).

A very tasty lunch was had in the nearby town of Sarchi at a nice, clean restaurant that looked like it might have just opened the day before. Driving back to the ship (with bags of coffee for our souvenir list), we were two very happy campers.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Itinerant65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, England
Level Contributor
500 reviews
356 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 315 helpful votes
“So informative”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

We took a ship's tour to lean about coffee production in this country. We visited this 670 acre cooperative farm owned by more than 2300 farmers, more than half of them being women.

The tour covers every aspect of the life of a coffee bean from being picked, sorted, peeled, fermented and sun dried and of course there are plenty of samples to try and purchase if you wish.

All the guides speak very good English and are happy to talk on subjects other than their coffee!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank GillyB57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Espiritu Santo Coffee Tour also viewed

Poas Volcano National Park, Province of Alajuela
Atenas, Province of Alajuela
 
Heredia, Province of Heredia
Naranjo, Province of Alajuela
 

Been to Espiritu Santo Coffee Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing