We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very nice cacao and coffee tour”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Finca -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Minca, Santa Marta District, Magdalena Department

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Norwegian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
970aurah
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very nice cacao and coffee tour”
Reviewed November 10, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

We had a great visit, learned the process of cacao and coffee from beginning to end. Tours are done both in English or Spanish.
The couple running the farm are very nice and genuine.
The farm is located high above the sierra and overlooks the city of Minca and Santa Marta.
Nice place to spend a few hours learning and drinking the drink of the gods “cacao” while gazing at birds and meeting new people. It’s a beautiful hike up or down from Minca.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sapeoblas...
East Lansing, MI
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Chocolate and Coffee Tour!”
Reviewed May 4, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Best Tour in Minca! Or so they say, and, turns out, they're right! Skip the waterfalls and head up hill to visit La Candelaria family run (almost) organic chocolate and coffee (and avocado) farm! The owners offer guided tours of the grounds that include bean to cup explanations for both coffee and chocolate. Help harvest your own coffee or chocolate beans, then watch as the knowledgeable farmers dry, roast, mill and create a magical experience in front of your eyes! A perfect way to spend a morning on the farm - and, don't forget to ask how to go from here directly down hill (through a jungle walk!) to Pozo Azul, well worth the adventurous route!

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 4, 2017
Gracjas por tu linda opinion.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andi M
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely family”
Reviewed March 13, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We absolutely loved the place. Very basic accomodation but clean and cheap. We booked one day in advance from our hostel in Santa Marta and paid around 10$ each, so less than online...
One of the highlights of our 4 weeks in Colombia!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 15, 2016
Gracias, muchas gracias por tu opinión y por ayudaros. Gracias.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pachamama...
Cabanaconde
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“BEST EXPERIENCE AND PEACEFULL PLACE”
Reviewed October 11, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We stayed at this homestay and we had an experience that we won´t forget. The family were very friendly and they organized a coffee tour and cacao tour which we really learned about it and enjoy the best coffee ever and the best hot chocolate. Staying at their place was wonderfull something we look for it, great views, good coffee in the morning, very quite. This place is not for everyone since it is about 30 minuts walking from Minca, but if you really look for a quitness place, surround but coffee and caco plantations this is the right place. We enjoyed the landscape and we did not mind to walk from Minca to our homestay because views are great and we love walking, it was definitly worth to stayed at their homestay. Also they adopted a beautiful Tucan called TUKY and it is in good hands since they care about the bird and he is free and come back everyday to say hello to all guests.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Great views and peaceful
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 12, 2015
jajaja gracias Ludwing, los recordamos mucho, que tal las cosas en pachamama. Saludos. Gracias
Ana y Eugenio
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kizurikim
Spokane
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“wonderful experience!”
Reviewed March 24, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We loved staying at La Candelaria with Anna and Eugenio. They were warm and welcoming and Anna is a great cook and fed us well! It is a beautiful and rustic spot up on the mountain with tons of birds, abundant fruit for fresh juices, amazing sunsets, the twinkling lights of Santa Marta below and excellent coffee! Staying there was a highlight of our time in Colombia.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abizul201...
Tampa, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing!!”
Reviewed November 14, 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for only 2 days and we wished we could have stayed longer. La candelaria an amazing farm with amazing views. The variety of birds is beautiful, Ana's meals are wonderful and Eugenio is very knowledgeable and kind. The truth is it didn't even feel like a hotel, it felt more like we were staying with friends. The rooms are clean and the bathrooms are clean too. The bathrooms are located separate from room which is great because you shower to the sounds of the birds and Sierra Nevada but at the same time you have your privacy. We felt very safe with ana and Eugenio and definitely plan to go back and stay for a log longer. The coffee tastes like candy and there was no sugar added! The fruits are mostly grown by then. It's a true paradise!!!! Minca is the closest city to the farm and it's easy to get transportation to other cities from there.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvi0CM
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic experience”
Reviewed September 1, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Hi Ana and Eugenio,

Thanks very much for the wonderful stay, it has been amazing! Plenty of relax, surrounded just by nature and away from the world, it has been fantastic!

We live in UK and planned a vacation to Colombia. We found the finca de cafe on Internet and, although plenty of information was provided in the description, we decided to enquire about the place and availability with the owner. Eugenio and Ana came back on the same day and that was really much appreciated.

We travelled to Santa Marta and asked around how to reach Minca, a little village 45 minutes away from Santa Marta, as we agreed with Eugenio to meet there to reach the farm by mule.
English is not widely spoken, therefore I would suggest to learn at least the basics to ask for information. Minca is well known in Santa Marta and after asking around we were directed to catch a bus that leaves about every hour close to the market. Alternatively a taxi can bring you there for about 10-15eur (40k pesos or so). We decided for the "bus" and found the bus station. Be prepared not to catch a proper bus as the official transport that will bring you to Minca is a collective van, for 7k pesos.
We arrived to Minca and then reached the farm with the Mule. The finca is really nice, surrounded by nature, birds and fruits. We stayed for two nights and really enjoyed, a nice place to fully relax if you are living all year in a crowded city.
The room (couple) was nice and basic but very clean. It rained at night and i had an amazing sleep.
The food was really good and hand made by Ana. The second day we had a coffee tour with Eugenio. He made the tour very interesting showing us all the coffee plants, fruits and the process to make coffee. Since his family is a coffee producer he knows a lot about the coffee making, from plants to toasting. I would definitely recommend.

Overall it has been a great experience and we would have never expected to visit a remote farm in Sierra Nevada in Colombia so far away from the closest city. We are very happy to have done it.

One thing I have to say is that this is a farm, with all its plus of being surrounded by nature and calm. It has plenty of fresh fruits which are delicious. As you can imagine if you are a coffee lover you will have fresh made coffee from the plants to taste. It is not a five star hotel so don't expect such a thing. Nature lovers will love it!

Ana and Eugenio thanks again for making our stay so pleasant.
Silvio Carlo Katherine

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Nature
Liked least: Cold shower outside but it was expected given facilities and location
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 11, 2014
Hola muchas gracias por tu opinión, para nosotros es muy importante. Muchas gracias por ayudarnos.
Ana y Eugenio
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing