We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect”
Badger Set, Luxury Lodge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Badger Set, Luxury Lodge
Large 4 person hot tub
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Badger Set, Luxury Lodge
Large 4 person hot tub
King size chunky bed
Trendy wet room
The Lodges
Dinner Party
Breakfast
One of the many lovely shots of the lake
View from the bank closest to the lodges
One of our glorious sunsets
Morning mist
Another beautiful season
Tranquil lake side shot
A cold day, quickly return to the log burner
Sunset over the Pool
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Doddington, March, Cambridgeshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Hillphil6...
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed April 10, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Just finished our weekend break in sguirral drew lodge and to be honest I could do another week here....everything was great...accommodation spotless with everything you need...hottub was the best we have used...the well kept grounds we spot on...well done Steve and your friendly,helpful wife your doing a great job.we are going to be coming back here whenever we can.....thanks again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hot tub
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 11, 2016
Thanks for a great review, I will thanks Steve & Kay for their work on your behalves. And we look forward to seeing you here again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francesca...
Hoddesdon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wonderfully relaxing stay!!”
Reviewed January 11, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

I've just returned from an amazing weekend stay here with my boyfriend. From start to finish our stay was extremely relaxing. We stayed in rabbit burrow lodge, it was spotlessly clean and perfect for what we needed. We very much enjoyed spending time in the hot tub which made the stay extra special. Would like to say thank you to the man who comes to test the hot tubs every morning who was really friendly and gave us excellent recommendations as to where to visit and where to eat. The lodges are ideally spaced so that you don't feel overlooked and the area is extremely peaceful. On a side note the only negative point for us would be the poor quality of the pillows. Need to be made aware of the wifi charges also. However, we really didn't want to leave and will definitely be recommending to family and friends! Thank you!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 13, 2016
Thank you very much for a lovely review, we are very pleased you loved it. I will pass on your message to Alan (the hot tub man) too.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma G
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hidden Secret!”
Reviewed November 4, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Me and my boyfriend just had an idyllic weekend away at Fields End Lodges. The lodge was so clean and beautifully decorated. Completely 5 star.

Very quiet and staff there in an instant should you need anything.

It was the perfect getaway to unwind and get some R&R before returning to real life!

Would highly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 6, 2015
Lovely review, thank you. We do our best to make it the perfect break.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annton100
Northampron
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed September 15, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We had four days in Fox Den. The lodge ŵas superb. Two bedrooms, wet room and a hot tub.
And our dog was welcome. It's very peaceful and everyone is so friendly. The hot tub was great. Relax with a glass of wine. What could be better.
We've booked again for next year.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 17, 2015
We are very pleased that you had a great time and look forward to seeing you next year. Please bring the jug back that you took home by mistake, thanks for letting us know about that too, very much appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carla S
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“This is one remarkable place to stay!!”
Reviewed June 16, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

I was lucky enough to book a last minute stay in squirrel Frey lodge with the added bonus of the hottub (bliss) the location is spot on if your looking to relax and I have to say the accomadation was immaculate and built and furnished to a very high standard, we received a lovely warm welcome from debra upon arrival and given lots of information, that goes along way in my book, the only dissapointment to my stay was having to leave it truly is beautiful and I shall defeniately be returning soon, thanks for a lovely stay xx

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 19, 2015
Wow, thanks for the lovely review. So pleased you appreciated the lodge and the hot tub. We look forward to your return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
browni22
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Rabbit Burrow”
Reviewed May 7, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We did not stop in this particular cabin but stayed in another called Rabbit Burrow. This was of the same size but slightly newer. The layout and the condition of the interior were superb. We did not want for anything. A superb location that we will certainly be going back to. The cabin we stayed in did not have a Jacuzzi but we did not miss it. A great location that gets a top mark from us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 9, 2015
Thank you very much for your review, I hope you enjoyed your second weeks holiday in Kent. Look forward to your return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janelcole
Ipswich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“'Fields End Water' is a tranquil and relaxing getaway from hectic, modern life, and a perfect base for exploring the Fe”
Reviewed April 25, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We arrived at 'Fields End Water' on 20th April 2015 and were met at reception by Amanda who was extremely friendly and welcoming. As we approached 'Squirrel Drey', we loved the look of the lodge and its location, and when we went inside we were impressed by how spotlessly clean and tidy it looked. The living room has soft leather furniture and there is a widescreen TV. The kitchen is equipped to a high standard with quality appliances - a dishwasher, refrigerator, cooker with fan oven and a Panasonic microwave oven and good quality crockery and cutlery. There is a breakfast bar and separate table and chairs. The bedroom is simply furnished with a built in wardrobe and the bed is very comfortable. The piece de resistance is the bathroom (wetroom)! Superb fittings and a fantastic shower. This so impressed us that we will probably use it as inspiration for a future property we are considering buying. Overall the only mark you can give for the lodge is 10 out of 10, luxury living at a reasonable price. When we left there was a definite twinge of sadness. You're probably thinking that there must be one downside and the only minor thing was the non-existent wifi reception, but this was a small irritant and it didn't spoil our enjoyment of the lodge nor the pleasure of sitting in the hot tub watching beautiful sunsets.
In an earlier review on the website we read that a visitor had made a comment regarding noisy children despite it being an adult only site. It should be remembered that this is a family run farm and it is to be expected to hear the occasional sound of children laughing and, in our opinion, this only added to the sense that we were guests of the owners not just customers.
Overall we would unreservedly recommend 'Fields End Water' as a tranquil and relaxing getaway from hectic, modern life, and a perfect base for exploring the Fenlands.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Watching the sun set whilst soaking in the hot tub. Tranquilness of the location.
Liked least: Wifi access very weak (didn't spoil holiday though)
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 9, 2015
People will think I wrote this review myself, as it is perfect, glowing and a pleasure to read, thank you very much. We have just installed satellite broadband to the site and now all lodges have excellent Wi-Fi reception and speed inside the lodges, on the veranda and even by the fishing lakes if you wish. See you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing