We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for workouts and relaxing”
Review of Kurhotel Skodsborg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kurhotel Skodsborg
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Skodsborg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 28, 2013

The hotel in general is nicely decorated, and everything is as expected / like it is supposed to be, but the rooms are not very nice/new nor renovated. It looks a bit "worn down", except for the dining rooms and cafe.
The hotel was probably decorated in the eighties, but has not been kept very well. (The enterior reminded me of Riu Meloneras in Maspalomas, Gran Canario ref. my review, but Skodsborg is not nearly as nice as Riu even though the enterior was the same style!!)
And the door to the bathroom was just a thin glass-door that could not be closed properly.

Neither was the breakfast anything special.

However, note that the spa and the workout facilities and service provided is excellent(!), clean and very new! Everything from the great number of exercise equipment, terrace on the roof with aerobics classes, the saunas, the showers, the lockers, the tub, pool - looked new, clean and very well kept!

In addition, the food in the cafe was not bad.
And the terrace on the roof (breakfast&dinner) with a beautiful view, really adds to the whole experience.

The hotel also has its own beach 50m from the hotel.

There is a train close by that goes into the city. It costs around 60 DKK each way and takes around 20 minutes.

There is no air-condition in this hotel. Only windows and radiators.
Most of the food and beverages are organic, and they do not have e.g. Coca Cola. However, the alternative they served was very tasty.

I would only go back to this hotel if I was intending to work out many hours a day, relax, enjoy the spa etc. many hours a day, eat healthy and not eat very much.

Room Tip: Ask to get a room not close to the road, preferably with a view to the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lady83_SouthNO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (323)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 323 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2013

Nice building, not far from center of Copenhagen, near the sea side, hotel located perhaps in the best area of the town if you travel by car. Area is beautiful, green and picturesque.The rooms are a bit small, but light and quiet. Breakfast is excellent, served of the roof top restaurant. Jakuzzi and sauna area is not big enough if hotel is fully booked.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DT2507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Our family celebrated my wifes birthday last september with great sucsess. Both the reception and the communication process proceeding the arrangement was superb. The hotel staff is very attentiff and serviceminded. The restaurant personell is not at the same level all the time.
In our opinion improvements are needed as regards menu and presentation of the complete food offer in accordance with the overall goals of the hotel.
The hotel is situated at the sea and some traffic disturbances must be taken into consideration.
Possibilities for walkers and joggers are perfect.
Our greatest disappointment was that our grandchild at seven was rejected entrance to the swimming pool. She is a perfect swimmer. Hotel policy rules with no exceptions.

Room Tip: The wonderful seaview gives traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NilsMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

This was advertised as a former sanatorium transformed into a Hotel and SPA. I do not exactly understand why they call it "former"? The rooms, corridors and common areas as all the buildings are still painted in plain "asylum white" like from another era. The rooms are equally small and offering Spartan accommodations. The bathroom is a closet with a glass door that does not leave much to the imagination if you stare from either side. The furniture looked like coming from an Ikea outlet store specializing in items made exclusively for..... “former sanatoriums”. Nevertheless, everything else was superlative and we ended up having quite a good time. My wife attended the SPA and she rates it as top. Breakfast was included and it was very good with lots of high quality choices. The restaurant and the bar where equally world class. The service was excellent fast and effective throughout the resort. The property was sparkling clean and basic services (eg. Wi-Fi) worked without a problem. The location 15 kms outside of Copenhagen is a fantastic place in order to start exploring the beautiful, quiet and manicured Danish country side. The view of the sea with Sweden in the horizon was spectacular. There are marinas all along the coast with several good restaurants to choose from. Many people go to Copenhagen in order “to get away from it all”. If you ever feel like “getting away from getting away from it all” without travelling too far, Skodsborg is definitely a premier destination to consider.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tony N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Across the road from the sea, quiet modern hotel with top level exercise facilities and great small meeting rooms. The gardens and various levels of the hotel are attractive giving lots of possibilites for enjoyment, dining. Love the roof top restaurant with its great breakfast buffet and service...superb selection! Even the mini croissants are good! Also a top buffet for lunch..with great views and choices! Bar has some good wines but rather limited choices. Spa is attractive and the gym is five star. Great jogging on the beach accross the road...don't miss it! Great for small meetings.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms high are best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barefootsusyq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Great service in English along with great quality food at the restaurant and a lovely site about 20 km from Copenhagen and by the sea where you watch Sweden. Went to the Kronborg Castle, Shakespeare setting of Hamlet, one of the most important Renaissance castle and a must see of course. The hotel is trying to do its best to accomodate ever one wishes and I recommend it to anyone that is looking for a quiet place and a spa of quality. You can get to Copenhagen by train easily from the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Serge007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Stayed here on a business trip: small but clean room, very nice spa facilities, good breakfast and friendly staff.

Note: for some reason (and no obvious one like noise) I didn't sleep well the two days I spent here. I never have problems sleeping in hotels so I thought it would be worth mentioning here.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Limeonade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skodsborg
Comwell Borupgaard
#1 of 2 in Snekkersten
321 reviews
Amager
AC Hotel by Marriott Bella Sky Copenhagen
Inner Vesterbro
Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gilleleje Badehotel
#1 of 3 in Gilleleje
124 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Kong Arthur
Hotel Kong Arthur
#12 of 118 in Copenhagen
1,919 reviews
Beach Hotel Marienlyst
#1 of 4 in Helsingoer
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kurhotel Skodsborg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kurhotel Skodsborg

Address: Skodsborg Strandvej 139, Skodsborg 2942, Denmark (Formerly Skodsborg Kurhotel & Spa)
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen Region > Rudersdal Municipality > Skodsborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Skodsborg
Price Range: $169 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kurhotel Skodsborg 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you to Kurhotel Skodsborg - an international spa hotel based on simple Nordic traditions where nature, history and beauty join forces with knowledge, passion and innovation. We aim to fulfil your wishes and provide an ideal environment, in which you can relax, recharge and return home with renewed energy. We invite you to enjoy our luxurious facilities, experience our royal history and make the most of our 115 years of experience with a healthy lifestyle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Kurhotel Skodsborg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Skodsborg Kurcenter
Kurhotel Skodsborg Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing