We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings”
Review of Kurhotel Skodsborg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kurhotel Skodsborg
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Skodsborg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 1, 2013

This was advertised as a former sanatorium transformed into a Hotel and SPA. I do not exactly understand why they call it "former"? The rooms, corridors and common areas as all the buildings are still painted in plain "asylum white" like from another era. The rooms are equally small and offering Spartan accommodations. The bathroom is a closet with a glass door that does not leave much to the imagination if you stare from either side. The furniture looked like coming from an Ikea outlet store specializing in items made exclusively for..... “former sanatoriums”. Nevertheless, everything else was superlative and we ended up having quite a good time. My wife attended the SPA and she rates it as top. Breakfast was included and it was very good with lots of high quality choices. The restaurant and the bar where equally world class. The service was excellent fast and effective throughout the resort. The property was sparkling clean and basic services (eg. Wi-Fi) worked without a problem. The location 15 kms outside of Copenhagen is a fantastic place in order to start exploring the beautiful, quiet and manicured Danish country side. The view of the sea with Sweden in the horizon was spectacular. There are marinas all along the coast with several good restaurants to choose from. Many people go to Copenhagen in order “to get away from it all”. If you ever feel like “getting away from getting away from it all” without travelling too far, Skodsborg is definitely a premier destination to consider.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tony N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (315)
There are newer reviews for Kurhotel Skodsborg
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 315 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2013

Across the road from the sea, quiet modern hotel with top level exercise facilities and great small meeting rooms. The gardens and various levels of the hotel are attractive giving lots of possibilites for enjoyment, dining. Love the roof top restaurant with its great breakfast buffet and service...superb selection! Even the mini croissants are good! Also a top buffet for lunch..with great views and choices! Bar has some good wines but rather limited choices. Spa is attractive and the gym is five star. Great jogging on the beach accross the road...don't miss it! Great for small meetings.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms high are best...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barefootsusyq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Great service in English along with great quality food at the restaurant and a lovely site about 20 km from Copenhagen and by the sea where you watch Sweden. Went to the Kronborg Castle, Shakespeare setting of Hamlet, one of the most important Renaissance castle and a must see of course. The hotel is trying to do its best to accomodate ever one wishes and I recommend it to anyone that is looking for a quiet place and a spa of quality. You can get to Copenhagen by train easily from the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Serge007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Stayed here on a business trip: small but clean room, very nice spa facilities, good breakfast and friendly staff.

Note: for some reason (and no obvious one like noise) I didn't sleep well the two days I spent here. I never have problems sleeping in hotels so I thought it would be worth mentioning here.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Limeonade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a 3 day seminar and was not disappointed. The restaurant and facilities were fabulous. I had a very small room, but as I was on my own this was not a problem. This hotel had the best spa, and pools and gym facilities I have seen in a hotel. It was immaculate and every thing you could possibly want or need available. Apart from the pools and steam rooms etc, it also had a 25m lap pool!

The restaurant served incredible food, and I had breakfast, lunch and dinner daily and was not disappointed. The staff are really outstanding!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PSZTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

This hotel was originally a sanitorium and one look at the quite basic rooms will reveal it still retains many of the features of the original clinical design. The restaurant and cafe are pleasant and breakfasts excellent with the largest selection of different nuts and fruits to add to your healthy muesli. Good but pricy spa has recently been refurbished. the signature massage can be recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzypuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

I stayed here for a conference and was very impressed with the hotel, the food, as well as the view which was fantastic. The staff was very friendly and helpful, the breakfast was great. The rooms were simple but nice.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skodsborg
Comwell Borupgaard
#1 of 2 in Snekkersten
308 reviews
Rungstedgaard
#1 of 1 in Rungsted
195 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel D'Angleterre
Hotel D'Angleterre
#1 of 118 in Copenhagen
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beach Hotel Marienlyst
#1 of 4 in Helsingoer
445 reviews
Skovshoved Hotel
#1 of 2 in Charlottenlund
136 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Kong Arthur
Hotel Kong Arthur
#14 of 118 in Copenhagen
1,840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kurhotel Skodsborg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kurhotel Skodsborg

Address: Skodsborg Strandvej 139, Skodsborg 2942, Denmark (Formerly Skodsborg Kurhotel & Spa)
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen Region > Rudersdal Municipality > Skodsborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Skodsborg
Price Range: $171 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kurhotel Skodsborg 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you to Kurhotel Skodsborg - an international spa hotel based on simple Nordic traditions where nature, history and beauty join forces with knowledge, passion and innovation. We aim to fulfil your wishes and provide an ideal environment, in which you can relax, recharge and return home with renewed energy. We invite you to enjoy our luxurious facilities, experience our royal history and make the most of our 115 years of experience with a healthy lifestyle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Kurhotel Skodsborg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Skodsborg Kurcenter
Kurhotel Skodsborg Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing