We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“And the International Airport is just down the road!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Discovery Parks - Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 8, 2011

Location to Melb is great, however the flight path for Tullumarine is right over the top. We found the place very clean, service was ok, however Mr moustache needs to keep his opinions to himself. Unfortunatly the spa/sauna was "still" under refurbishment and given the time of year why does the pool close at 6pm?? maybe 8 would be better. It can be a bit noisy on the road boundarys but manageble. Units are quite modern.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (252)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

239 - 245 of 252 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2011

My husband and I had a health emergency which menat we needed to stay an extra night and also book a cabin for family members. The staff were so helpful and caring and booked extra nights just in case we needed to stay longer. Both the cabin and ensuite accommodation for caravans was clean and comfortable.We had to drive to the city and this was an easy route and about 10km but the bus stop is right across the road so very convenient. The pool looked nice, never got a chance to use due to above problems.A woolies shopping centre was right next door so again very handy. Theonly down side is that the ensuite sites and some cabins are close to the main road which is busy and quite noisy even late at night. However, overall a very nice park and wonderful staff!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelbugforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2010

We always stay in places with a pool as our children love swimming. Not only were the spa and sauna closed due to "water restricitons" the pool was half empty and not very clean. We were not advised of this at any time during the booking process or when we paid in advance so we were all disappointed that we could not swim.
Also no fresh towels were offerred during our three night stay and the cabin, while well appointmed could have been cleaner. The lamp in the living area was damaged and one of the bedside lamps didn't work at all. For a four and half star park this was all very disappointing and we won't return.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RainyDayGirl53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2010

Two friends and I recently stayed at Ashley Gardens. We had been travelling for 3 weeks throughout Victoria in a Motorhome and wanted to stay close to Melbourne for a couple of days at the end of our trip to shop and sightsee around the city. We chose to stay because it was close to the depot where we returned the Motorhome and was easy to catch trams and busses into the city. We stayed in a 3 Bedroom Family Villa which was bigger than my apartment at home. It had everything we needed. We found the staff to be very helpful, knowledgable about the area and helped us out with maps and timetables for the busses. We also got a great deal with a special they were running - 4 nights for the price of 3. Good Value.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PT1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2010

Stayed here when we arrived in Melbourne due to proximity to the airport. However, we regretted it, the place has the feel of a trailor park or council caravan site.

Very inflexible with the checkout time and were even trying to cash in on the victims of the volcanoe delays by trying to charge a full day when friends were waiting for a call from the airport. They were a mere 15 minutes over the 10am checkout.

The large white steel fence all around the site made me feel like I was in a concentration camp!

There is a lovely park just 25 km from the airport that we stayed in on our return, much better than this place.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bardsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2010

We were late to check out because their shower facilities were closed for cleaning from the approximate period of 9:00am to 9:40am. We didn't see any signs that indicated the daily times that the washrooms were closed for cleaning.

We then had 20 minutes to shower and pack up the van to leave. In respect to their check out rule of 10 AM, we rushed to take our showers and we were almost finished packing up the van. The caretaker came knocking on our van to tell us it was past 10AM and we had to leave or pay an extra day. It was 10:07am. The caretaker didn't care when we told him that the showers were closed when we needed them.

In 7 months of traveling in holiday parks, we never experienced such rude service and never felt so rushed to check out, even if they caused an inconvenience for us having their facilities closed before check out. Shouldn't washrooms be closed for cleaning after check out?

Maybe we made the mistake in not asking for a late check out (even if we didn't intend on being late) but we never expected 7 minutes would be such an inconvenience for them. That's how they made us feel.

Upon checking out, we asked for directions but they seemed more interested making sure campers were checked out as opposed to helping us with our enquiry. So we just left without any helpful information from the staff.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ConsuelaBananaHamock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2010

A 4.5 star accommodation that does not have internet in the rooms??? I know it is mainly a caravan park but at this day and age it is not on. The other thing is that the rooms have no shampoo, you feel as if you are lucky they gave you soap. I think it is a bit too expensive to pay if you don't even get shampoo. Television reception is very sub-standard even if they have cable TV. Really not good enough for the price and supposed star evaluation.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vagabond_World
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Braybrook
1.8 mi away
Footscray Motor Inn
Footscray Motor Inn
#1 of 3 in Footscray
58 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Ashley Hotel
The Ashley Hotel
#1 of 1 in Braybrook
61 reviews
3.3 mi away
Sunshine Motor Inn
Sunshine Motor Inn
#1 of 1 in Ardeer
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Alexander Motor Inn & Apartments
7.8 mi away
Melbourne BIG4 Holiday Park
4.9 mi away
Miami Hotel Melbourne
Miami Hotel Melbourne
#80 of 161 in Melbourne
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Parks - Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Parks - Melbourne

Address: 129 Ashley St, Braybrook, Maribyrnong, Victoria 3019, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Maribyrnong > Braybrook
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Braybrook
Price Range: $53 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Discovery Parks - Melbourne 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Forget about hook turns and congestion when you book accommodation in Melbourne; stay at Discovery Parks - Melbourne for a convenient way to visit Victoria. The accommodation offers a cheaper alternative to city lodging; with great facilities to rival any other resort in Victoria, and only 30 minutes from Melbourne’s city centre. Take in the bright city lights of Melbourne while you’re on holiday with this central accommodation. Being just 10km outside of Melbourne makes it easy for you to enjoy the sights and sounds of the big city and also the peace of a good night’s rest in a suburban neighbourhood. Book your Melbourne accommodation and enjoy the best that Melbourne has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Discovery Parks - Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing