We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Disapointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Discovery Parks - Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 3, 2013

If U r happy to be chastised like a child by the manager, then stay there. If ur happy to see the mgr swear at teenage children, then stay there. He threw a 75 year old lady, with a walking frame(who was with us) out of the communal kitchen for being too noisey, real classy mate. With all doors & windows closed we couldn't be heard, it was a large group, but most of the older people were in their 60's, they werent hurting anyone. We were in a cabin & my brother was told he had to put a report into the office to beg for more toilet paper. Absolutely discusting would NOT reccomend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shazzaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (245)
There are newer reviews for Discovery Parks - Melbourne
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

204 - 210 of 245 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed in site 44 with a very clean en suite and it was a large corner site. Traffic noise didn't keep us awake, it's about 15-20 mins in a cab to cbd, park is quiet and clean, I'd recommend as convenient to Melbourne but the immediate vicinity is not worth exploring!

Room Tip: Site 44 was great!
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maggiemadbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We used it as our 1st stop in Melbourne and stayed for 3 night in ensuite site. Roomy and very convenient place, nice playground that our 2 y/o loved. Not too far from Melbourne and very close to some major shopping centers.
The only downside is the proximity to main road - very noisy due to large numbers of trucks passing by.
The price is relatively high but if you compare it to other similar site in Melbourne region you will find it worth the value.

Room Tip: The only downside is the proximity to main road - very noisy due to large numbers of trucks passing...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Over the last 2 months have spent 4 or 5 nights at a time in a powered site and also ensuite powered site. Very convenient for bus service into city. Slightly noisy at night from road traffic for Ensuite site. Not so noisy for powered sites. Supermarket, liquor,chemist all next door. Clean and tidy facilities. Slightly dear but worth it for convenience. Will stay again

Room Tip: Look for a cabin towards west side of park.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 54Jenlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Coming from Horsham the park was easy to find. Conveniently situated with bus stop opposite and small shopping centre next door.

We are a couple and we got a spring special deal for a 2 bedroom family villa 6 at $144 a night.

The rooms were all a good size, lounge had 2 sofas and main bedroom had a very comfortable queen bed. The villa was very clean (except for the inside of the oven). The lounge lighting was not great if you wanted to read, but OK for general use. Our villa was at the back of the park and was very quiet.

The few problems we had were all dealt with quickly, efficiently and in a friendly manner and I found all the staff to be pleasant and helpful.
The site and pool area was very clean, well maintained and well set out.

You can get a Myki day pass for the bus at reception - much easier if you do not understand the new Myki system. A seniors day pass cost $7. We didn't understand the system and the first day bought a pass on the bus and assumed it would be enought for the day. Wrong!!

We had a great time in Melbourne and found the site a very convenient place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ausie-ei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed here for two nights on our way to Tasmania. On arrival staff were pleasant. Amenities very good, pool nice all laundrys and camp kitchens clean. We are travelling with camper trailer and had an ensuite site. The road at the site was very narrow and although we had no trouble it could be a problem for someone with a bigger rig. This didn't seem to be a problem for non-ensuite sites. Our site was beside a busy road and at times in the flight path for the airport. So as I say- good for a stopover but wouldn't want to be staying for longer than a couple of nights.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed here for 3 weeks in a cabin - 2 adults and 2 children. The cabin was small with a double bed in the main living area and bunk beds in a separate small bedroom. It was clean when we arrived, however over the 3 weeks it was cleaned once and even then we had to ask at reception. The cleaner replaced the shower curtain but didnt clean the toilet or the sink. At $150 per night this was disappointing. We had to leave a day early and even though I gave them over 10 days notice that we would be doing so they refused to give me a refund or even a partial refund. I thought this was lousy considering we had spent such a long time in the park and had given them a lot of notice. They did offer us a credit to use should we come back again though although this is probably of no value to us. The location is a long way from the city but the bus stop is right outside and is an excellent service which takes about half an hour to get into the CBD. The swimming pool was nice and the park itself clean and tidy. I didnt find the staff overly welcoming or friendly however they were not rude either. Overall an average stay nothing special.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chillibin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Braybrook
Footscray Motor Inn
#1 of 3 in Footscray
56 reviews
BreakFree Bell City
#3 of 3 in Preston
1,216 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mercure North Melbourne
#150 of 160 in Melbourne
435 reviews
The Ashley Hotel
#1 of 1 in Braybrook
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Parks - Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Parks - Melbourne

Address: 129 Ashley St, Braybrook, Maribyrnong, Victoria 3019, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Maribyrnong > Braybrook
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Braybrook
Price Range: $67 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Discovery Parks - Melbourne 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Forget about hook turns and congestion when you book accommodation in Melbourne; stay at Discovery Parks - Melbourne for a convenient way to visit Victoria. The accommodation offers a cheaper alternative to city lodging; with great facilities to rival any other resort in Victoria, and only 30 minutes from Melbourne’s city centre. Take in the bright city lights of Melbourne while you’re on holiday with this central accommodation. Being just 10km outside of Melbourne makes it easy for you to enjoy the sights and sounds of the big city and also the peace of a good night’s rest in a suburban neighbourhood. Book your Melbourne accommodation and enjoy the best that Melbourne has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Discovery Parks - Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing