We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Discovery Parks - Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 31, 2012

We were upgraded on arrival and given a lovely 2 bedroom family delux unit. It was clean, tidy and well presented. The desk staff were extremely helpful. There is a shopping centre with supermarket next door and a bus stop into the city across the road. There were plenty of facilities in the camping ground which also caters for all sorts of travellers. A fantastic experience. We would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travelsnake53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (245)
There are newer reviews for Discovery Parks - Melbourne
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

221 - 227 of 245 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2012

Had not been to Melbourne for a few years but went back to Ashley Gardens again. Stayed in 1 bedroom spa cabin. Very tidy, secluded & quiet. Comfortable, well designed cabin. As with some spa baths, unable to adjust jet flow, was a little under powered.

Room Tip: 24 hour supermarket next door. Bus stop to city near entrance.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RustySuzyQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2012

This park was the best over-all camp ground I stayed in in Australia so far. We've followed the coast around the south from Cairns to Perth, so we've stayed in a few! The kitchen was completely stainless steel and was clean with modern applicances. The bathroom facilites were very clean during various parts of the day and they appeared near-new. The powered sites were all grassed and were a resonable size. We found the front desk staff at the park to be very helpful and accomodating. In the spirt of objectivity, it should be noted the the only thing we weren't happy with was the internet at the park. As a young travelling couple, we use the internet regularly to keep in contact with family and friends, but we found the internet here to be slow and expensive. We probabley spent more on waiting for pages to load than actually getting information we needed. That being said, all the other facilities more than made up for this shortfall and with public buses that leave from the front of the park for central Melbourne running regularly, we would certainly recommend staying here to anyone on a budget who wants to stay close to the city.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FootFalcon31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2012

We have stayed for one night only in the holiday unit 5, 2 bedrooms, one with a queen bed ( 2 adults), the other with a double with bunk over it ( good for 2 adults and a older child or three children). There was a small living area with a sofa and a table for 4. Everything was clean and we had a good sleep. We didn't use any of the facilities due to coming late and leaving the next morning. If I was staying longer I would opt for one of the bigger cabins but for one night only this was sufficient.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Janulik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2012

A friend and myself went to stay here because it was cheap, but the second we arrived they constantly abused us because we were younger and not trustworthy according to them, yet we paid in full and were never there except to cook dinner and to sleep.
it wasnt until the 3rd day that a staff member came to our cabin and verbally abused my friend and made quite a sign so we decided to make a trip short and left for canberra 2 days early.
there were also a group of oung german backpackers that also recieved the same treatment that we did.
we will never be back to this caravan park ever again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Danial C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2012

We have been here three years in a row. This year instead of a caravan we stayed in a cabin. Loved the aircon this year! We know the road can be busy but there was no road noise in the cabin, despite it being nearest the main road. Never had a problem staying here. We use it for the Australian Open Tennis and can be in the city in about 15 mins. For shopping and parking in the city try harbortown near Costco. $5 all day and free tram to CBD. Shops not bad there either, some bargains to be had.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goodbeard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2012

This was our third stay in a two bedroom cabin at Ashley Gardens.
Unfortunately, this time we drew a cabin adjacent to the road. The traffic noise was constant.
On our previous visits, we had been at least one row removed from the road and the difference in the noise level was quite marked.
Notwithstanding, the cabin was clean and comfortable, albeit showing some wear and tear. We were staying in a more modestly priced cabin.
Ashley Gardens is well maintained; the gardens and lawns are neat and tidy. The facilities appear well looked after. The staff are friendly and helpful. Generally, the park itself is very quiet.
Next door to the caravan park is a small shopping centre that is open until late. There is a bus stop just across the road with a regular service into the city running about every 20 minutes. Access to the Western Ring Road and the Hume Highway is easy and quick.
All-in-all a convenient place to stay on the western side of Melbourne.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Braybrook
Footscray Motor Inn
#1 of 3 in Footscray
56 reviews
BreakFree Bell City
#3 of 3 in Preston
1,216 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mercure North Melbourne
#150 of 160 in Melbourne
435 reviews
The Ashley Hotel
#1 of 1 in Braybrook
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Parks - Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Parks - Melbourne

Address: 129 Ashley St, Braybrook, Maribyrnong, Victoria 3019, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Maribyrnong > Braybrook
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Braybrook
Price Range: $67 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Discovery Parks - Melbourne 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Forget about hook turns and congestion when you book accommodation in Melbourne; stay at Discovery Parks - Melbourne for a convenient way to visit Victoria. The accommodation offers a cheaper alternative to city lodging; with great facilities to rival any other resort in Victoria, and only 30 minutes from Melbourne’s city centre. Take in the bright city lights of Melbourne while you’re on holiday with this central accommodation. Being just 10km outside of Melbourne makes it easy for you to enjoy the sights and sounds of the big city and also the peace of a good night’s rest in a suburban neighbourhood. Book your Melbourne accommodation and enjoy the best that Melbourne has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Discovery Parks - Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing