We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Discovery Parks - Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Alice Springs
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Still good”
Reviewed March 22, 2012

Had not been to Melbourne for a few years but went back to Ashley Gardens again. Stayed in 1 bedroom spa cabin. Very tidy, secluded & quiet. Comfortable, well designed cabin. As with some spa baths, unable to adjust jet flow, was a little under powered.

Room Tip: 24 hour supermarket next door. Bus stop to city near entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RustySuzyQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    94
    29
    14
    6
See reviews for
101
78
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2012

This park was the best over-all camp ground I stayed in in Australia so far. We've followed the coast around the south from Cairns to Perth, so we've stayed in a few! The kitchen was completely stainless steel and was clean with modern applicances. The bathroom facilites were very clean during various parts of the day and they appeared near-new. The powered sites were all grassed and were a resonable size. We found the front desk staff at the park to be very helpful and accomodating. In the spirt of objectivity, it should be noted the the only thing we weren't happy with was the internet at the park. As a young travelling couple, we use the internet regularly to keep in contact with family and friends, but we found the internet here to be slow and expensive. We probabley spent more on waiting for pages to load than actually getting information we needed. That being said, all the other facilities more than made up for this shortfall and with public buses that leave from the front of the park for central Melbourne running regularly, we would certainly recommend staying here to anyone on a budget who wants to stay close to the city.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FootFalcon31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
762 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 373 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2012

We have stayed for one night only in the holiday unit 5, 2 bedrooms, one with a queen bed ( 2 adults), the other with a double with bunk over it ( good for 2 adults and a older child or three children). There was a small living area with a sofa and a table for 4. Everything was clean and we had a good sleep. We didn't use any of the facilities due to coming late and leaving the next morning. If I was staying longer I would opt for one of the bigger cabins but for one night only this was sufficient.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Janulik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2012

A friend and myself went to stay here because it was cheap, but the second we arrived they constantly abused us because we were younger and not trustworthy according to them, yet we paid in full and were never there except to cook dinner and to sleep.
it wasnt until the 3rd day that a staff member came to our cabin and verbally abused my friend and made quite a sign so we decided to make a trip short and left for canberra 2 days early.
there were also a group of oung german backpackers that also recieved the same treatment that we did.
we will never be back to this caravan park ever again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Danial C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2012

We have been here three years in a row. This year instead of a caravan we stayed in a cabin. Loved the aircon this year! We know the road can be busy but there was no road noise in the cabin, despite it being nearest the main road. Never had a problem staying here. We use it for the Australian Open Tennis and can be in the city in about 15 mins. For shopping and parking in the city try harbortown near Costco. $5 all day and free tram to CBD. Shops not bad there either, some bargains to be had.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goodbeard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2012

This was our third stay in a two bedroom cabin at Ashley Gardens.
Unfortunately, this time we drew a cabin adjacent to the road. The traffic noise was constant.
On our previous visits, we had been at least one row removed from the road and the difference in the noise level was quite marked.
Notwithstanding, the cabin was clean and comfortable, albeit showing some wear and tear. We were staying in a more modestly priced cabin.
Ashley Gardens is well maintained; the gardens and lawns are neat and tidy. The facilities appear well looked after. The staff are friendly and helpful. Generally, the park itself is very quiet.
Next door to the caravan park is a small shopping centre that is open until late. There is a bus stop just across the road with a regular service into the city running about every 20 minutes. Access to the Western Ring Road and the Hume Highway is easy and quick.
All-in-all a convenient place to stay on the western side of Melbourne.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

We've been staying at Ashley Gardens Big 4 now for 5 years at Christmas and in June each year so we can visit friends and enjoy the sights of Melbourne. This is one of the best and most affordable types of family accommodation that you can find this close to Melbourne and to the airport. There are so many different types of cabins here and we have tried nearly all of them. Last time we stayed in their brand new stylish modern cabins overlooking the pool and surrounds. These new cabins have all the mod cons and are fully airconditioned with well appointed queen bedroom with flat screen tv & good wardrobe space, 2nd room was very roomy with 2 king single bunks, full length mirror & plenty of wardrobe space. Roomy bathroom with shower, towels, toiletries, hair dryer and a separate toilet. Good size kitchen with oven, stove, microwave, fridge, plates, cutlery and all you need to cook. Dining room with table for 6 and good size lounge with flat screen tv & dvd, walk out onto wide verandah with outdoor setting for 6 people that overlooks sparking inground pool with spa & kids pool. Bonus is that you can park the car right next to your cabin and a little shopping centre is just around the corner for supplies. Also has a kids playground, tennis court, games room, BBQ's poolside and throughout the park as well as a large indoor spa next to the games room and plenty of space for the kids to ride their bikes. Also has a large camping area for tents and van sites, some with the new ensuites as well as good size ammenities blocks and a large camp kitchen/dining room with BBQ for campers. We have never had a problem at this place and staff have always been very freindly and helpful when staying and when booking.

Room Tip: If you can't find what you want on their website call them as there are more types of cabins ava...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank needabreakSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Braybrook
Footscray Motor Inn
#1 of 3 in Footscray
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#99 of 159 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#36 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Central Business District
Atlantis Hotel
Atlantis Hotel
#94 of 159 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Parks - Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Parks - Melbourne

Property: Discovery Parks - Melbourne
Address: 129 Ashley St, Braybrook, Maribyrnong, Victoria 3019, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Maribyrnong > Braybrook
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Braybrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Discovery Parks - Melbourne 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Forget about hook turns and congestion when you book accommodation in Melbourne; stay at Discovery Parks - Melbourne for a convenient way to visit Victoria. The accommodation offers a cheaper alternative to city lodging; with great facilities to rival any other resort in Victoria, and only 30 minutes from Melbourne’s city centre. Take in the bright city lights of Melbourne while you’re on holiday with this central accommodation. Being just 10km outside of Melbourne makes it easy for you to enjoy the sights and sounds of the big city and also the peace of a good night’s rest in a suburban neighbourhood. Book your Melbourne accommodation and enjoy the best that Melbourne has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Discovery Parks - Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing