We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for families”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Discovery Parks - Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
sydney
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great for families”
Reviewed September 18, 2011

We've been staying at Ashley Gardens Big 4 now for 5 years at Christmas and in June each year so we can visit friends and enjoy the sights of Melbourne. This is one of the best and most affordable types of family accommodation that you can find this close to Melbourne and to the airport. There are so many different types of cabins here and we have tried nearly all of them. Last time we stayed in their brand new stylish modern cabins overlooking the pool and surrounds. These new cabins have all the mod cons and are fully airconditioned with well appointed queen bedroom with flat screen tv & good wardrobe space, 2nd room was very roomy with 2 king single bunks, full length mirror & plenty of wardrobe space. Roomy bathroom with shower, towels, toiletries, hair dryer and a separate toilet. Good size kitchen with oven, stove, microwave, fridge, plates, cutlery and all you need to cook. Dining room with table for 6 and good size lounge with flat screen tv & dvd, walk out onto wide verandah with outdoor setting for 6 people that overlooks sparking inground pool with spa & kids pool. Bonus is that you can park the car right next to your cabin and a little shopping centre is just around the corner for supplies. Also has a kids playground, tennis court, games room, BBQ's poolside and throughout the park as well as a large indoor spa next to the games room and plenty of space for the kids to ride their bikes. Also has a large camping area for tents and van sites, some with the new ensuites as well as good size ammenities blocks and a large camp kitchen/dining room with BBQ for campers. We have never had a problem at this place and staff have always been very freindly and helpful when staying and when booking.

Room Tip: If you can't find what you want on their website call them as there are more types of cabins ava...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank needabreakSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    94
    29
    14
    6
See reviews for
101
78
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2011

Well, we said we would go back and thankfully we did. Located in a different part of the park made a big difference, the staff were as helpfull as they could have been. The place was flat out - I think we got the last van site and we couldnt fault it. Much quieter away from the road, had a swim with the grand kids and really enjoyed our stay. mind you, spending the night out at the Neil Diamond concert was pretty good to!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2011

WE stayed in a holiday unit which was OK but needs a few things fixing mainly TV reception. The aerial system seems to feed all the holiday units and is of very poor quality. Only the analogue channels are available (we took a set top box but could not get any digital signals due to the very low levels) are available and are very snowy. There is a power point and aerial plug in the bedroom (unit 99) but there is no power on it and no signal for the TV. We mentioned it to reception but they appeared to be unaware. The bahtroom is OK but very small. Area is good but incoming jets can be noisy. Did not try any other facilities.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kayceesophie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2011

We are currently staying in our campervan at Ashley Gardens for a few days, and we have been so impressed with it that we have booked to return at the end of March.

We almost didn't stay here due to the nature of some recent reviews, and we began to look at alternative accommodation within the Melbourne region. We are glad that we stayed here as it has provided everything that we have needed.

The location is excellent! There is a Safeway supermarket next door, and a bus stop outside on the main road. The buses run every 20 minutes and take you right into the centre of Melbourne. The site is situated within zone 1, so we have been able to use our weekly travelcard, which is great!

There is a swimming pool, LPG refill station, and a spa (and sauna), although we have not seen the spa open during our stay. The recreation room, kitchen and bbq areas are fine, as are the bathrooms - although they are not the most modern facilities that we have seen on our travels. Everywhere is very clean though, which is really all that you could want!

The subject of several of the negative reviews that we read prior to staying at Ashley Gardens was to do with people being charged for checking out late. Initially this sounded a little draconian, and we wondered what other rules might be uber-enforced. Anyway, having observed the number of people checking out well after 10am each morning, we are starting to understand why the park needs to enforce such rules. When you check-in here, or at any other hotel or campsite, you are informed of check-out time, so why people cannot comply with this is beyond me. And, there really is no sense of draconian rule enforcement here. It is all very chilled out and laid back.

We would highly recommend this place to others, and we would definitely stay here the next time we are in Melbourne!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank p0msdownunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2011

Location to Melb is great, however the flight path for Tullumarine is right over the top. We found the place very clean, service was ok, however Mr moustache needs to keep his opinions to himself. Unfortunatly the spa/sauna was "still" under refurbishment and given the time of year why does the pool close at 6pm?? maybe 8 would be better. It can be a bit noisy on the road boundarys but manageble. Units are quite modern.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2011

My husband and I had a health emergency which menat we needed to stay an extra night and also book a cabin for family members. The staff were so helpful and caring and booked extra nights just in case we needed to stay longer. Both the cabin and ensuite accommodation for caravans was clean and comfortable.We had to drive to the city and this was an easy route and about 10km but the bus stop is right across the road so very convenient. The pool looked nice, never got a chance to use due to above problems.A woolies shopping centre was right next door so again very handy. Theonly down side is that the ensuite sites and some cabins are close to the main road which is busy and quite noisy even late at night. However, overall a very nice park and wonderful staff!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbugforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Junee, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2010

We always stay in places with a pool as our children love swimming. Not only were the spa and sauna closed due to "water restricitons" the pool was half empty and not very clean. We were not advised of this at any time during the booking process or when we paid in advance so we were all disappointed that we could not swim.
Also no fresh towels were offerred during our three night stay and the cabin, while well appointmed could have been cleaner. The lamp in the living area was damaged and one of the bedside lamps didn't work at all. For a four and half star park this was all very disappointing and we won't return.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RainyDayGirl53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Braybrook
Footscray Motor Inn
#1 of 3 in Footscray
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#98 of 159 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#35 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Central Business District
Atlantis Hotel
Atlantis Hotel
#94 of 159 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Parks - Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Parks - Melbourne

Property: Discovery Parks - Melbourne
Address: 129 Ashley St, Braybrook, Maribyrnong, Victoria 3019, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Maribyrnong > Braybrook
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Braybrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Discovery Parks - Melbourne 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Forget about hook turns and congestion when you book accommodation in Melbourne; stay at Discovery Parks - Melbourne for a convenient way to visit Victoria. The accommodation offers a cheaper alternative to city lodging; with great facilities to rival any other resort in Victoria, and only 30 minutes from Melbourne’s city centre. Take in the bright city lights of Melbourne while you’re on holiday with this central accommodation. Being just 10km outside of Melbourne makes it easy for you to enjoy the sights and sounds of the big city and also the peace of a good night’s rest in a suburban neighbourhood. Book your Melbourne accommodation and enjoy the best that Melbourne has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Discovery Parks - Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing