We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Special Place”
Review of Waipoua Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Waipoua Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Waipoua Forest
Certificate of Excellence
Piopio, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Special Place”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Really enjoyed our recent visit to Waipoua Lodge. Fran and Ian are thoughtful, welcoming hosts. While we are Kiwis, and know the area reasonably well, they have lots of knowledge about the area, things to do, etc. Can see both Kiwis and international tourists loving Waipoua Lodge.

For us it was a special occasion getaway. The suite was comfortable and well appointed, with nice extra touches, and the food by Fran was excellent. The dining room allows for chatting with other guests or not, depending on one's preference. Also really enjoyed the session in the kitchen to observe the signature lemon souffles being made.

We will definitely return!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank kbnature
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoodieF55, Owner at Waipoua Lodge, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review and we are delighted that you and your partner really enjoyed your stay. The Kauri Coast is a much undiscovered region and so many 'kiwis' have yet to explore their own back yard. It is unbelievable that we have two trees here, one of which is 2,000 years' old and the other 3,000 years old ... that dates back to bronze age man! We look forward to being able to show you more of this wonderful environment.
Kind regards
Fran & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    404
    6
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
83
274
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We stayed for two nights and had such a great time - excellent food, so well looked after and thoroughly spoiled. Nothing was too much trouble. Visiting Fran in her kitchen where she shared many of her top tips was fun, and meeting the pets made it seem like a home away from home. We were visiting New Zealand from the U K and booking on the Internet was very straightforward. We loved our suite which had everything we needed, including fab toiletries ( my face felt peachy smooth after the Mud mask!) home made bath salts for a lovely soak after trudging round the forest and electric blankets on an enormous and very comfy bed for chilly mountain nights. We hope to return to N Z in a couple of years - and a return visit to Waipoua Lodge will definitely be on the itinerary - is an easy morning's drive from north Auckland. Thank you Fran and Ian for a really super time

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Susanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoodieF55, Owner at Waipoua Lodge, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review and being such a passionate self-taught foodie I do so enjoy inviting guests into the kitchen to share some of my favourite tips and ideas. You are right the mud masque is very special and your skin feels beautifully smooth and silky, plus the mud turns a beautiful shade of deep blue which with its natural ingredients is so reflective of our beautiful land - Aotearoa. We look forward to welcoming you back to the lodge in a couple of years time.
Kind regards
Fran & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
105 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We stayed at Waipoua Lodge for 3 nights in a spacious and well furnished cottage with living room, small kitchen, bedroom and large bathroom. Delicious gourmet breakfasts and three course dinners were served in the main house, prepared by Fran and served by Ian. Fran was happy to share her cooking knowledge and invited us into the kitchen to watch her prepare a signature dish. Ian handled most of the hosting, including taking us on several of the Waipoua Forest walks and introducing us to the lore of the Kauri trees. The lodge is located very close to the Waipou forest, the western beaches, and the Trounson kauri forest (our favorite). It has a small garden connected to a short bush walk. This is the best place to stay when visiting the kauri forests and visitors should plan on eating dinners at the lodge because of its relatively isolated location.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCTraveler058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoodieF55, Owner at Waipoua Lodge, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you for your comprehensive review of the lodge and what we offer our guests. It was a pleasure to welcome you and we are delighted that you enjoyed the complimentary forest tour, cooking demonstrations and all the other touches. With our strong NZ dollar we try very hard to compensate by providing our 2 and 3 night guests with lots of added extras and complimentary items to try and ensure that our international guests perceive they have value for money.
We hope you enjoy the rest of your stay in New Zealand.
Kindest regards Fran & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bend, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 22, 2013

This is so much more than going to "stay" at a destination. It is truly an experience to have such kind hearted people who care about their environment and their guests help guide you through your holiday! Ian does a wonderful job with the tours and Fran is an excellent chef who makes mealtime delightful.

We could have not asked for anything more and truly will remember this part of our New Zealand adventure forever!!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cherilynna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoodieF55, Owner at Waipoua Lodge, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words which make our role as hosts just so rewarding and pleasurable. To create a memorable experience for you is our goal and we are delighted that this was achieved. We hope you enjoy the rest of your stay in Aotearoa.
Kindest regards
Ian & Fran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Fran and Ian are THE consummate hosts! They are fun, informative, helpful and have planned every detail of their place with guest comfort in mind. Ian will help you figure out where to go, what to see and how to get there - do ask him for advice! And Fran is such a remarkable cook - we enjoyed every bite!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeattleSongbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoodieF55, Owner at Waipoua Lodge, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Consummate hosts - you are very kind and we are delighted that our focus on "creating a memorable guest experience" worked for you. Waipoua Lodge is a wonderful historic homestead which has naturally welcomed guests for nearly 100 years - our role is to follow her lead!
Kindest regards
Fran & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 3, 2013

I can not rate Waipoua Lodge high enough. We had the best time, staying in luxurious accomodation with lovely hosts Ian and Fran. Ian shared his local knowledge with us, and helped us to plan our day trips. Fran cooked us the most sensational meals including a picnic lunch containing the best sandwich my husband has ever eaten. Ian and Fran thought of everything to make our stay enjoyable and it truly is a special place to stay. I can't wait to return one day, and have recommended Waipoua Lodge to all my friends and family. If you enjoy great food, and are looking for somewhere tranquil to relax - this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Suz_Rene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoodieF55, Owner at Waipoua Lodge, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
It was our pleasure to share your honeymoon with you and I am delighted that I made your husband the best sandwich he has ever eaten! We look forward to the day when you return to once again enjoy the relaxing tranquillity of our historic homestead and thank you for recommending us to your friends and family. Kind regards Fran & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupo, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We enjoyed 3nights in one of the beautiful lodges. Every possible comfort, detail and spacious. Fran and Ian were great hosts and lots of fun. Fran is an amazing cook and being able to watch her famous 'Lemon Soufflé' cook before our eyes was great, but the taste was even better! My husband rates the full English breakfast as the Best Ever!! Fran's cooking school is an extra bonus and Ian's knowledge of the area really helpful. This is definitely a venue to watch as they have great plans to add to the experience, one being a 'laze and gaze at the stars area' along with all the culinary trimmings for night viewing. Fabulous hosts. We Highly recommend them.

Room Tip: Any lodge is fab!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoodieF55, Owner at Waipoua Lodge, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review and it was such fun meeting you and enjoying your company along with the other German guests - hilarity reigned! Just sorry that you were a little early for our star gazing project which we plan to have finished by the end of this month. Enjoy the rest of your stay in our beautiful Aotearoa. Kindest regards Fran & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waipoua Forest
15.3 mi away
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Hokianga
16.7 mi away
Opononi Hotel Limited
Opononi Hotel Limited
#1 of 2 in Opononi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
23.6 mi away
Parkview Motel
Parkview Motel
#2 of 4 in Dargaville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Waiotemarama Falls Lodge
16.5 mi away
Opononi Lighthouse Motel
6.8 mi away
Kauri Coast Top 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waipoua Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waipoua Lodge

Property: Waipoua Lodge
Address: 4748 State Highway 12, Waipoua Forest 0376, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Waipoua Forest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Waipoua Forest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Waipoua Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience true New Zealand hospitality. Waipoua Lodge - creating a memorable guest experience. Waipoua Lodge is a little piece of luxury etched in history where you can experience true New Zealand hospitality whilst travelling Northland’s Twin Coast Discovery Highway. This circular route provides two diverse coastlines which offer in just one region, so much of the natural environment which is our beautiful Aotea-roa (land of the long white cloud). Nestled on a ridge overlooking the vast Waipoua Forest – home of the ancient and iconic kauri trees, Waipoua Lodge offers relaxing, warm and authentic New Zealand hospitality and the perfect location from which to explore the beautiful and often undiscovered Kauri Coast - Pathway to Northland and Naturally New Zealand’s Ancient, Eco & Cultural Destination. With the mixture of yesteryear in the old Kauri lodge, home to artefacts from the Kauri logging era, to the four acres of garden and tranquil bush walk surrounded by pasture and forest … you will be inspired and all within an easy 3 hour drive from Auckland. Host Ian offers personalised guided tours of the local area and hands on talks and demonstrations of the history of the ancient kauri and the early pioneers and gumdiggers. If you have a love of food, cooking and entertaining, then dining at Waipoua Lodge will be an experience to remember. Spending some time with host and chef Fran at the lodge's cooking school could simply be the ‘cream on your dessert!’ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Waipoua Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing