We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and hospitality with a capital H”
Review of Waipoua Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Waipoua Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Waipoua Forest
Certificate of Excellence
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent food and hospitality with a capital H”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We only stayed one night at Waipoua lodge in December 2012 and that was defenitely to short! When we arrived we were welcomed by Ian & Fran and were given a menu we could select our choice for tonight's dinner. Mmmm, difficult to choose from, it all sounded very nice. We were given some background on the house by Fran and the house came to live after that. Our room was very spacious, with a seperate living room, kitchenette, bedroom and a large bathroom.
We had an early dinner as we booked a night tour at the Waipoua forest. Ian & Fran are totally equipped for this tour. You have your starter & main course first, then you have the tour and when you came back to the lodge you enjoy your dessert. How clever. The food is really to dye for, it is sooooo good. The attention to detail and the stories Ian & Fran exchange with you are great. They have a good knowledge of the area and give you any information you want and they are full of stories. We even got Christmas Crackers with our dessert. as we stayed there short before Christmas. The next morning we had our gourmet breakfast and said hello to the two piglets before we went further on our journey. This is really a lovely place to stay and we would recommend to stay here for 2 or 3 nights. There is plenty to see in the area and every time when you come 'home' you can enjoy the lovely food Fran has prepared!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoodieF55, Owner at Waipoua Lodge, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for such a comprehensive review and we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. Two to three nights is definitely a great length of stay to enjoy everything this wonderful area has to offer and especially the Footprints Waipoua night tour which is ranked by Lonely Planet as in the top 80 eco things to do in the world!

Cooking is my passion and as there are no other restaurants or cafes within 30-40 minutes drive from the lodge, we believe offering a comprehensive a la carte menu is a must. From this we have now developed the Waipoua Lodge Cooking School which is open to all guests who would like to spend some time in the kitchen learning some culinary tips and tricks from a 'self-taught chef' who has discovered how to develop her own natural cooking style!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    6
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
85
277
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We have just returned from a night at Waipoua Lodge. Fran and Ian are very welcoming and warm hosts and the lodge and location are just stunning.

Our evening meal which we enjoyed with friends was really impressive and breakfast was lovely too.

The lodge is a great base to enjoy the nearby Waipoua forest and local attractions. Great walks,
scenery and a swimming hole!

Thanks guys we hope to be back in the near future.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Matapouri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed at Waipoua Lodge for two nights in January 2013, before returning to Auckland. Fran and Ian were most attentitive and entertaining hosts. The food was superb and spectacularly presented, with every attention to detail. The various elements of a dish always complemented each other. The suite was both spacious and very well appointed, with equisite toileteries. If we are able to return to NZ it would be our first point of call.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoodieF55, Owner at Waipoua Lodge, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thank you John & Ann for your lovely review.

The location of the lodge is an easy three hour drive north of Auckland and on the magnificent and undiscovered Kauri Coast which tourists can travel as their Pathway to Northland - a region of two very diverse coastlines and three important Maori cultural and spiritual locations.

The Waipoua Forest is the focus of the Kauri Coast and like many of the natural wonders of New Zealand is a little remote, but perhaps that is why our ancient kauri trees are up to 3,000 years old ... luckily untouched and saved from the pioneer loggers they are here for us to stand in awe and feel truly humble.

Kind regards
Ian & Fran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cahors, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We spent the last night of our honeymoon at Waipoua Lodge and really couldn't have chosen a better place. Fran and Ian opened the Lodge just for us and were fantastic hosts. We were greeted with warmth and smiles and with many nice little things such as chocolates, homemade biscuits and even a complimentary bottle of champagne. The room was absolutely lovely. The dinner was amazing and the little chat we had afterwards with our hosts very nice and interesting (they like to talk about their country, the kauris, and a lot of other things). The only regrets we have is that the weather was way too bad to use the spa and that we only stayed one night !

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jyo_france
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Stayed only one night on the way back to Auckland. The accommodation is everything you would expect - very luxurious and lots a room. The hosts - Ian and Fran were terrific, very friendly and welcoming (as were Mr McFuggly, Hamish and Bonnie !!)
The dinner menu has plenty of options to choose from, and the three courses are portioned so that you can enjoy the full meal - and you should as the food is lovingly prepared and presented, and the tastes are delicious.
Ian and Fran describe themselves as the current "custodians" of the Lodge and its history, if you get the chance - treat yourself to a visit.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redesme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromma, Stockholms Län, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Our family stayed one night - December 22nd - with Ian and Fran on our way down south from Ahipara. Their warm welcome, the friendly atmosphere, the lovely building and the beautiful setting alls exceeded our expectations! We had the most lovely meal (and some real good wine too!) with christmas crackers and were also welcomed in to the kitchen to learn from expert chef Fran how to make a lemon soufflé! Before bedtime the children were invited to the christmas calendar to pick a christmas chocolate from the 22nd! We slept in the lovely furbished woodshed, used the lovely vanish products such as the body scrub and rotorua mud face mask and had a good nights sleep before a superbly cooked breakfast after which we headed south felling as royalties! Family Ringstedt from Sweden

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annika R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
118 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We spent 3 wonderful days here resting after a busy year. The hosts were amazing, friendly, warm, generous and very accomodating - while still giving us space when needed.
We could be involved - I learnt how to make ricotta and soufflé (just to name two), and feed Bessie and Holly - or you could just retreat with a large collection of DVD's to choose from.

When we decided to explore we were giving a delcious picnic basket to help the hunger pains during the day.

The location is great - close to all the key walks as well as a few beaches but very peaceful and quiet. We enjoyed the music of the Tui's all throughout the day.

The dining options were amazing. As a vegetarian I was giving a range of options especially for me to dine from and each was delicious.

WiFi is avaliable but cellphone coverage is limited - perfect for escaping the world.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natsnaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waipoua Forest
15.3 mi away
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Hokianga
16.7 mi away
Opononi Hotel Limited
Opononi Hotel Limited
#1 of 2 in Opononi
105 reviews
6.8 mi away
Kauri Coast Top 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
Opononi Lighthouse Motel
3.3 mi away
Birdsnest Holiday Home
Birdsnest Holiday Home
#7 of 12 in Dargaville
1 reviews
20.1 mi away
Baylys Beach Holiday Park
Baylys Beach Holiday Park
#2 of 12 in Dargaville
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waipoua Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waipoua Lodge

Property: Waipoua Lodge
Address: 4748 State Highway 12, Waipoua Forest 0376, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Waipoua Forest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Waipoua Forest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Waipoua Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience true New Zealand hospitality. Waipoua Lodge - creating a memorable guest experience. Waipoua Lodge is a little piece of luxury etched in history where you can experience true New Zealand hospitality whilst travelling Northland’s Twin Coast Discovery Highway. This circular route provides two diverse coastlines which offer in just one region, so much of the natural environment which is our beautiful Aotea-roa (land of the long white cloud). Nestled on a ridge overlooking the vast Waipoua Forest – home of the ancient and iconic kauri trees, Waipoua Lodge offers relaxing, warm and authentic New Zealand hospitality and the perfect location from which to explore the beautiful and often undiscovered Kauri Coast - Pathway to Northland and Naturally New Zealand’s Ancient, Eco & Cultural Destination. With the mixture of yesteryear in the old Kauri lodge, home to artefacts from the Kauri logging era, to the four acres of garden and tranquil bush walk surrounded by pasture and forest … you will be inspired and all within an easy 3 hour drive from Auckland. Host Ian offers personalised guided tours of the local area and hands on talks and demonstrations of the history of the ancient kauri and the early pioneers and gumdiggers. If you have a love of food, cooking and entertaining, then dining at Waipoua Lodge will be an experience to remember. Spending some time with host and chef Fran at the lodge's cooking school could simply be the ‘cream on your dessert!’ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Waipoua Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing