We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (325)
Filter reviews
325 results
Traveler rating
243
45
17
16
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
243
45
17
16
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjacuzzi baththe pubthe private dining roomflask of fresh milkunderfloor heatingfish and chipsblack sheeplovely villagestayed one nightsunday lunchyorkshire breakfastlovely roomexcellent staycooked to perfectionyogurtwalnut roomprovenance
Filter
Updating list...
315 - 320 of 325 reviews
Reviewed July 3, 2011

We went for our wedding anniversary, booked a meal in the restaurant and then stayed the night in one of the lovely rooms. On checking in the service was brilliant, a lovely man showed us to our room, explained procedures and showed us the rest of the Inn. The meal in the evening was probably the most enjoyable meal we have had, we particularly recommend the fish platter to share to start with. The service and food were excellent. A good night's sleep followed and then a most enjoyable breakfast was had, we didn't want to leave. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sal44m7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2011

Called in to The Oak Tree Inn as we had watched with interest the large refurbishment, in fact the total transformation, that had taken place over the last few months.
We were not staying the night only visiting the pub/restaurant but we were very impressed with the quality of work and the smart layout of the ground floor bar and eating area.
I am not sure if it is cosy enough to maintain its "local" status but the enthusiastic staff felt it could do so.
We ate from the "all day" menu with mains priced at £9.95. The downside of this was that the menu was extremely limited and some prospective customers may be put off if they struggle to find something to their liking. After 5.30pm the service moves on to the a la carte menu and there are additional choices from the specials boards around the walls. We did ask about the 7 for £7 which had been much heralded locally but these are only available during the week. Pity that because it is a new variation on the two for..... which is normally available in country pubs to get the early traffic.
However we did enjoy our food at the Oak Tree and there is a good choice of hand pulled beers. The wine prices are a bit on the steep side and so limit the diner to only one glass of wine which is equivalent to 2 pints of beer in terms of overall price. I never could work this one out but it is the norm in the trade!
Nevertheless we will call again because it was a pleasurable experience.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank journeyman064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OakHelperby, General Manager at The Oak Tree Inn, Helperby, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2011

Thank you for taking the to give us such a kind review, we have taken on board your comments and others about our afternoon menu and included some more substantial dishes to keep even the hungriest mouths full. I am sorry that you missed our 7 for £7 menu, you will have to pop in and give us another try, we offer it from Sunday-Thursday 5.30-6.45pm and it proving to be very popular. Thanks again for taking the time to review us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2011

luck would have it that the Oak Tree was the only place we could find serving food, and I tell you what I am very glad it was!

if I had to be critical I would say the selection of beer could be better but the food was 9/10. we had the fish and chips, the fish was massive! very well cooked served with home made tartar source chips and a selection of bread! it would have been nice to have had home made chips but I was very happy with what I was given!

well done Oak tree Keep up the good work and don't let the Quality slip!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markharrogate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OakHelperby, Manager at The Oak Tree Inn, Helperby, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2011

Thank you so much for taking the time to pop online and post us some lovely comments. It’s great to hear that we managed to feed you ‘Yorkshire portions’ of fish and chips at a time of day when you are usually faced with the curt response from a landlord that ‘the kitchen is closed but we do have crisps’.

Our fish and chips are proving to be a real hit with the locals, not just for their size, but for the fact that everything is locally-sourced and home-cooked from the Black Sheep Beer batter through to the chunky chips and tartar sauce. While we don’t pretend or even aspire to produce fussy, Michelin starred food, we are lucky to live in an area that is rich in great produce and it is our aim here at The Oak Tree to provide fresh, honest food that will satisfy even the hungriest local farmers! As for beers, again we like to keep it local, but we have introduced a guest beer to keep things fresh. (Thanks to Theakstons for providing us with their new summer ‘Lightfoot Ale’)

Thanks again for your great comments and hope to see you in The Oak soon!

Daniel Rushton
FOH Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2011

we are new to Trip adviser, and although we read other comments thought it about time to leave our own...
The oak tree only been opened recently, and is definitely, one of those "the pub is the hub!" this place was absolutely bouncing. As soon as we arrived, we had a good feeling... we dont live that far away, just a good excuse for a needed night away. We knew it would be good as some friends had already been, but they hadn't stayed, and we like the Durham Ox (it is the same people) . Our room was fabulous, a far cry from the average pub B and B. We loved was just how nice the staff are, and the other guests, nice to know in Yorkshire we're all still friendly! a real mix of locals and diners. The food is really good and needles to say the service and the ambience encourages far too much to drink... but at least we had a good lie in and although rather late (really late!) for breakfast, it was absolutely no problem as nothing seems to be too much trouble.
In a really nice village and a nice walk around the river, next time we will bring the dog as surprisingly they allow them. (in some of the rooms I think?)
A real treat, thanks again
x

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank talbot82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2011

mw and my wife wanted to book a nice quite night away with fantastic views, as stated the executive suite stipulates it overlooks the courtyard and the fields beyond this was perfect. we was extremely dissapointed as we looked out of the barn windows onto the car park supposebly courtyard and there we had to keep the curtains drawn as the room was directly above the beer garden and all customers could see you in the room. it was very warm in the room and we had to open the windows which then was very noisey as of all the customers in the bar and outside the room is directly above the restaurant and can be noisey if busy. i could not fault the room it was nice clean and tidy but a 4 star above a pub. gets quite at 11.15pm

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mu7phy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OakHelperby, Owner at The Oak Tree Inn, Helperby, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2011

No restaurateur really likes criticism (indeed I am no exception!!) however I do have a simple principle of, "if you like what we do, please tell your friends and if you don't ...please tell me..." This is sincere and honest; and most importantly encourages the vital customer feedback that drives our business and improves what we do.

I don't want to sound like Basil Fawlty when defending our view...agreed they are not the hanging gardens of Babylon. I sincerely apologise that you felt that our advance descriptions gave you the wrong impression of our Inn. But I have to defend that I feel your review does sell us a little short. All of our other guests have commented that the floor to ceiling windows in our oak room are fantastic, and they feel that lying in bed and looking across the trees and sky rather enchanting in our beautiful period Yorkshire village Inn. I am pleased that you liked the room itself. we are very much a country inn that has super bedrooms, we are not trying in any way to be a stuffy hotel.

Our pub, dining room and courtyard are indeed busy, surely a reflection of the popularity and quality of our offering. We are having possibly the finest summer on record and all of our guest, visitors and locals are loving our super light and airy dining room that spills onto our courtyard... Our apologies if their enjoyment encroached on yours....We do make sure that everyone is back inside again at 11pm... you have stated yourself that all was quiet once more at 11.15pm... Is this unreasonable in the height of our summer in a thriving and busy inn?


Michael Ibbotson
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews