We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place with amazing people”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Somatheeram Ayurveda Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Chowara
Reviewed October 16, 2012

A very pleasant place to stay. Warm welcome and attentive staff who are polite and smile often.The resort is absolutely beautiful, the garden are kept spotless.Very Good Ayurvedic Massage on a relaxed resort location. Massages are really good.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShantiTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (283)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 283 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2012

This is not a regular hotel, but rather an ayurvedic resort with a number of treatment programs, qualified doctors and therapists. So don’t go there if you are looking just for a place to stay and a base to explore Kerala. Going there makes sense only and solely if you are after ayurvedic program and need to take care of your health. Please read very carefully all information on the website on the treatments and programs, so that you are fully aware what it is. And if you believe that this is exactly what you need, most probably, you won’t be disappointed. Things to keep in mind are – the hotel is located on the cliff-top, so there is a long and steep way down to the beach (we have calculated 170 steps). If you are not up for the challenge, look into the sister hotel Manalteeram, which is located lower. Ear plugs are must, because the birds get very noisy especially in the morning at 5-6 am. Mosquito spray is also needed. Apart from that – terrific views of the ocean, piece and quiet, and a chance to get some quality me-time (although free wifi is also there and covers most of the territory). Pictures on the web-site are true. Would be even better if it would be possible to go for a walk after dinner to the beach, but the management closes the gates to the beach at around 7 pm. I guess it is because there is a fishermen village not far from the hotel and they would like to avoid any issues.

Room Tip: Go for a special cottage (round one), best Garden cottages are tiny, and deluxe houses have small wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mezzo_giorn0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

I loved the resort! It is perfect if you are looking for a peaceful place to stay.
Originally we booked the 'garden cottage' but when we arrived at the resort they gave us an upgrade to the 'special cottage' room. The room was very authentic with a spectacular view of the beach (HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!).
The resort provides a number of facilities depending on your preference, from ayurvedic to dental treatments. The restaurant provided a variety of dishes, all of which were amazing.
The service at this place is excellent. Everyone is extremely friendly and always willing to help.
I would definitely plan another stay at this resort.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank taniahenry_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2012

I spent 6 night there and had healthy holiday.
Especially the breeze of South India was wonderful, and foods are changed every meal,
and so nice.

Bud always there are mosquite, I was attacked by them.
And I had Ayurveda massage every day , I found that the therapist's ability is so different.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank takanonaoko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

This is a fantastic place to stay in Kerala! Excellent staff, guest relation, yoga, ayurveda treatments... Extremely professional personel. It is really value-money.

The place is amazingly beautifull, and all at the Resort poeple are very king, and helpfull ready to assist you in all your needs.

If I have another opportunity to go to India, I will definitly spend some days at Somatheeram once again :-)

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Delene_03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2012

If you like to knit your own yoghurt and hug a few trees in (mostly) peace and quiet, then this is probably the place for you. The whole hotel is geared up to the Ayurveda philosophy, offering massages and oils and a vegetarian diet. Each room is an individual little cottage, consisting of a bedroom and bathroom. The standard rooms are not air-conditioned and none of the rooms have either a fridge, TV or iron. There is no swimming pool on site, you have to walk through to the hotel next door (confusingly named The Somatheeram Ayurvedic Resort), to use theirs. You also have to go through the other hotel and past the pool to reach the beach.
The setting and landscaping are attractive and the staff are friendly and willing to try to accommodate any request. The restaurant is unlicensed, but they will allow you to keep beers and wines purchased outside in their fridge.
The hotel is situated about 12 kilometres from Kovalam, so if you want to go somewhere a little more lively, it entails a taxi ride. The hotel will supply a taxi for 600 INR, but if you go to the taxi rank just outside the gate, you can negotiate that down to 250 - 300 INR. One of the taxis supplied by the hotel did not have a front seatbelt, and we had to demand another vehicle.
The hotel is built on a cliffside, so if you have ANY mobility problems, do NOT go there, as there are stairs everywhere. For example, from my room to the pool, there were 49 stairs and from the pool to the beach there were another 162 very steep steps.
I travelled with my brother and sister, and we booked 5 months in advance, but even so, they could not give us rooms near each other, in fact, I think my room and my sister's were as far apart as it was possible to get. If you like to sleep beyond 5 a.m., then take some ear-plugs, as the crows that are everywhere, start their raucous crowing around then. If you are unfortunate enough to be on the side of the site that my sister stayed, then you will be awoken at 6 a.m. every Sunday by the church service that takes place immediately behind room 254 .... ear-plugs or not.
Checking out was such a nonsense that I actually asked if we were on a hidden camera show. My sister had settled her bill earlier, but they then found another treatment that they had not included on the original bill, so she was asked to pay that. My brother had spent the previous 3 days querying a double charge on his restaurant bill. At check-out, the extra charge was still on the bill, and they expected him to pay it. This led to a heated discussion before they agreed to drop the duplicated charge.Charges for taxis appeared at random. We were told that the charge related to when it was billed, rather than when we actually took the taxi! On my bill, I noticed that one of the taxi journeys had been charged at 700 INR, rather than 600. I was told that the extra was for "an air conditioned car". When I pointed out that we had not asked for an air-conditioned car, I was told that it was because we had changed the original car ..... the one without seatbelts! That was eventually removed from the bill. I used my American Express card to settle the bill, but the hotel's terminals were not working. I was asked if I would take a 4 kilometre taxi journey to their "sister hotel" and pay the bill there. NO!

To sum up, the hotel is very good if you want Ayurvedic treatments and nothing else. If you want something a little more mainstream, or if you have mobility problems, avoid it.

Room Tip: Avoid around room 254. Very noisy church behind it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank SE228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

I have stayed in Somatheeram in Feb 2012 (the one with red sun logo), probably on the border of the high season, as in March-April it starts to be much hotter and it is going to be difficult to sustain the heat. The acommodation was in Deluxe Kerala House for a 15-day manasanthi (stress management) program. Pleae note that in Deluxe Houses you actually have neighbours next door, who are sharing the houze with you, so if you want privacy, I recommend special cottages, not this one. The cottages 401-409 are definitely the best, since 401-406 are overlooking the ocean and have fresh breeze daily and 407-409 have a very lovely green spacious area in front of them. Any other special cottage I would not recommend, so please look carefully at the plan. The garden cottages and standard houses have more privacy, but standard houzes are veery small, so if you are travelling with someone, you might find it uncomfortable. The doctors in the high season have not a lot of time to dedicate to you, so you have to be very active in getting it. The quality of English is not very high, so you have to be ready for that as well. Therapists generally speak no English. The food is strictly vegetarian for those who is serious about ayurveda and is ready to follow the meal plan, so you have to be ready for it. Of course you can have fish and chiceken and sea food, but this is not advised by the doctors and can cause some issues (I had a skin rush and the first thing I was asked about was whether I ate non-vegy food). The best treatment time is 12-00, because you can do meditation and youga in the morning, have breakfast and then go to the treatments. Later if you take 14-00 or 16-00 or 18-00, it conflicts with either meals or any other plans you might possible have (beach, travelling to Kovalam etc.). One thing that bothered me a lot was the quality of sleep, since I hate to sleep under moskito net and ther were a lot of moskitoes in the houze at night. Bring good anti-moskito creams with you) The only other comment is that there is very little space to walk in the evenings, and the territory has lots of stairs, so the only promenade you can have is walking up and down 170 stairs which lead to the beach gate. Ah, wifi is extremely slow, if you want to have it more or less decent you have to go to reception.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank ice_queen_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chowara
3.9 mi away
The Leela Kovalam Beach
0.1 mi away
The Travancore Heritage Beach Resort
The Travancore Heritage Beach Re...
#12 of 97 in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
596 reviews
3.5 mi away
Turtle On The Beach
Turtle On The Beach
#4 of 52 in Kovalam
988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Green Cove
0.3 mi away
Abad Harmonia
Abad Harmonia
#8 of 52 in Kovalam
351 reviews
0.2 mi away
Manaltheeram Ayurveda Beach Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somatheeram Ayurveda Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somatheeram Ayurveda Resort

Address: Kovalam, South of Kovalam, | South of Kovalam beach, Chowara 695501, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Ernakulam District > Chowara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Chowara
Price Range: $96 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Somatheeram Ayurveda Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Somatheeram is the world of authentic Ayurveda. A serene Aryurvedic resort by the sea in South India. Here you can benefit from traditional Ayurvedic therapy as well as yoga in a blissfully peaceful environment. It is one of the best tourism spots in Kerala, India. Located at Chowara Beach on a hillock 9 km south of the famous Kovalam Beach, Trivandrum, Kerala with over 15 acres of greenery all around.And for houseboat trip in kollam u can visit our kollam allseason backwater resort .. search for allseason kollam ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Somatheeram Ayurveda Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somatheeram Ayurveda Hotel Chowara
Somatheeram Ayurvedic Beach Hotel
Somatheeram Ayurveda Resort Kerala, India - Chowara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing