We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful, relaxing place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nirvana Restaurant Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Nirvana Restaurant Retreat
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in El Santuario
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary Alberta
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Beautiful, relaxing place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014

I spent a weekend at Nirvana with friends. It is aptly named, very quiet and beautiful. The rooms are all in separate little units, I stayed in the Tranquility room. It was beautiful and absolutely spotless. The bathroom was huge and had a massive soaker tub, with large windows overlooking a luscious green valley. I generally have trouble sleeping but the bed was so comfortable and it was so quiet that I slept soundly both nights I was there. There is a gorgeous swimming pool and Nirvana also offers spa services, I had a lovely facial and my friend fell asleep during her massage. The restaurant is amazing, the menu is very modern and all fresh ingredients. I highly recommend the shrimp tacos, they were the best I have ever had. There is free wifi in the main lobby/restaurant area but not in the rooms themselves. It is a dog friendly place, with a couple of sweet resident dogs as well.

Nirvana is a short drive to the picturesque town of San Miguel, where you can poke around interesting stores and see the beautiful, traditional buildings and cathedral. Nirvana is about a 3 hour drive from Mexico City (depending on traffic) and a bit off the beaten path, but it is the perfect place to stay if you just want to relax and escape the stresses of life for a few days.

Room Tip: I lived the Tranquility room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cynthia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    26
    10
    0
    4
See reviews for
36
80
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Luis Potosi, Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

Very nice location, view and facilities overall. The food is also very good...great taste and variety. It was all looking perfect for our romantic get away weekend until we found 3 scorpions in our bedroom (yes, 3!); went to the reception and although they came and killed 2, the 3rd one ran away and we couldn't find it...it only goes downhill from here.

We asked for another room but they were sold out, we asked if they had antidote (just in case) and they said no...so we basically couldn't sleep at all (not the kind of sleepless night we had in mind).

The next morning we mentioned the incident to the front desk and they said it was normal during this season (certainly not advertised on the website or during checkin), and there was no apology or sense of appreciation for the disappointing experience...we were also told that the late checkin they had offered was not going to be available...at this time I gave up; what a terrible service; we are not coming back and don't recommend it at all

Room Tip: I was told by the staff that the scorpions like the stone rooms...so avoid those
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Miguel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

I was looking for a resort that had a kitchen facility so we can cook for our big family.And I was glad that I found Nirvana.I love the total ambiance and the set up in each rooms.Accessible to everything.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 19871991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

This hotel and restaurant is an oasis on the outskirts of San Miguel. It is a wonderful place of quiet and relaxation with superb cuisine and attentive service. The inventive menu offers a nice variety including grilled meats and fish dishes and artistically prepared appetizers and wonderful desserts. The grounds are beautiful and a pleasure to walk through after a meal. Even the tableware is artistic and carefully designed. Service is prompt but never hurried. If you visit San Miguel, take the short drive to this restaurant and be transported.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

Complete paradise - The grounds are beautiful, the swimming pool is naturally heated by underwater springs, the food is amazing, the rooms are a joy to stay in, the staff are all extremely friendly, and the owner is always around making sure your stay there is as it should be. Took my mum and dad there for 2 nights so that they could relax and then see San Miguel, but my mum wanted to stay another night, so we did. Couldn't recommend this place enough, pure relaxation and pampering in an amazing location

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JordanQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

This place you know is going to be good the moment you walk in. Lovely grounds and the terrace has a nice view back towards St Miguel. Cuisine is Mexican mainly with a great variety of meat and fish including sashimi Mexican style. Presentation is superb as is the taste. Service was excellent.
There is a hotel on the site with 2 pools and a spa.

Nearby is the famous church at Atotonilco and also the Galleria Atotonilco - a wonderful collection of Mexican folk art.

AR

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leon, Mexico
Level Contributor
135 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

Went there for a business dinner and I have to say that the site, ambience and service are just first class. Food was tasty and very well cooked. Seafood and steak selections are always s good choice. We sat at the terrace and just had a memorable time.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank velazquinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Santuario
6.7 mi away
Hacienda El Santuario
Hacienda El Santuario
#3 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
6.4 mi away
Casa 1810 Hotel Boutique
Casa 1810 Hotel Boutique
#1 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
5.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
6.6 mi away
Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada
Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada
#4 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Taboada
Hotel Hacienda Taboada
#28 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hotel Nena
Hotel Nena
#5 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
5.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
1.9 mi away
Atotonilco el Viejo Hotel Resort & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nirvana Restaurant Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nirvana Restaurant Retreat

Property: Nirvana Restaurant Retreat
Address: Camino Antigua Estacion FFCC 21-2 | El Cortijo, El Santuario, San Miguel de Allende 37750, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > San Miguel de Allende > El Santuario
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in El Santuario
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nirvana Restaurant Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IMAGINE... A countryside refuge, embraced by whispering palms and the pacific murmurs of the Laja River. Here, everything gives you the warmest welcoming: adobe palm and exotic woods.The touching beauty of every detail and the fusion of nature & architecture is striking. Inside the fragarant rooms, sobriety merges with the silent landscape. Light overwhelms you to the soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Nirvana Restaurant Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nirvana Restaurant Retreat Hotel El Santuario
Nirvana Restaurant Retreat San Miguel De Allende, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing