We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great location and fantastic property”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Lavins House

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Balla, County Mayo, Western Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
sstanway
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great location and fantastic property”
Reviewed April 17, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

The property is set back off the road and there are nice views of the surrounding countryside. It is in a very quiet spot but you are close enough to the local town of Balla to walk in and it is a very good base to explore the country. the property is beautifully kept and Prior to our trip the owner communicated with us very well and when we arrived we were given a lovely welcome and nothing seemed too much trouble. The Irish people are very hospitable and We will definitely be returning.

Date of stay: April 2017
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travel682...
1 review
“We had a great time, quiet and relaxing and the people very welcoming country to discover absolutely”
Reviewed November 10, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

..We had a great time, quiet and relaxing and the people very welcoming country to discover absolutely

Date of stay: July 2016
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kkanciani...
Tacoma, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great House”
Reviewed September 24, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We had a great time staying at Lavins house. The rooms were spacious and it was very comfortable. Close proximity to grocery shopping (only about 7 miles away in either direction). Balla is very close but grocery shopping is limited to necessities. We ate at a local pub one night which was great and just a few minutes from the house. There was someone there to greet us on arrival and show us the ropes which was very nice. The soaker tub was amazing after a long day of travel. Great location for visiting Westport, Galway and any place in the Mayo region. I would recommend getting a Wi-Fi hotspot when you rent your car if you are out of country. This made navigation to and from the house simple for us since we were from the States. The house is as advertised and well worth it. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again and highly recommend it.

Date of stay: September 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Liked how it felt like a home to return to at the end of a long day of travel. Very relaxing
Liked least: The road in and out was long at times for some of the day trips we took.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 26, 2016
Thank you for the review it helps with future bookings and I will be installing Wi-Fi in the near future.Hope you had a great holiday Thanks again James.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalh76
1 review
“Great house”
Reviewed August 30, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

The house is clean spacious and comfortable. The service was great with prompt replies to any queries. The location offers easy access to the town of Balla and to local places of interest by car. I would really recommend the house and would definately stay there again.

Date of stay: August 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 31, 2016
Thanks for the excellent review and i hope you had a lovely holiday and it was a pleasure to do business with you.

Regards

James.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pennybess
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“We enjoyed our stay and accomodation very much.”
Reviewed June 17, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We stayed at the "Lavin House" for four nights.It is a very lovely house. It is ideal for a party of eight or a large family. It is close to all amenities. We would definitely book there again, well worth the money..

Date of stay: June 2016
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oneforluc...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely house ,great location,easy access to major towns ideal would stay again”
Reviewed June 16, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Enjoyed our stay very much, friendly helpful neighbours, very difficult to find fault..My young two year old grandson fascinated with the sheep and cattle in field next door. Great countryside experience for him . Easy access to local towns and shopping, plus great access for sight seeing

Date of stay: June 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: Nothing to fault
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 17, 2016
Thanks for your review it will help a lot with new bookings i am glad you enjoyed you holiday.hope to do deal with you again.

Regards.
James
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sulliej
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Base for our trip to Mayo”
Reviewed March 6, 2016 for a stay in February 2016
2
people found this review helpful

The house was large and clean with decent sized bedrooms, the heating system kept the house warm and cozy and we all had a wonderful time, Any little issues were dealt with very quickly. It was also very good value for the length of our stay in Balla and was very close to town for a few trips to some of the excellent pubs especially Mannions on a Tuesday night for an amazing traditional music session!

Date of stay: February 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The size and convient location for our group
Liked least: We couldn't light the open fire as there was a problem with the chimney
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 17, 2016
Thank you for you review it will be a great for bookings it was a pleasure to deal with you may see you again.
Regards.
James
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing