We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfortable and cosy family cottage, the perfect...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Loch View Cottage

Loch View Cottage from the front.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Loch View Cottage from the front.
View of cottage from Loch Sunart
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Loch View Cottage from the front.
View of cottage from Loch Sunart
Living area
Taking it easy swing.
Pine Marten from the window.
Twin bedroom
Living/Dining area.
Bathroom
View from the doorstep during spring tide.
Pollock fishing from the rocks can be fun.
Some people bring a kayak.
There are pollock & dogfish to be caught from the rocks.
Picnic table and chairs provided.
The sky at night can be stunning.
Many photographers stay, and send us their images. Thanks Al for this one!
There are many seals in Sunart.
its sometimes surprising how close you can get to the wildlife!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Glenborrodale, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
1sue345
Haddington, United Kingdom
1 review
“Comfortable and cosy family cottage, the perfect base for exploring the peninsula!”
Reviewed April 25, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We're just back from our second consecutive year at Loch View and we're hoping to be back. The cottage itself has everything you could possibly need- the espresso coffee maker was a welcome surprise. We take all our food for the week so we don't have to spend any time shopping, so the well-appointed kitchen is great, like home from home. There's even an electric whisk so if you go prepared with the makings of a chocolate fudge cake, you can sit by the log burner with a cup of tea on a rainy day!
The owners are really friendly and helpful, even phoned to check everything was okay on arrival.
Ardnamurchan is so beautiful too, Sanna Bay is not to be missed, cream teas at Nadurra, loads of walks. You can do something different every day. We had just as much fun relaxing at the cottage some days, wandering down to the loch and we even launched our little boat from the jetty and went fishing. The children were outside almost ALL the time, playing on the shore so sometimes we just watched them from the comfort of the lounge.
One big highlight for us was hand-feeding the deer in the garden. A mother and fawn visited every night and eventually the fawn would take apples from the children's
hands (see the pictures on the
website!).
We just can't recommend this cottage highly enough for comfort, value for money, location, wildlife. Fantastic.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
topchook
Glasgow
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“fantastic cottage and situation”
Reviewed August 1, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

A lovely cottage and ideal situation for kayaking (can float your boats out from the burn in front of the cottage at high tide straight into the loch).
Wildlife fab too - the feeder is only a few inches away from the living room window and if you put peanut butter on it you will get views of pine marten that springwatch would be envious of! If there is any peanut butter left over the deer will come up at night and lick it off! Don't fill up the bird feeders though - unless you want to watch the deer headbutting them to empty them and then hovering up the contents!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the unrivalled wildlife watching
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnKirto...
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An excellent holiday cottage.”
Reviewed August 1, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

A very comfortable cottage - well appointed with all the mod cons. The wildlife in the garden was fabulous, Red deer, Otters and Pine matens all visited while we were staying. From the beach we saw Gannets feeding, seals and a wide range of other birds, with great walks and some stunning views everywhere you turn. If you are into walking and wildlife this is a dream place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pine martens in the garden
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanMC231
Meigle, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic holiday in great location”
Reviewed June 16, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Cottage was lovely and comfortable with all facilities and the location is just superb.
Had a wonderful relaxed time exploring the beaches in the area and we landed really lucky with the weather as the summer finally decided to arrive on the same day as us.
The fishing wasn't at it's best yet but we did catch some sights of the Pine Martens, Deer and Porpoises.
Our two dogs also loved the holiday with the freedom to explore and my Border Terrier pup discovered that he's a natural born swimmer.
We all loved it and will definitely be back in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cottage, location and weather
Liked least: The awkward single track road
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calum B
Oban, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best cottage we have ever stayed in!”
Reviewed August 20, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

Loch View Cottage is great little cottage hidden in Ardnamurchan. We booked it hoping to see some local wildlife and were certainly not disappointed. We had been advised by the owner to smear some peanut butter or jam on the little feeding table outside the lounge window and within half an hour we were watching 2 pine martens fighting for the jam. Throughout the week we watched red deer, pine martens and a huge variety of birds at the table and the security light meant that we were even alerted to visits after dark.
There are no shops in Glenborrodale and so a week needs a bit of planning but this adds to the fun. We fished from the rocks and caught 4 mackerel one night and small (about 2 feet) shark type fish, the kids also found lots of crabs in the rock pools. At dusk on a couple of nights we wtched an otter eating fish on the rocks quite close to us.
Things to do nearby include visiting the Ardnamurchan lighthouse, taking the ferry to Tobermory on Mull and endless walks along the beach and in the hills.
The cottage is very well equipped with two tvs and everything we could have needed. The wireless broadband was a bit slower than we were used to but it was fine for our purpose. There is a couple who stay in an old hotel next door and they were very helpful when we needed any informationabout the area.
All in all a fantastic holiday and the kids want us to book again next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The superb variety of wildlife and the proximity to the sea.
Liked least: One night the famous scottish midges arrived. Take some repellant!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 6, 2012 for a stay in March 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Scenery
Liked least: Everthing was great
Traveling group: Family with Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
terryhend...
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A real home from home (and gateway to Scotland's greatest assets)”
Reviewed February 17, 2012 for a stay in October 2011

Our stay in October 2011 was a fourth consecutive year which says it all really. As in each previous visit we had a fantastic week. The house was great as usual, the owners have thought of everything (on our first stay we took several items we needn't have bothered with and have travelled lighter on each subsequent visit) and the location is simply magnificent. The kids (10 & 13) had a ball, enjoying even tasks like re-filling the log baskets for the wood burner (the sort of thing you'd have to battle with them to do at home!). They've fished, kayaked, played on their bikes, boated over to Carna and up and down Loch Sunart, hiked a few hills, fed and spotted birds (including Sea and Golden Eagles), red deer, seals, otters, porpoises and pine martens, explored the "island" out front, built a tree swing, played in the burn...all of which is just outside the door of the cottage.

There are also some truly beautiful places to visit within a short drive such as Ben Hiant, Tioram Castle, Sanna Bay, Kentra, Ockle. You can take the ferry to any number of islands, including Mull and Eigg, or head up to Lochailort, Arisaig or Mallaig and take the train along the West Highland Line to Fort William with breathtaking views along the way.

My personal highlight remains, having set out before 7am on the Friday morning of our week in 2009, paddling up and down the shoreline then back down and around Risga ina flat calm (followed all the way by a seal that was paying me just a little too close attention for my liking) and onwards to the high rocks to fish for a bit. As I approached the rocks an otter emerged from the water with a fish, killed it on the rocks and ate it while I sat in the kayak no more than six feet away. It only saw me once it had finished and barked at me and slid back into the water…fantastic (sadly couldn’t get to my camera without disturbing it). It really was the most amazing start to what was to be a beautiful day at the end of another incredible week.

We've enjoyed magnificent weather for the entirety of 3 out of our 4 visits here. Last year's weather had more of a wintry feel but any showers were short-lived and did not keep us in.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The property is just a great base to relax in or return to after exploring the outdoors.
Liked least: Nothing to dislike.
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing