We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wildlife rules up here”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Loch View Cottage

Loch View Cottage from the front.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Loch View Cottage from the front.
View of cottage from Loch Sunart
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
Loch View Cottage from the front.
View of cottage from Loch Sunart
Living area
Taking it easy swing.
Pine Marten from the window.
Twin bedroom
Living/Dining area.
Bathroom
View from the doorstep during spring tide.
Pollock fishing from the rocks can be fun.
Some people bring a kayak.
There are pollock & dogfish to be caught from the rocks.
Picnic table and chairs provided.
The sky at night can be stunning.
Many photographers stay, and send us their images. Thanks Al for this one!
There are many seals in Sunart.
its sometimes surprising how close you can get to the wildlife!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Glenborrodale, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
maureenan...
longfield
2 reviews
“Wildlife rules up here”
Reviewed January 10, 2012 for a stay in May 2011

This was our first visit to the area.....can't believe how beautiful it is! It's a completely different way of life. Absolutely unspoilt. The cottage is perfect, warm, cosy, really well equipped, especially the kitchen.You have your own beach at the end of the garden. I collected mussels and cooked them 2 minutes later! Lots to do. Go to the wildlife centre, up the road, at the beginning of your stay......the ticket lasts all week.Owner is very helpful, he even emailed us us during our stay to nmake sure that we didn't miss a concert at the local village hall ......at least 20 miles away!! Very highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gillybarw...
Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing location, homely cottage and total peace and tranquility”
Reviewed January 8, 2012 for a stay in May 2011

My family (1 husband, 3 children aged 7, 9 and 11 and two large dogs) stayed in this glorious cottage during the May bank holiday week. The cottage is very well appointed and was extremely warm and comfortable, helped by the endless supply of free firewood for the wood-burning stove. My children and dogs loved the sense of freedom the cottage's location gave them in that we could just open the door and they were off on their own little "Swallows and Amazon" style adventures in total safety. We really liked the nice touches of the binoculars and halogen torch to seek out deer at night time, although the binoculars were not needed...we must have seen about 20 deer grazing just outside the sitting room window!! We had less luck in seeing the pine martins. Although we put out peanut butter and jam on the feeding table for them, the only thing we saw were our dogs licking it off!! This is a truly magical area to stay in with glorious deserted white sand beaches at Sanna Bay in easy reach as well as many other wonderous locations. I must also commend the owner too for his helpfulness in returning my daughter's camera which she lost down the side of her bed!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Having to leave
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 14, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our cottage, its much appreciated. Fiona agrees that some of the bedding was not 5* last year and so its all new linen for 2012.
Allan & Fiona.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teacake64...
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Nice cottage in a terrific location”
Reviewed January 5, 2012 for a stay in February 2010

The property is in a fine location on the Ardnamurchan peninsula very close to the edge of the loch. We stayed during a very cold week in February but there was ample supplies of fuel for the wood burning stove and where necessary this could be supplemented with electric central heating. The house is very clean and comfortable, with a better standard of furnishings than is found in some holiday cottages. The owners of the cottage were particularly helpful in providing information and allowing us to change our plans when an unforseen circumstance occured. At the time when we stayed there was an unused hotel next door (this may have changed now) but I wouldn't say it detracted from a very enjoyable break.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location - stunning
Liked least: The empty hotel next door.
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny W
cheshire england
1 review
“Heaven on Earth”
Reviewed January 5, 2012 for a stay in October 2010

Fantastic cottage - very well equipped.
Lovely views with lots of wildlife
Exceptional peace and quiet

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$1,955
/ Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing