We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect family holiday...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Matisse

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Parcoul, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
LxGd
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect family holiday...”
Reviewed August 3, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

The gite is the perfect place for a family holiday. This was our second year at La Maison Grange and we rarely revisit the same place twice!
There is lots of space for the children to enjoy outside. The views of the surrounding area are lovely and in the evening it's so quiet and the skies so clear. The pool is perfect for adults and children - and it's a great size meaning you can even get a few lengths in! If you want to explore there's so much to see and do in the surrounding areas and if you want to relax it's the perfect place just to sit by the pool or your gite and unwind.
Jane and John are the perfect hosts - nothing is too much trouble, and they've thought of everything to ensure the whole family can have a brilliant holiday!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 5, 2017
Thanks for a brilliant review guys and so glad you enjoyed your well deserved holiday @ LMG for the second year - praise indeed when families return.
See you again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul G
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect relaxation”
Reviewed July 20, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

La Maison Grange is the perfect place to relax. The Gites are spacious comfortable and well equipped. The facilities are excellent a great swimming pool to satisfy all needs from water dabblers to enthusiastic swimmers. A large lawn provides for play space and if these are not enough there is a games room as well. No need to take anything with you.
The location is quiet and rural, but with much to do nearby: canoeing, high wire, places of interest, wine tasting and bird watching.
Jane and John are perfect hosts ensuring your holiday runs smoothly, but at a discreet distance. They offer a very warm reception evening and also offer a lovely BBQ which is great fun. If required they will offer advice and assistance in planning visits or activities or will give space to your own thing.
The local supermarket - boulangerie etc. are 5 mins away (by car).
This is one of those places you want to keep secret for your own selfish needs.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 21, 2017
Thank you so much for your very positive review and for not "keeping us a secret"! We really appreciate your feedback. See you in the not to distant future
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy W
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Everything we could have hoped for!”
Reviewed September 10, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This was our first time at La Maisin Grange and I hope it will not be our last! The gite (Matisse) was extremely well equipped and you lacked for nothing.
The games room and pool kept our children entertained and everything was beautifully maintained... The flowers everywhere were so pretty!
The icing on the cake though has to be John and Jane (the owners) themselves - so welcoming and helpful without being the least bit intrusive... Thank you so much to you both!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 14, 2016
Thank you very much Lucy and Phil - we sincerely hope to see you and the girls again too!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina...
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely gite”
Reviewed September 29, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Super gite. Rural location with great views & lovely surroundings.
Very comfortable both inside & outside. Everything you could possibly need.
Fabulous pool.
Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The garden
Liked least: The weather !
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owensonto...
2 reviews
“We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this lovely villa.”
Reviewed September 12, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We were looked after so well by the owners Nothing was too much trouble but they were also unobtrusive. The property catered for everything and we honestly didn't think of anything we could have done with. There was freeview TV so my son could watch all his programmes from home. The pool was superb and was always kept so clean. We were offered a cooked tea on our arrival for a small fee and there was a substantial welcome pack which helped before we could get to a supermarket. I would very happily recommend this villa. This would be ideal for a large group who would also like their own space as there were three adjoining villas.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: swimming pool
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annette P
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful, highly recommended”
Reviewed August 9, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

La Maison Grange is a lovely place to stay, this was our 5th holiday with Jane & John and have booked to return. The gite is lovely, clean and spacious with all the bits and bobs you would need. The games room and swimming pool was well used especially by our daughter and the friends she has made on holiday. The gite also had wifi. Johns BBQ night not to be missed nor are the sauces on his puddings Nothing is too much trouble for Jane and John and this shows during the whole holiday.
The gite is in a lovely peaceful rural location, but only 10 minute drive from the nearest well stocked shop. Nearby we went canoeing and jet skiing, we also went to Pizou with John, Jane and our holiday neighbours, an evening thoroughly enjoyed by all. My husband caught a 36lb & 35lb carp in a lake approx 15 minutes drive away, which had been recommended to us by Jane and Johns friend.
I cannot recommend this gite highly enough, so sad to leave, but at least we have come away with some wonderful memories.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Coming home
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conor C
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A holiday worth repeating”
Reviewed July 23, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This was our first gite holiday and we really landed on our feet at La Maison Grange. On arrival we were made very welcome by Jane & John, who are great hosts. The gite was clean and tidy and a good size for our family of five. It has a well equipped kitchen and the bedrooms were comfortable with good clothes storage. The pool got plenty of use and the summerhouse has plenty of games to keep everyone occupied. The gite also has free wifi, satellite tv and dvd player. There are lots of towns and villages within easy driving distance and local supermarkets all of which are detailed in the information pack. We particularly enjoyed a day at the river beach in Aubeterre sur Dronne and the evening market at Le Pizou, as well as catching a Bastille Day party in Chalais. Jane and John hosted an excellent BBQ night too - all in all a very enjoyable week, must book a fortnight next time!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing