We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A holiday worth repeating”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Matisse

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Parcoul, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Conor C
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A holiday worth repeating”
Reviewed July 23, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This was our first gite holiday and we really landed on our feet at La Maison Grange. On arrival we were made very welcome by Jane & John, who are great hosts. The gite was clean and tidy and a good size for our family of five. It has a well equipped kitchen and the bedrooms were comfortable with good clothes storage. The pool got plenty of use and the summerhouse has plenty of games to keep everyone occupied. The gite also has free wifi, satellite tv and dvd player. There are lots of towns and villages within easy driving distance and local supermarkets all of which are detailed in the information pack. We particularly enjoyed a day at the river beach in Aubeterre sur Dronne and the evening market at Le Pizou, as well as catching a Bastille Day party in Chalais. Jane and John hosted an excellent BBQ night too - all in all a very enjoyable week, must book a fortnight next time!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
didcot
Reviewed August 18, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Annette P
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“3rd stay and we are going back for more!!”
Reviewed September 28, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

This was our 3rd consecutive holiday at La Maison Grange and with owners Jane and John Jones. The rooms are a great size and are lovely and clean. The tv, dvd, and satellite tv came in handy in the evenings after a busy day sight seeing, shopping, fishing or just relaxing. Having two teenage children the swimming pool was well used yet again. The Gite is great base and having the owners live 'on site' is a great bonus to assist you making the most of your holiday, there are numerous small / large towns and villages within easy driving distance and local supermarkets all of which are detailed in the information pack. We found lots to do in the area including canoeing, jet skiing, quad biking, restaurants, a man made beach and plenty of markets which our daughter enjoyed visiting. The games room is well stocked with plenty of games and a pool table. We visited Le Pizou (well worth a visit) with our holiday neighbours and Jane and John and had a lovely evening, love BBQ night and we are looking forward to them again next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely relaxing atmosphere, nothing too much trouble for the owners
Liked least: nothing, thats why we are going back again!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 12, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool is superb
Liked least: Nothing worthy of comment. Was what we expected from the info given.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Keighley, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 4, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole experience ( the kids say the Pool )
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
franmilfo...
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
1 review
“Bliss in the French countryside”
Reviewed August 12, 2011 for a stay in August 2011

This is our second time we have visited the Gite, and owners Jane and John Jones. We visited last year, and came back this year as we enjoyed it so much. Having two teenage children the marvelous swimming pool helped us give them a holiday to remember. A great 'plus' is that the owners live 'on site' and are ready to help with any issues you may have to help you have an enjoyable stay. The Gite was spotlessly clean and is very spacious. All the rooms are a perfect size and the bathroom is great with a modern mixer shower. The tv, dvd, and satellite tv come in handy in the evenings when trying to relax after a busy day out or beside the pool. Being centrally located in the Dordogne, the Gite was a great base and start of our exploration of the area. There are numerous small / large towns and villages within easy driving distance of Parcoul, all of which are detailed in the Gites 'welcome pack' which is kindly provided by the owners. Local amenities within a 20 minute drive include, canoeing, jet skiing, quad biking, restaurants and a man made beach, all of which Jane and John are happy to advise you on. The on site games room is great with a decent well kept pool table, table football game, ping pong table and numerous board games for all. Local supermarkets make the stay even easier to stock up before venturing out. Our own private outside eating area with bbq was a great to relax and finish the day. Bliss in the French countryside.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Friendly English welcome
Liked least: Some of the weather
Traveling group: Family with Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing