We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Morritt Country House Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Jersey Farm(Barnard Castle)
$93
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$204
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Rose & Crown(Romaldkirk)
$171
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$182
$163
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
A66 Motel(Richmond)
$87
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$156
$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$237
$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$62
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Middleton Lodge(Richmond)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (515)
Filter reviews
515 results
Traveler rating
225
131
85
49
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
225
131
85
49
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmorritt armscharles dickensdickens bargarage spaafternoon teaspa packagecream teaperfect wedding venuewedding breakfastbar area isfour poster bedlovely hotelscotch cornerbarnard castlecourse mealwedding receptionthe main hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
384 - 389 of 515 reviews
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We used the Burns Cottage at the end of August 2013 as a base for our closest friends and relatives over the weekend of our wedding, the reception for which took place in the Morritt next door.  The cottage is huge but is like a tardis and feels very homely.  There was ample space for all 18 adults who stayed to mingle or to split off into separate areas.  The kitchen was fully equipped with almost everything we could have needed and the pool table, sauna and swimming pool were great additions (though even at the end of August the pool was stone cold).  The rooms and kitchen were reasonably clean and well furnished, though could perhaps do with an update.  Around are the rolling hills which make for good walking and you do not hear the A66.  Food in the neighbouring Morritt Arms is excellent as is the Bridge Inn at Whorlton, a leisurely and scenic one hours' walk away.  Overall we would highly recommend this to any large groups looking for a place to get away.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LKC082013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Last weekend my husband and i spent a night at the Morritt and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The (Platinum) room was superb, nicely decorated in an old antique country style, and such a huge and comfortable bed! Our evening meal was delicious, beautifully presented and each ingredient described in detail by our waiter who obviously knows and understands what is served here. We were pleased to meet the Chef and tell him how much we had enjoyed the meal. We also visited the hotel's Spa - The Garage. Very impressive facilities. Well designed and thought out. The massage and facial were top notch and we were extremely relaxed after them. We then had a large copper bath on an outside balcony filled with hot water and bubbles. Bliss! What strikes me about this hotel is the attention to detail that is evident everywhere. The hotel's owners obviously really care about the hotel's presentation. I did notice another review here that was not too complimentary about the rooms but i can only comment on our experience which was excellent. Can't wait to return but it won't be to a Platinum room every time as they are pretty expensive, if well worth it!

Room Tip: Don't be worried if you have a room at the front of the hotel. The road at the front is a dead end and it is ultra quiet!
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Coming up to our 10th wedding anniversary, I had hoped that my husband had organised a special weekend away. It came as some suprise, however, to find out that a week before the event that he had completely failed in this task. This is were I took the helm! I looked through the AA guide, primarily because I wanted guaranteed good quality accommodation with excellent food. It was here that I stumbled upon The Morritt. Booking within the week meant that there was a choice between a silver room and a platinum room - I choose the platinum room. In our deal we got full access to the Spa (The Garage), including a back, neck and shoulder massage and dry flotation treatment plus full access to the other fabulous amenities, meal in the restaurant, bed and breakfast.
We arrived just before 2pm and had a very easy check-in (they had even remembered that I had asked for hypoallergenic bedding!). We were taken to our room which was room 15, Heather room. It was a beautiful beamed room with a large four poster bed, sofa and lovely furniture. The only thing that marginally let the room down was the bathroom which was a little dated. We promptly gathered our items together and headed for the spa.
The spa itself was beautiful. Lots of different rooms to investigate, many different hot tubs, an outdoor area and a lovely gypsy caravan sauna. We really enjoyed our treatments and I especially enjoyed sitting in the outdoor hot tub watching the Highland Cattle in the next field.
Later, we headed towards the in-house pub for a pre-meal drink. The pub itself was lovely, very characteristic with lots of charm. There were many non-hotel guests in the pub which led to a lovely atmosphere. After the drinks we headed to the restaurant. We had decided to pay for an upgrade on our meal and chose to dine off the main a la carte menu. What can I say??? The food was outstanding! We had an amazing night. Our chosen courses were superbly cooked. The food was innovative, seasonal, with lots of different choices and had beautiful presentation. The chef presented us with two extra courses which were stunning. It was a true dining experience. The meal was backed by a lovely wine menu which was extremely competitively priced. Our waiter for the evening was Dan who was charm personified. He had an in-depth knowledge of the menu, was present when required and absent when not. He truly added to our evening.
The breakfast was again to an amazingly high standard with many choices from full English, continental and a great choice of fish.
We were ever so sad to leave the hotel, we had such an amazing weekend. We have told many of our friends about our experience and hope to spread the word about this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SarahH979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

Used to visit this place 40 years ago and to say it's never changed does it an injustice
It has only got better with age
Service excellent
Food served prompt and with flare
Needless to say we'll be back

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keith r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

Attended a wedding here & stayed 2 nights in a family room, which was very disappointing considering the prices they charge. The room was clean & well presented, although a little dated. We booked for 2 adults, 1 child & an infant in a cot, however with the sofa bed up & a travel cot placed at the foot of it there was very little floor space left in the room, this made getting dressed for a wedding quite stressful, we did fold back the sofa bed but this only attracted the children & added to the stress! Also with the bed down the only way to get into the bathroom was to climb across it, which is hardly ideal, especially once our 4 year old was asleep in the bed. As the only seat in the room was a stool for the dressing table, once the children were asleep the only place for us to sit was on the bed. The bed was comfortable enough but only a double & as we are used to a king size at home it felt a little cramped, especially when we ended up sharing it with our 1 year old who kept waking up on the paper thin mattress in the travel cot the hotel supplied. Only one of the windows opened, the room smelt a little foisty, the water pressure in the shower was rubbish, i could go on but my point is, had this been a £80 per night b&b I would have been happy enough but when you pay more you expect more & hope for a bit if luxury which is certainly not the case at this hotel, not in the room we had anyway.
It is such a shame that the accommodation lets it down so badly as the rest if the hotel is so lovely, with beautiful grounds, in a fantastic location. The food is great, we ate in the bistro the first night & it was all really tasty, well cooked & nicely presented. Breakfast was the same, although the portions & presentation of the salmon & smoked fish were more impressive the first morning when there were fewer guests, but it was still really nice. All quality ingredients perfectly cooked.
As for the wedding we attended, I couldn't fault them at all, rooms were beautifully presented, staff very attentive & again the food was delicious. It's just a shame that the management choose to take advantage of wedding guests choosing the convenience of staying at the venue.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaspercat55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews