We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely house in a perfect location.”
other travelers have booked this property
Rear of the Property with Skiddaw in the distance
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rear of the Property with Skiddaw in the distance
View of Skiddaw from front driver The property has its own large lawned garden to the front.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Rear of the Property with Skiddaw in the distance
View of Skiddaw from front driver
The property has its own large lawned garden to the front.
Kitchen to Garden Room and Dinning
Garden or Conservatory
Riggside front
Kitchen with Breakfast Bar
Dinning
Open plan dinning Kitchen area
Untility
Hall
Under stair WC
Master Suite
Master TV & Remote Electric Fire
En-suite
Double
Double
Main Bathroom
Main Bathroom
Main Bathroom
Attic Twin locked off if book for six or less, unless requested.
Twin
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Portinscale, Keswick, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Alison G
Aberdeenshire
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely house in a perfect location.”
Reviewed July 22, 2018 for a stay in July 2018

Riggside is a lovely spacious house that I would have no hesitation in renting again. It is beautifully presented with an open plan kitchen, sun lounge and dining area which is great for families with easy access to patio and garden. The village pub is a short walk away and Keswick is a 20 minute walk away. Also within walking distance is the wonderful Lingholm Garden Estate with a wonderful café and walled garden.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 23, 2018
Thank you Alison for your review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Riggside, we hope to see you return soon. regards Richard &Lynn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amuz0
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic week”
Reviewed February 7, 2018 for a stay in July 2017

Stayed at the end of July 2017, lovely house & location.
Great base for walking & cycling, whinlatter forest only 5/10 mins away, Keswick is a short off road walk.
Bike ride up whinlatter pass then up honister pass is a great ride.
Lovely house with a great front garden for the kids.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 7, 2018
Thanks for the review, we so glad Riggside was the perfect location for you fantastic week in Keswick, as you said a great base for exploring the Lakes. Regards

Richard & Lynn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlg1509
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect location and superb accommodation for a family holiday”
Reviewed February 6, 2018 for a stay in June 2017

The location was perfect and ideal for exploring the Keswick area. A great house suitable for family of all ages....we were a family of 6 with age range from grandpa of 97 and baby of 12 months. Splendid views from the house and plenty of space to relax.
Hopefully we will return!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 7, 2018
Thank you for your kind review, we are so pleased that you all enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming your back to Riggside which has had a number of upgrades since your visit. best regards Richard & Lynn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carole M
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Stunning views, and great space to live”
Reviewed February 6, 2018 for a stay in July 2017

Riggside is large, very well appointed and full of character. It is beautifully situated overlooking the mountains and valley. It is easy to walk to Keswick and means you can leave your car at the house unless you want to go out of the valley. We're already booked again for this year. The rooms are very flexible and easy to have space for everyone. The kitchen and dining room are just the hub of the house and having the garden behind is delightful.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 6, 2018
Thank you for your 5 star review, Riggside is waiting for you again in July this year. We have revamped the lounge with new décor, carpets and furniture since your last visit, also the first floor double and single beds have all had new headboards and ALL beds have had new mattress toppers - "it's going to be tough getting out of bed in the morning when the hill are calling!" best regards Richard & Lynn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 7, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Feb 6, 2018
Thank you for your kind review, we look forward to hopefully seeing you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
caroliner...
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent house, stunning views”
Reviewed June 3, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Riggside was the perfect location for our family get together. The space downstairs is bigger than expected from the photos. The garden at the front is huge and great for the kids to play in. The location was quiet, and beautiful just far enough away from hectic bank holiday Keswick. We'd love to return for another holiday one day.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 14, 2017
So glad you have such a good time, we'd love to see you back at Riggside again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lovegoods...
kendal
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Better than home from home”
Reviewed March 11, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Riggside was our home for a reunion and we couldn't have picked better. Good location in a quiet are but not too far from Keswick (walking distance -20 minutes?). The house was spacious, very clean and had everything we needed. I could have moved in and will definitely consider returning. Thanks for providing a superb setting for a reunion of friends.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 17, 2017
We're so glad you enjoyed Riggside, maybe you could make an annual event!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing