We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lakeview, Portinscale”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lake View Guest House
Ranked #5 of 9 Portinscale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 24, 2014

had 3 nights here in Portinscale near Keswick. The owners Christine and Stuart were amazing, the attention to detail was fabulous. There was a couple staying who had several dietry problems, which were more than catered for. Local knowledge for walks and views was exceptional. Keswick was a 20 min walk away, which was handy for shops and night life. Lake Derwent was only 5 mins walk away and had lovely views upto the mountains. Will stay here again when we can.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tdaviesis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (109)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 109 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2014

We have just got back from 3 wonderful nights at Lake View Guest House, our first stay here but, hopefully not our last. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel very welcome, nothing seemed too much trouble for Stuart & Catherine our hosts. The room was very warm, spacious and comfortable, the guest lounge was warm and very cosy and the breakfasts each morning were absolutely fantastic. We look forward to our next visit. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: I'm sure all the rooms will be of equal quality however, we had the double room (3) and we would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Stayed here for one night - last minute decision to stay in the Lakes, and was found this place by tourist information in Keswick. Only a stone's throw from Keswick, but away from the noise and bustle of the town. Really comfortable room, great service and breakfast. Choice of two very different eating places in the village. Why stay in Keswick when you can stay here?

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heresmyview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Clean, friendly, excellent food and outstanding value for money! Location - Portinscale near Keswick - quiet and peaceful but handy for major roads in the area. Owners were discreet but very helpful and not intrusive. Menus were excellent, worthy of 5* hotel but a fraction of the price. There was clear pride in the service given. Packed lunches were great - a boon for travellers and walkers alike. Looking forward to my next stay!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brigid Dolores B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We have just had 2 nights at this lovely B&B and are already planning our next visit. On arrival we were greeted with fresh tea and coffee and home made cake and a very warm welcome. Rooms are much more spacious than standard and the bathroom had both a powerful shower and a bath....which we used for a long soak after a hard day on the fells!

Little touches make lake view a little special....like the home made biscuits in the rooms and the quality toiletries. The guest lounge is warm, comfortable and welcoming.

A absolute gem of a place!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoC22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We have just literally returned from a 4 night stay at Lake View. Whilst we have been regular visitors to the lakes over the years this was our first time actually staying in the northern lakes. We wanted to walk in Borrowdale and used this lovely guesthouse as our base. What a wonderful choice it was everything was just right, from the breakfast to the well appointed double room, we couldn't fault a thing! And we were blessed to have two wonderful days of sunshine which made the view of Derwent Water from our window all the more splendid. Many thanks for a great first time northern lakes experience!

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank brownhairedgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We just came back from our Easter Break in Lake View and we'll highly recommend it! We were a family of five, 2 couples and a little toddler at 2 years old, and we felt as if we were staying at our own house. Rooms are spacious and absolutely spotless with good size bathrooms. There's a big fire place in the living room which is great to sit around after a long day of walk in the cold weather. Stuart is always around for a nice chat and in case you need something.

What makes Lake View different though is finding little surprises like chocolate bunnies with Easter Sunday breakfast or home made meringues with after-dinner coffee/tea service! The food Catherine prepares is delicious and can easily compete with high-end restaurants - we would definitely recommend to have dinner at home at least one night! We would also recommend you not to miss the superb breakfast for which they won a prize unsurprisingly!

Stuart and Catherine are great hosts and we will definitely be back if we are in the region!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Burcu B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portinscale
0.0 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
750 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.0 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#7 of 17 in Keswick
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
LakeSide House
LakeSide House
#13 of 189 in Keswick
606 reviews
0.0 mi away
Powe House
Powe House
#6 of 9 in Portinscale
139 reviews
0.0 mi away
Maple Bank Country Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake View Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake View Guest House

Address: Portinscale, Keswick CA12 5RD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Portinscale
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Portinscale
Price Range: $102 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lake View Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fine Edwardian house situated in the heart of Portinscale enjoying an elevated south facing location overlooking lake and fells. Three comfortably furnished rooms offer ensuite facilities. Relax in the sitting room after wonderful home cooked food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Book Direct Rooms and Hotels.com so you can book your Lake View Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake View Guest House Keswick/Portinscale, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing