We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lake View Guest House
Nearby Hotels
$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Lyzzick Hall Hotel(Castlerigg)
$132
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (116)
Filter reviews
116 results
Traveler rating
109
6
0
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
109
6
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscatherine and stuarthomemade biscuitsraspberry piehome madeperfect hostsother guestsguest houseb bsitting roommassive bathroomtea and cakeon arrivallittle touchesquiet villageroaring firefront of the houseminute walk
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
88 - 93 of 116 reviews
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We have stayed at Lake View a good number of times over the last 5 years and always find our stay a very pleasurable experience - what more can we say except that we shall continue to go back!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank surveyorbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

If you wish to enjoy a very friendly welcome, then this is the place to be. If you wish to feel relaxed as soon as you set down, then this is the place. If you wish to enjoy an excellent breakfast beautifully cooked and served, then this is the place. If you wish to enjoy a dinner experience second to none, then this is the place. Will certainly go again. A fly in the ointment?----our lovely room, spick and span in all repects apart from a "proper" reading light for when lying in bed. That was our only little gripe for what was a very enjoyable stay enhanced by dinner on our last evening.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JessandHugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

This is by far the best Guest house we have ever stayed in. Stuart & Catherine have the perfect balance. We stayed in the superior room with lovely views of Derwentwater. Lakeview prides itself on the quality of its food localy sourced and can offer you both dinner bed and breakfast. This dining is an expierence not to be missed Catherine is an amazing cook and makes the most amazing homemade bread you have ever tasted. Coffee is served in the lounge with petit fours and in winter they have a big roaring fire so relaxing. Breakfast has the wow factor to with lovely fruit preserves made by Catherine herself.
Thankyou for such a lovely stay this guest house should be a GOLD STAR.
Kathryn & Chris

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kathryn123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Lakeview is splendid! Lovely welcome, great food and very nice room overlooking the lake. We hope to stay again sometime. Thank you so much Stuart and Catherine.
Pam and Mike

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartMuir, Owner at Lake View Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2012

Room 2 the twin room has a great view of Grisdale Pike and a glimpse of Catbells , we are pleased that you enjoyed your time there. Catherine has been busy making three fruits marmalade we hope you will come back and try it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2012

Serendipity - the luck of fortunate discovery.
We truly experienced serendipity when we chanced upon Lakeview. Catherine and Stuart really made us feel at home with their excellent hospitality. We took the front room with the lake view. It was spotlessly clean and the fittings are of a good quality. Lovely soft towels and super crisp linen on the bed.
The food is excellent. You won't get a better breakfast and the evening meal should not be passed up. Where else do you get offered such interesting options all freshly cooked to order?
I should also give a mention to the home made cookies that are left to have with your tea in the room - brilliant!
We had the winter special of three nights for two. Three breakfasts, two gourmet dinners. £260 all in. You can't get better!

Room Tip: The lake view is the best in my opinion
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thewilsonman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews