We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Split Personality!”

The Chalet Tearooms and Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Tearooms by day and a restaurant by night, serving high quality food and wine in a stunning location near the shores of derwent water..
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Split Personality!”
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Visited for a special family celebration meal one evening. Food interesting and different and the staff were very helpful.Lovely atmosphere in candlelight.
Discovered they did breakfasts and visited for a full English which kept us going on our 7 hour journey home. Appears to be a completely different restaurant in the daytime with an equally good but very different atmosphere.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    365
    111
    17
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lunch time disapointing”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

We live local and visit here often in the evenings and its really nice but went at lunch time yesterday but it was not very good had to wait 35mins for a jacket spud that had very little pork filling in my coffee must have been standing it was luke warm plus the people on the table next to us were having the same trouble
Maybe it was because it was busy

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Milk1Sugar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A lucky find”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

We came across this lovely cafe whilst on a walk. Midweek at the end of March, it was very quiet, but it still had a good atmosphere. Several nice welcoming touches, including baskets of neatly folded towels for drying wet dogs! Walking boots are welcomed. Really nice coffee and lovely sticky gingerbread were enjoyed, and we wished we could justify getting something from the lunch menu, as the food coming out of the kitchen looked and smelled good. I would think the Tearooms get very busy in summer, but there are plenty of benches outside (although they are by a quiet-ish road) I would definitely have returned another day for lunch, had time permitted.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank horseymum_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
305 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Great Cakes”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

What a delightful place for a pit stop after a walk up Catbells.
We did not expect to find such a treasure, the cakes and coffee were delicious (so delicious we had to go twice)
I would love to go back and try out the dinner menu sometime.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank denisewright8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
132 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Fantastic lunch”
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

We were a party of 4 and ordered bacon and sausage sandwiches which were fresh and delicious. We asked what the soup of the day was and were told leek and potato which we ordered but when it arrived it was Tomato. The lady came across to our table and apologised profusely there was no more leek and potato. Since mum didn't like tomato she changed her ordered to a ham sandwich. The sandwich came within minutes with further apologies and mum said it was fabulous. We got charged no extra for the sandwich so with great food and fantastic customer service I will definitely return on my next visit to Keswick and will try the evening menu sometime too.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Phaze1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Chalet Tearooms and Restaurant also viewed

 
Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 

Been to The Chalet Tearooms and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing