We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rickerby Grange
Nearby Hotels
$157
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$192
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Lyzzick Hall Hotel(Castlerigg)
$176
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lodore Falls Hotel(Borrowdale)
$268
$259
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$297
$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel(Grange-in-Borrowdale)
$206
$200
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (174)
Filter reviews
174 results
Traveler rating
89
61
16
5
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
89
61
16
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfarmers armsb blovely breakfast roomnice pubevening meals arewarm welcomelovely little placesingle bedlocal pubhotel is lovelyguest housefamily roomreturn in the futurefull englishcomfy bedexcellent showerample parking
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
134 - 139 of 174 reviews
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Nice hotel friendly proprietors and a great location. We stayed at Rickerby Grange for 3 night over the Easter period, nice room but disappointed with bath/shower room as we had trouble controlling the shower, also on the website it was advertised that the bar and restaurant would be open but when we asked about booking a table we were told that there was 'no call' for it anymore so they didn't serve evening meals. On the plus side the views from our room were spectacular and there was adequate parking, the breakfast was good and there is a pub just minutes from the hotel 'The Farmers Arms' serving delicious food, great beer and has quiz night on Sunday evenings. Overall we had a lovely break. Portinscale is a lovely little village not far from Keswick so convenient for walkers and not too far to go for pubs, restaurants and theatre.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had a wonderful stay, for one night, in the family room, grandma and daughter, with 2 children and black Labrador! We were made to feel very welcome; the B&B has a lovely relaxed atmosphere, warm and comfortable, with wonderful views of the surrounding mountains. Breakfast was excellent, and they went to a great deal of trouble to make sure that children had just what they wanted. Very considerate. The Farmers Arms in Portinscale is just down the road, good family meals and dog friendly. The countryside is very close, lambs in a field and red squirrels in the trees just down the lane. We enjoyed our stay so much that the following weekend I returned with my partner for one night and both times felt it was a real holiday to stay here.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 991Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Great location, in a small village just around 15 mins walk from Keswick town centre. We got a great deal online and managed to stay for two nights at pretty much the same price as the youth hostel and breakfast would have cost us. We walked to Castlerigg stone circle the first evening, and on the second day walked up Walla Cragg then round the Lake. There's a nice pub in Portinscale and we found some lovely places to eat and drink in Keswick. The couple who run the B&B were really lovely and accommodating to my vegan diet and my boyfriend's vegetarian diet; we rang in advance to let them know and they very kindly bought in soya milk and veg sausages for breakfast! Plus they recommended a great vegetarian/vegan cafe to check out in Keswick town centre. They also have a lovely dog :)

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 153R_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Stayed here just for the one night, will definitely return soon. A 1 mile scenic stroll into Keswick. The room was tastefully decorated and the owners were very friendly and approachable. The only gripe that customers seem to have are the showers, in our case we where on the top floor so the water pressure wasn't great. We really enjoyed the breakfast, and was offered extra toast if we wanted which we thought was very thoughtful.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvonne092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Nice location within walking distance of Keswick (but not at night). There is a pub in the village and some of the hotels offer food but we went into Keswick each night.

The owners were very nice and provide a great breakfast service. The accommodation just wasn't 4 star. The guest house does need updating and maybe some of the other rooms were better than ours. They had made a start on our room - new carpet and feature wall paper on one wall. The bathroom is in desperate need of updating and I know after experience of full renovation work that it takes time and to keep the business running everything can't be done at once.

The walls are very thin!!

Once the update has been finished I'm sure it will be very nice and up to 4 star standard.

Room Tip: Maybe try and get a completely updated room.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m12-c4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews