We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Glad we were only staying one night - a very tired and run down hotel which needs a major shake-up”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Derwentwater Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portinscale
cardiff, wales
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Glad we were only staying one night - a very tired and run down hotel which needs a major shake-up”
Reviewed October 31, 2009

At the time of booking on the web, as this was to be the first night of our honeymoon, I asked for a room overlooking the lake/garden and asked again by phone 2 weeks before our stay. On arrival, the receptionist was confused and off-hand and we found we had a very tiny room overlooking a flat roof and a brick wall! We quickly found that the radiator didn't work and, upon complaining, the porter brought a miniature electric radiator which was useless.
The one barman was slow and there was a queue for drinks and the dining room service was confused, although the food was adequate.
Generally, the hotel decor, carpets, lighting etc are very tired and leave a lot to be desired. It is a very over-rated establishment and cost far too much for what you get. We were glad that we were only staying one night.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bundles1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    257
    134
    78
    57
See reviews for
105
406
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
176 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2009

Having tried this hotel again, it remains a shadow of its former self. Those who write more glowing testimonies have obviously not tried decent hotels. This hotel has not attempted to regain its’ former stature. It was once very good, but to regain very good means that it would have to work so hard to do that. When it was family owned it was so good, but alas it has now disappeared below the horizon to miserable depths of mediocrity, suitable to those who don’t know any better in the worlds of hotels.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank degman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Portinscale hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
central scotland
2 reviews
Reviewed September 27, 2009

We spent four nights here and had a lovely time. Entrance into reception area is rather old fashioned and a bit dowdy as is some of the decor throughout the hotel, although parts of the hotel are being refurbished.
On booking in we were given a lovely room but it was over the kitchen and the noise of the fans were annoying. After complaining to management we were allocated another room which was excellent. The food in the hotel was very good and staff very efficient and polite. The garden at the rear of the hotel is lovely with a lovely walk down to the lake. We would definately go back to this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smiler053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 25, 2009

If l had read the reviews of the Derwent Hotel before my wife had told me she had booked the accomadation l probably would not have gone there. A lot of the reviews were very negative and dismissive of what is a very good three star hotel in superb settings with very good food with very hard working staff. The rooms were fine, clean comfortable and those with lake views fitted with fridges. This is not a boutigue hotel, the deco is in keeping with the age and style of the hotel. Of course it could be refurbished but the deco did not spoil my stay. There were signs when we were there that they had started to paint part of he outside. I enjoyed all the meals in particular the three course evening meal and taking coffee and mints in the lounge area afterwards. On two nights of the week they had a resident pianist playing in the lounge. There has been quite few negative comments about the conservatory area, very little mention of the lounge area adjacent to it, which is very comfortabel and modern. Being able to step out of the conservatory and walk down to the lakeside was an added treat. Having read all the negative reviews before we went, l was not looking forward to our stay. I was very pleasantly surprised and did not come across any loud music in the dining area or overcooked vegetables or the numerous other things that several people have mentioned. The hotel does have a games room with a pool table but l would suggest it is not set up for teenagers or young families but they do accept pets. I would certainly stay again and it was obvious while we were there that the hotel has a good number of residents who come back year after year and enguire about the staff.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HonestJim1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 5, 2009

We booked a short break having stayed here twice before. Based on that experience we didn't come expecting a trendy and edgy boutique hotel but a comfortable and relaxing ambience, well cooked food and convivial company. Sadly the recent change of management seems to have led to a decline in quality. The public rooms have not changed at all since we first stayed but they have become increasingly shabby. Our room was spacious and adequately equipped though, again, the decor was dated. The real disappointment was the dining room. The previously excellent dinners have become stodgy and boring with food that is clearly "fresh from the freezer". The "Seasonal vegetables" in July included (overcooked) red cabbage and carrots - well, they didn't say which season! Also, both dishes and wines which appeared on the menu were frequently unavailable and the staff were rushed and disorganised. The meal had to be eaten to the accompaniment of piped music - typical offering Jennifer Rush's "Power of Lurve" and other 80s power ballads - which was distracting - but not nearly as distracting as the staff rushing to lay up all the vacant tables around us and hustle us out into the conservatory/bar. We enjoyed some good company in the bar but it was usually practically empty by 9.30 and consequently had all the buzz of a dentist's waiting room.
On the plus side, the staff were genuinely friendly and helpful, the grounds are delightful and the breakfasts were good (as long as you don't come late when most of the buffet is empty!)
The hotel's offer is clearly aimed at older clients and, being in our 60s, we clearly fit their demographic. However, the new owners need to raise their game on the food front and spend some money on the building. Even then I don't think we'll be back - too dull.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MorrisOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire
1 review
Reviewed July 31, 2009

I visited here with my mum dad and brother and got back yesterday! i was actually sad to leave..
the staff were all very nice! especially the waiters.. and if you do visit. Chris Juan and David are very nice, and polite! it is always nice to have a friendly face in the morning and in the evening.
The bar is very very overpriced, and only offers basic things!
The food was lovely all week! the breakfast had a big selection and they were quick to serve at all times of the day! the evening meals were also very good, and the way that if you didn't want all of your wine on one night, they would keep it for the following night! very good! the head chef did a very good job!!

The decor should be either made more up to date, or taken back to how it was when the house was built, a lot more traditional, maybe with pine furniture. I think this would of made the stay a lot more comfortable.
The room that me and my brother shared was very good, i think it was a double that they made into a twin as it was bigger than my mum and dads room. the beds are fairly comfortable, and the sheets were always clean and neatly made everyday by the maid, who was also very polite and helpful!
One thing; if you are under the age of 60 and really like sitting in silence and imagining that it is an care home, dont sit in the conservatory for long.. it is painful!

The local pub is ok, however all the origional features have been taken out, and it is not very countrysidey! it would be nice if it had flagstones on the floor rather than carpet, and a fire! but again, the staff in there are very friendly, and the drinks are a lot cheaper and the place a lot more lively than the hotel. The staff also usually have a night out there once a week.. thats always interesting to see how they are in the morning, but they were all fine!

The walk to Keswick takes about 10-15 mins from the hotels front door. you just turn right out of the front door and follow the footpath over the bridge until you get to the footpath between the fields!
Keswick is ok.. however, everyone under 18 has to be out of the pubs by 9.. but if you have a dog, then it can stay until it closes.. because of course, children are dirtier and have more diseases than dogs!!!

The spa and pool is up the road is also very nice, however, the rule about no children under 16 is rubbish as when we went there was 5-10 year olds jumping in the spa and opening the door of the sauna. but their parents were all happy to let that happen! just make sure that you go at t a quiter time! then it is nice!

Tips:
if you have a video in your room.. it is chanel 9 to get it working.
keep the windows open at night.. or your room will be like an oven in the morning
make sure you have your waterproofs with you!!
make sure that in the mornings Juan serves you! (:
But overall!! make sure you go! and have fun!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sparklyemily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2009

In July 2009 I booked for 4 nights and stayed for 3.

This is the first time in my life I have ever left holiday accommodation.

Let me tell you why...... although you can jump to the photos to save time!

The views of Derwent water and the surrounding countryside are simply magnificent from this hotel. However, you could put up a tent, site a caravan or park a car in this area and still make the same statement, you don't need a hotel with a wooden consevatory.

Ahhh, the consevatory. Clearly built many years ago, this seating area now requires some essential maintenance. I sat here in the afternoon of my 1st day because shortly after arriving it began to rain. However, I did not expect the rain to penetrate the roof structure and drip on me, On examining the floor it was quite clear that it had sustained water damage.

The windows had paint peeling from them and were not maintained properly. The chairs were of the high-backed winged variety often found in care homes and were not particularly clean.

This is also reflected in the restaurant with what appears to be coffee stains on the walls and windows in desperate need of painting. Although the breakfast was rather good and the staff tried very hard to make breakfast work, they were young (I'm 49 so don't write me off) and were not operating under any direction. They were friendly but inexperienced. I must say that the daily dose of Dean Martin at breakfast was surprisingly pleasant. All in all not a bad effort but did have the look and feel of an amateur event.

The room I was given for £100 per night was poor to the extreme. I have been in a better B&B at a well known seaside resort (big tower, kiss me-quick-hats, you can probably work it out) for significantly less than this and it was of a higher quality.

There were Layers of dust across the headboard, a cracked wall in the bathroom which had not been repaired, an ill fitting badly painted plywood bath panel – clearly not the original, a rusting central heating radiator, a plywood wardrobe and décor which was painfully old and not well maintained. To be fair though, the early 1960's wall mounted non-functioning radio which looked to have been extracted from an original episode of Thunderbirds – not something representative of the 21st century - did make me smile. The inventors of the iPod were not even born when this last worked.

The rooms you see on the website do not paint an accurate picture.

My photos do and at the time of uploading these photos they were less than 24hrs old.

I have stayed in the Lake District 7 times in the last 4 years and this was a tremendous disappointment. I will not consider returning this century – which means, at the very earliest, I will be 140 years old – about right for this establishment, the level of maintenance and the general feel you get from the rooms.

If you do have to go the the Keswick area try Leathes Head Hotel, service is wonderful, food is of an exceptionally high standard and the prices are similar to the offerings of the Derwentwater Hotel.
I would also recommend Braithwaite Farm – super nice people running a super clean B&B with a breakfast big enough to feed a football team, this is substantially less than the Derwentwater Hotel.

Both of the above are maintained well beyond the substandard offerings of Derwentwater Hotel.



If you are looking for a real hotel, operated as a hotel should be – look elsewhere.

Do not be fooled by others who write glowing reports about this poor hotel. Perhaps their personal expectations started off low – and stayed there.

Don't go unless you are very old, have bad eyesight and low expectations.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chrisNchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portinscale
1.1 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.9 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#4 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
1.7 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castlerigg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#7 of 12 in Keswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
5.4 mi away
Dale Head Hall
Dale Head Hall
#12 of 12 in Keswick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.8 mi away
Highfield Hotel
Highfield Hotel
#6 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Derwentwater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Derwentwater Hotel

Property: The Derwentwater Hotel
Address: Portinscale, Keswick CA12 5RE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Portinscale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portinscale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Derwentwater Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take in the serenity of our grounds, and you’ll find pastures teeming with wildlife. Gaze across Derwentwater and you’ll find majestic fells, shrouded in time and mystery. Within the hotel, you’ll find an excellent standard of service, and all the facilities you’d expect from a Coast & Country venue. You’ll find an intimate, relaxed feel throughout, and a warm, friendly service at all times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, LateRooms and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Derwentwater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Derwentwater Hotel Keswick/Portinscale, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing