We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great place to stay when visiting the Lake District”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Derwentwater Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portinscale
Reviewed June 19, 2013

This hotel has a fantastic location for Keswick and the northern lakes. It's garden and views of the lake are great make sure you ask for a lake view its worth it even if you have to pay a supplement. The rooms are clean spacious and plenty of hot water. Breakfast is good quality and served over two hours which is flexible depending on what you are doing. It's quiet and does have an older clientele which was fine for us especially if you are there to holiday by walking the fells or surrounding areas as you can get to sleep without rowdy guests disturbing you. it is a little tired and maybe ready for a little decorating in parts but we love it and wouldn't stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view its amazing and well worth any supplement also higher floors are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DerwentwaterGM, General Manager at The Derwentwater Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, it is very pleasing to read that you had a great time.

Your comments regarding the "fantastic location for Keswick and the northern lakes" is very accurate. I believe our position is second to none!

We are in the process of updating some more areas of the hotel which hopefully you will notice on your next visit.

I will ensure the team see your comments and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

David McDonald
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (768)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

541 - 547 of 768 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2013

Last Sunday we had Sunday lunch here. It was fantastic best we ever had.
We had great homemade soup followed by caverery choidevroast beef, pork, fish or vegtable lasagne with yorkshire pudding, stuffing saugages vegetables and roast or and mashed potatoes gravey and glass of wine for £9.95.
Great surronds friendly efficient service.
Strongly recommend you need to go.

Room Tip: Walk into Keswick after to walk of lunch!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iain R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DerwentwaterGM, General Manager at The Derwentwater Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Dear Visitor,

Thank you for the time you have taken to review the hotel. I am pleased to see you enjoyed your Sunday Lunch.

It is important to us that people enjoy the hotel, find the team to be friendly but professional and experience excellent value for money.


I hope you will visit us again soon.

Kind Regards

David McDonald
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Set in the most beautiful surroundings, this hotel is not to be missed. Good choice of breakasts and evening meals. Very friendly and helpful staff. Dog Friendly. We loved the walks which went right to the edge of the lake.
Lots to see and do in the area including a local bus service which went all round the villages. There is also a sister hotel which has a free pool and spa centre.

Room Tip: Access is quite good to rooms. You can ask for a room near to the lift if you have walking difficult...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carole s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DerwentwaterGM, General Manager at The Derwentwater Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you fro the time you have taken in reviewing the hotel. Customer feedback is vital to us, and is always listen to.

I am delighted with your 5* review, and the comments within. I agree we have "the most beautiful surroundings"

I will ensure all the team get to see your comments and hope that you will be back soon.

Kind Regards
David McDonald
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We spent 2 nights DB&B, 129GBP per person.
On arrival broken shower, missing mirror light, dust-filled radiator. But all repaired second day.
Slow dinner service, but friendly. Jose and Andy (?) (Roumanian) very efficient.
Only one chair in bedroom. A second chair could replace unnecessary trouser press.
The young staff at reception were polite.
Room doors tend to bang noisily, could disturb neighbours.
Excellent location. Hotel gardens extend to lake side.

Room Tip: Room 254 had partial view of the lake but Room 255 had no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bettike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DerwentwaterGM, General Manager at The Derwentwater Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review The Derwentwater Hotel, following your 2 night stay.

I am suprised by your maintenance issues but am pleased they were adressed.

Our dinner service is deliberately relaxed and staggered, this is to create an experience which compliments our setting. I am pleased your waiters were efficient, and will ensure they see your comments.

I hope to see you again soon. In the meantime myself and the team will work hard, to improve the hotel so that next time you visit we will get a 5 star review!

Kind Regards

David McDonald
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a four-night stay in this wonderful part of the Lake District. This is a lovely Coast & Country hotel with beautiful grounds, superb views and the whole stay was so peaceful.
Our room was clean and tidy, the food was very tasty and the staff were friendly and very efficient. The conservatory was a lovely place to sit and relax - when the sun came out it was even better to sit in the grounds and listen to nothing but the birdlife.
We especially enjoyed the chance to use the facilities at Oxley's - a ten-minute drive away - and no more so than after our seven-mile walk taking in Cat Bells! Keswick is a delightful town and is a twenty-minute stroll along a well-defined metal track.
The hotel's location lends itself to an array of hill-walking, water-based activities, cultural and general sightseeing. Thank you to all staff for making our stay such an enjoyable one.

Room Tip: Choose a lake view room - the sun comes in first thing in the morning and the views are fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DerwentwaterGM, General Manager at The Derwentwater Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. Feedback is so important to us.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with Coast and Country Hotels. Your comments are very positive, and I will ensure all the team get to see them - they deserve this praise.

We are very lucky to be in such a beautiful location, and the weather you had was amazing!

We will continue to work hard, and hope that next time you stay we can go that extra mile to make your stay worthy of 5* review rating.

Thank you again

Kind Regards

David McDonald
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

This is the nicest shearings hotel I have stayed at.It is set in beautiful grounds with fabulous views. The food was fantastic and with the friendly and efficient staff it made my stay very enjoyable. We were a 15 strong walking group and we sat together and served very quickly at meal times. Reception were very helpful and answered our questions expertly. It was so good we will be returning next year.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mavisboyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DerwentwaterGM, General Manager at The Derwentwater Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the time taken to review The Derwentwater Hotel, our guests views are important.

I am delighted that you enojoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again. There are plenty more walks for you and your party! I will ensure all the team get to read your comments.

Kind Regards

David McDonald
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We have just come back from Keswick for our half term break. We have stay at The Derwentwater hotel's apartment. The location is perfect for exploring the Derwentwater . You can walk down to the lake side through the hotel garden . And only half mile to Keswick centre.The apartment is very spacious and clean.( yes it does needed update, but you get what you paid for.) staff are very friendly and helpful. We (party of six) have enjoyed our stay and have a great time. Love the place and love the Lake District .already booked our Autumn break .

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 687Syau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DerwentwaterGM, General Manager at The Derwentwater Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your break.

Cath did mention that you had booked again, and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Kind Regards

David McDonald
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portinscale
1.1 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
3 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,179 reviews
16.5 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#12 of 17 in Keswick
787 reviews
0.9 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#7 of 17 in Keswick
677 reviews
18.4 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Derwentwater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Derwentwater Hotel

Address: Portinscale, Keswick CA12 5RE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Portinscale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portinscale
Price Range: $64 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Derwentwater Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take in the serenity of our grounds, and you’ll find pastures teeming with wildlife. Gaze across Derwentwater and you’ll find majestic fells, shrouded in time and mystery. Within the hotel, you’ll find an excellent standard of service, and all the facilities you’d expect from a Coast & Country venue. You’ll find an intimate, relaxed feel throughout, and a warm, friendly service at all times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your The Derwentwater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Derwentwater Hotel Keswick/Portinscale, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing