We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“walking holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Derwentwater Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portinscale
Blackburn, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“walking holiday”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

This is the nicest shearings hotel I have stayed at.It is set in beautiful grounds with fabulous views. The food was fantastic and with the friendly and efficient staff it made my stay very enjoyable. We were a 15 strong walking group and we sat together and served very quickly at meal times. Reception were very helpful and answered our questions expertly. It was so good we will be returning next year.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mavisboyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DerwentwaterGM, General Manager at The Derwentwater Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the time taken to review The Derwentwater Hotel, our guests views are important.

I am delighted that you enojoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again. There are plenty more walks for you and your party! I will ensure all the team get to read your comments.

Kind Regards

David McDonald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    265
    144
    90
    66
See reviews for
112
435
20
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We have just come back from Keswick for our half term break. We have stay at The Derwentwater hotel's apartment. The location is perfect for exploring the Derwentwater . You can walk down to the lake side through the hotel garden . And only half mile to Keswick centre.The apartment is very spacious and clean.( yes it does needed update, but you get what you paid for.) staff are very friendly and helpful. We (party of six) have enjoyed our stay and have a great time. Love the place and love the Lake District .already booked our Autumn break .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 687Syau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DerwentwaterGM, General Manager at The Derwentwater Hotel, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your break.

Cath did mention that you had booked again, and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Kind Regards

David McDonald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester England
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Our second visit to the Derwentwater Hotel. The location is perfect for exploring the Lake and surrounding fells. The extensive grounds are well maintained with wildlife spots towards the waters edge. The local ferry is within minutes walking distance and is an idyllic way of reaching points of interest including the main town of Keswick.
Reception staff were excellent and all very accommodating. We had a small young dog with us this trip and we were helped in countless ways to make our stay easier - especially settling her in - and then with our meal arrangements. Faultless service.
Similarly Bar and restaurant Staff - nothing was too much trouble - and we appreciated every assistance.The food is of a good standard and a balanced choice.
The Hotel is kept clean to a high standard considering the volume of patrons and is excellent value.

Room Tip: Delux Scenic View overlook the Lake and pretty gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank willentine1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DerwentwaterGM, General Manager at The Derwentwater Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your feedback, it is valuable to us.

I am over the moon to read you have enjoyed your stay and found the team to be helpful, as well as all other aspects of your stay good.

I hope we will see you again soon, there is lots to see in the area!

Kind Regards

David McDonald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

It is said that if we did not have rain then there would not be the Lakes themselves and all the stunning scenery. Although we have to confess that it was not possible to see much of the wonderful views when we visited Keswick in early May. The rain certainly hampered our outdoor enjoyment as we were unable to travel anywhere without waterproof clothing.

Having been to the Lakes on many occasions and as we were in need of a long weekend break, a planned early summer pick me up, we ventured further north and booked into the Derwentwater Hotel. It is a Coast & Country Hotel, relatively easy to research and to spoil ourselves we upgraded to one of their Deluxe Lake View bedrooms. The room was really spacious, an excellent bathroom with everything one would ever need and a king size very comfortable bed.

With a stunning view of Derwentwater from the three windows although a sombre at times dark backcloth and almost eerie movement of low clouds, nevertheless it was a really wonderful view. The weather did sadly inhibit movement even to the stage of travelling around the lake in the covered section of the launch, which with better weather we could have used far more as a dropping off points for getting around.

But the Hotel itself more than made up for the inclement weather, from the moment of arrival, the really superb room, space and facilities the staff exceeding helpful, it just could not have been better. The meals first class with such a varied excellent menu and service out of this world, nothing was too much trouble we were never disappointed by the desire of their staff to satisfy all our needs. So changing from our wet clothes was soon forgotten once we got back into the comfort and warm of the Hotel

To say we enjoyed our stay would be an understatement - did it rain ?? We must commend the Derwentwater Hotel and highly recommend anyone to stay and our thanks go to all the staff for a very memorable stay.

Room Tip: A room with a view is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alancmorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DerwentwaterGM, General Manager at The Derwentwater Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a thorough and interesting review. I am delighted to read that you had a great time, in spite of the weather!

It istrue that recently the weather has been wetter than we would like, but hopefully the summer is on its way.....

I will pass your comments on to all the team and hope to have the chance to welcome you again soon.

Kind Regards

David McDonald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

The hotel is in the quiet village of Portinscale just off the A66; it is set in beautiful grounds with views over to Borrowdale and Skiddaw on a good day. There is a footpath at the back of the hotel leading to Derwentwater, and there is a large conservatory at the back too. The car park is adequate and you don't pay for parking, unlike a lot of the Shearing Coast and Country hotels these days. The town of Keswick is a 20 minute walk from the hotel on footpaths away from the roads; there is also a bus stop in the village, although the bus service seems to be very infrequent.
The reception staff are really efficient and friendly; the waiting on staff are mostly Eastern European as is the norm these days, and sometimes they can be difficult to understand because they talk so quickly. The restaurant food is quite basic although the portions are a good size. There is an a la carte menu which the waiting on staff are keen to push, however you do have to pay extra for it, and I do feel the basic menu could be improved on. The room we had was spotless, with an en suite room comprising of a toilet, bath and shower; the hotel is dog friendly so we were able to take our dog for an extra £6.50 per night, it's cheaper than boarding kennels!
There is a health spa you can go to for free from the hotel; it's a 10 minute drive in the car and all you have to do is ask reception for a pass, you have to give a £10 returnable deposit for two passes ( it's a perfect venue for a rainy day). The facilities are really good, with swimming pool, steam room and sauna. All in all we had an enjoyable stay (apart from the weather) and I can recommend this hotel as a good place to stop for a long weekend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Topdog57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
186PeterS186, General Manager at The Derwentwater Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, which gives us plenty of detail. All reviews are looked at by the whole team, and used to help us improve the hotel.

I agree completely with your review, and rest assured whilst you had no issue with the food, we are in the process of developing new menus with the aim of improving the standards delivered to our guests.

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon, to explore more of Cumbria.


Kind Regards
David McDonald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We have just spent 3 days here and like the last time the food was basic and a lot of it cold e.g. fish and chips on Friday night, porridge every morning. You can make a profit on food straight away so I don't understand why the menu is like school dinners. I can only think the chef can't cook and has no imagination. I suggest you buy a a large urn use it for the soup at night and the porridge in the morning and both will piping hot on request. Also, stop putting cold food on hot plates you are fooling no one. Past reviews say the hotel is downtrodden, this is true but as you are only there for a couple of nights you can make do. The beds and rooms are clean and the scenery is to die for. The staff are pleasant and the price is very good. It is not the Ritz but then again you would pay more if it was. We might give it another chance and return later in the year but if the food has not improved we will go back to staying in KESWICK.

Room Tip: Lake view rooms are worth the supplement but l think all the rooms are a bit tired.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suebKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
186PeterS186, General Manager at The Derwentwater Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, which is very detailed.

I shall investigate your comments, and make the necessary improvements required. However your comments about cold soup / porridge are strange as we do indeed use an urn! But I will check this.

We are currently working on our new menus with them being intorduced in late May, lots of time has gone into these menus and we hope they will improve the food offering at the hotel.

I will pass your comments about the clean rooms onto our housekeeping team, who deserve to be recognised for their hard work.

I hope we will see you again soon.

Kind Regards
David McDonald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

What price customer service? Well very expensive in our case. Reception staff ok but unable to help as hotel was full when requested a room change as the bathroom facilities were suited to a child rather than adult. On asking our room number - receptionist knew what we meant so surely something should have been done long ago. Shower was a struggle for someone 5'3 but any taller and you had no chance. More water leaked down hose than shower head. Bath panel dirty with peeling paint, rusty radiator and very poor quality. We had booked double room - imagine our surprise to find two rock hard single beds pushed together - very uncomfortable and poor nights sleep as result. Unable to see out of windows as glass panes had blown and full of condensation. The whole hotel was shabby, damp with peeling wallpaper and water stains. The conservatory leaked and constantly splashed onto settee where seated. Bar manager had no manners, and even less understanding of customer service - he is an absolute disgrace and certainly not an asset to the hotel. Unable to find a clean table at breakfast as the staff appeared to have no concept of what clearing tables was about. There was a constant stream of visitors for breakfast who seemed bewildered about where they could be seated. I would expect so much more but sadly received so little - until the bill - £125 for one night room only. Scandalous due to the poor room and facilities. A budget hotel would have provided better standards than those at this one.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JCC61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
186PeterS186, General Manager at The Derwentwater Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. I am very surprised at your comments and will investigate thoroughly what you have said, ultimately our aim is to provide value for money and I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay.

One thing which does surprise me is that your review in comparison to others is very negative, differing significantly, and some of the things you have mentioned sound like you are talking about another hotel entirely. Having said that I thank you for spending time writing about your stay, and giving us the chance to put right what we can.

I am sure if you visit again your will have a very different opinion of the hotel,, and notice improvements.

Once again thank you for your time in reviewing the hotel and I hope you will give us another chance.

Kind Regards
David McDonald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Portinscale hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portinscale
1.1 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.9 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#4 of 12 in Keswick
626 reviews
16.5 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
6.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
0.9 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#9 of 12 in Keswick
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Derwentwater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Derwentwater Hotel

Property: The Derwentwater Hotel
Address: Portinscale, Keswick CA12 5RE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Portinscale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portinscale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Derwentwater Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take in the serenity of our grounds, and you’ll find pastures teeming with wildlife. Gaze across Derwentwater and you’ll find majestic fells, shrouded in time and mystery. Within the hotel, you’ll find an excellent standard of service, and all the facilities you’d expect from a Coast & Country venue. You’ll find an intimate, relaxed feel throughout, and a warm, friendly service at all times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your The Derwentwater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Derwentwater Hotel Keswick/Portinscale, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing