We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Derwentwater Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portinscale
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Although this hotel could do with updating and a bit of TLC it is in a wonderful location near the lakeside. There is a lovely pub in the village called the Farmers Arms which has live music on a Saturday. Lovely walks around the lake and Keswick is in walking distance.

Room Tip: Lake facing rooms a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
186PeterS186, General Manager at The Derwentwater Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments on the hotel following your recent stay. I will ensure the team get to read your comments.

I hope that our breathtaking location near the lake can draw you back soon!

Kind Regards

David McDonald
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (768)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

558 - 564 of 768 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2013

The hotel is situated in a lovely quiet village just 20 mins walk outside Keswick.The grounds are great for a walk and have beautiful views. The public area in the hotel has been nicely decorated and is very comfortable to sit in. The meals were nice and a good choice if you are b&b or half board,we ordered lunch one day and it was very nice.The staff made the hotel experience very pleasant as the were so helpful and happy and the dining staff were very efficient,nothing was a problem.The only let down was our room,it was clean but tired,in need of repair and decorating although I noticed the upgrade rooms were very nice and newly decorated with good views. I would stay ay this hotel as it was value for money.If you want to use the spa you have to book a slot soon as possible at reception,it was worth it and its free.

Room Tip: 108,we saw in it when it was getting cleaned,think you would have to upgrade but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debbie2373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
186PeterS186, General Manager at The Derwentwater Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, such reviews are a great tool to help us measure the opinions of our guests.

I agree with your comments, and will ensure the team get to see them, including the kitchen and restaurant staff who you have mentioned.

I hope that we can tempt you back soon.

Kind Regards

David McDonald
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Disappointing room despite paying more than friends whose room was twice the size of ours. Some problems in the dining room due to inadequately trained New staff.despite the criticisms the public areas and grounds are impressive, and the food quite good.

Room Tip: Upgrade if possible
See more room tips
Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Leslie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
186PeterS186, General Manager at The Derwentwater Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to make comment following a stay with us.

I have noted your comments and will ensure the team get to read them, it is true that recently we have had some new staff in the dining room who have now settled and completed their training, we are working hard to improve all areas of the hotel and I will look at this further myself. Thank you for drawing this to my attention.

It is pleasing to read your comments about the public areas, and I will ensure Dan our Head Chef gets to see your comment that his team made good food.

Once again thank you for your review.

Kind Regards

David McDonald
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Stayed here over the easter break for three nights with other family members 6 adults in all.
The staff were very helpful and friendly.The rooms were clean but quite dated,the shower in our room did not work despite it being "fixed".The conservatory has lovely views overlooking the gardens but the furniture is so uncomfortable and rather cheap looking.The decor overall could do with an update to a more tradtional lakeland inn theme.We had acess to lovely Spa facilities a short drive away which was a real bonus.
The food however leaves much to be desired,most of what we had was bland and tasteless,the vegetables were unedible arriving cold ,and most were frozen.Roast beef was served with frozen yorkshires,frozen corgettes,green beans and sweetcorn,a strange tasteless combination.
There was little evidence of any fresh ingredients used in any of the meals.It is owned by Sheerings holidays and I suppose this mass marketing of catering uses the cheapest of ingredients.My opinion is that this hotel has potential due to its setting to be really good but is let down by lack of attention to detail.It lacks any sense of individual identity which is a pity.But I guess you get what you pay for ,and overall we had a good time.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ribblevalleyt0urers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
186PeterS186, General Manager at The Derwentwater Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments.

I am delighted to see the staff praised for being "helpful and friendly"

I am however suprised and disappointed with your comments about the food, these comments are very contrasting in comparison to those in other reviews as well as on guest comment cards. Regardless I will look into this area and thank you for mentioning this.

Our spa facility arrangement is very good, and something which I try to use when I get the opportunity! - It is good that the facility is being utilised and well recieved by guests.

I hope that we may see you again soon.

Kind Regards

David McDonald
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We have stayed here twice now (that's recommendation in itself !)

We thought about a room upgrade, but then decided the standard rooms are OK, they have
All you need.

The food is excellent, and they have improved the breakfast servings since our first stay, it's better
Now, well done !

Lovely huge gardens with ducks pond and even private lakeside area.
Keswick is great, and about 15-25 mins walk, depending on pace, and is a nice little walk, to take
After eating, when in Keswick we like to sample the shopping and the pubs, its a really friendly place and we will be returning again and again !

We have been to Keswick about six times now - and the sun has shone every time ! We can't believe it either, but it has. Can't guarantee It of course, but, you never know.

There is a spa with a pool but as yet we have never had to use it, but it looks good...

Room Tip: Can upgrade if you want a nicer room, refurbishing the whole hotel slowly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
186PeterS186, General Manager at The Derwentwater Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, it is always good to recieve feedback, especially from returning guests.

Our standard rooms are of a fair standard and as you have said "they have all you need"

To read that you found our food excellent is wonderful and I will ensure the kitchen team get to see your comments. We are always striving to improve and it is good to read that we have made improvements which have been noticed by our guests.

I hope that you will visit again soon - however can you give me some warning as if you can arrange the sun (again!) I will make the most of it.

Kind Regards

David McDonald
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We usually stay in a wonderful bed and breakfast in Keswick but chose this hotel as it meant that we could stay for one night only. We booked through late rooms and got a very good deal. I certainly wouldn't have liked to pay any more. We stayed in a standard room which was fairly roomy. The decor was unbelievably twee and needs urgent redecoration. I personally found the bed hard (my husband said he slept like a log). The bathroom wasn't as clean as I would expect with quite a bit of dust round the bath. The shower was the biggest problem. Water pressure was poor and the temperature varied at will between boiling and freezing. This meant that I was unable to have a decent shower after a 12 mile hike. This is a basic of a hotel and should be something that is possible for the hotel to sort out. Public areas appear to have been recently redecorated and are very nice. The bar is lovely with great views and reasonable prices. Breakfast was average but at only £6.95 I can't really complain. I would however have preferred to have paid more for better quality ingredients. The grounds are wonderful and we did enjoy a post breakfast wander to the lake. Personally, the issue of the shower and uncomfortable beds would stop me staying here again. I think that with the quality of bed and breakfasts in the Keswick area, this hotel needs serious investment if it is to compete.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HECSunderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
186PeterS186, General Manager at The Derwentwater Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

I am disappointed to read your comments, but will take time to address where possible the issues raised.

Our lounge is very beautiful and was indeed refurbished not long ago, there are futher plans to invest into some bedrooms in the next 12 months.

I once again thank you for your review.

Kind Regards

David McDonald
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My wife & I stayed at this hotel during Easter week,we really enjoyed our stay ,the food was great,the staff were really polite & helpful,there was a nice path down to the lakeside.So all in all we thought it an ideal place to stay & go sight-seeing from.this is from Mr L Barker

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor very near the lift,if you want you can ask for a room with a view of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leonard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
186PeterS186, General Manager at The Derwentwater Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, such review are vital to helping us improve the hotel.

I am delighted with your comments, and will ensure the team get to read them.

I hope that with so much in the area to see you will join us again soon.

Kind Regards

David McDonald
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portinscale
1.1 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
3 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,179 reviews
16.5 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#12 of 17 in Keswick
787 reviews
0.9 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#7 of 17 in Keswick
678 reviews
18.4 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Derwentwater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Derwentwater Hotel

Address: Portinscale, Keswick CA12 5RE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Portinscale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portinscale
Price Range: $64 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Derwentwater Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take in the serenity of our grounds, and you’ll find pastures teeming with wildlife. Gaze across Derwentwater and you’ll find majestic fells, shrouded in time and mystery. Within the hotel, you’ll find an excellent standard of service, and all the facilities you’d expect from a Coast & Country venue. You’ll find an intimate, relaxed feel throughout, and a warm, friendly service at all times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your The Derwentwater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Derwentwater Hotel Keswick/Portinscale, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing