We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent accommodation in a beautiful location...”
other travelers have booked this property
Elegant B&B - with lovely dining room, lounge with an open fire, and views from all the rooms.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Elegant B&B - with lovely dining room, lounge with an open fire, and views from all the rooms.
This is a great place to cook (in the conventional oven or aga!)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Elegant B&B - with lovely dining room, lounge with an open fire, and views from all the rooms.
This is a great place to cook (in the conventional oven or aga!)
Calm, beautiful, inspiring
You won't tire of the these views
Winter in the lakes is gorgeous
Stylish curtains
Enjoy a leisurely dinner with your friends and family
Pretty flowers
Our home
Bedroom views
5 minutes away
An elegant dining room (seats 12)
We love colour
Enjoy a welcome basket with a delicious homemade cake
Bar or baa?
Hello Mr Fox
Welcome
There are beautiful birds in the garden
You have to have an aga for good home-cooked meals
Beautiful art wherever you go
Have a cosy fire after a day on the fells
These complimentary toiletries are delicious
Look out for our sign!
Take a dip, 5 minutes away
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
6 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Portinscale, Keswick, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Flyer3833...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodation in a beautiful location with generous hosts.”
Reviewed July 29, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The Mount is a lovely home with great facilities and a very well stocked kitchen. Caroline and Clive were very kind and helpful and the welcome pack was outstanding. The home made bread and lemon cake were delicious.
The beds were very comfortable and the showers were great. Large living room with open fire and a large dinning room so you never feel over crowded but with space to welcome guests for a meal.

Date of stay: July 2017
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 3, 2017
Many thanks for such a nice review. We feel so lucky to have such nice guests, and are particularly grateful that you left our home looking lovely and clean. We are pleased you enjoyed the house and your stay so much and hope to see you all again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
socket52
BOLTON
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Perfect.”
Reviewed July 20, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

After staying in many BBs all over the UK I can honestly say without question this is up there with the best.So many nice touches from the tea and homemade cake on arrival to the exquisite house itself. The owners Caroline and Clive are lovely people and nothing is too much trouble.Our room on the front (2) had stunning views of the lake and the majestic mountains.A lovely suprise of homemade biscuits awaited us in our room. The bed was so comphy and the breakfast from the fruit, yog. and the great choice of cooked was fantastic. I feel I could go on but you really have to try. You wont be dissapointed.Thank you for a beautiful break. Xx

Date of stay: July 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 28, 2017
We feel so lucky to be able to attract such lovely guests! Many thanks for such a great review. It is so rewarding getting feedback like this. And it was lovely having you to stay, and we hope to see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eljayem
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Just perfect”
Reviewed February 5, 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed at The Mount for one night. The house is absolutely beautiful; our room (room 3) was everything I could have asked for - clean, charming, spacious and very comfortable. Caroline and Clive have created a very special guest house and they were the perfect hosts. On arrival we were greeted with tea and delicious homemade cake which was much appreciated. I loved the huge breakfast table which seats all the guests together - it gives a very friendly, family feel and encourages conversation whilst you are enjoying Caroline's fantastic breakfast.
The house overlooks Derwentwater and is just a short walk from Keswick; ideal for us as we were visiting The Theatre By The Lake in the evening. Clive offered us a torch for our walk back in the dark.
I would not hesitate to stay at The Mount again - it feels like a home from home and I hope to return later in the year.

Date of stay: February 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 6, 2017
Many thanks Lisa. That is such a wonderful review. It means so much to us that you enjoyed it so much and liked all the extra touches! It will be lovely to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jake H
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lakeland magic”
Reviewed November 15, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

3 generations of our family stayed at the Mount for 5 days in mid August, to celebrate a birthday and spend time in the great outdoors. We were very, very fortunate with the weather. We were even more fortunate with the Mount. It is absolutely fantastic. Caroline and Clive are the perfect hosts. They've created a beautiful place to stay - spacious, light, and a wonderful blend of the traditional (some great bits of early 20th century furniture) and the very modern (the bathrooms are superb). Their attention to detail is astonishing - every guidebook and map you could dream of, lovely art spread all round, Lakeland soaps, glorious welcome basket full of local and homemade goodies.

Date of stay: August 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: Leaving
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 16, 2016
What a wonderful review! Thanks so much. We are so delighted you and your family loved it as much as we do. And we work very hard to get the weather right too!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colrick_S...
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely welcoming stay”
Reviewed August 3, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We have just returned from an 8 night stay, we were a party of 10 ranging from ages 10 to 74. The accommodation was first class, very welcoming, homely, spacious (we all loved the dining room which could easily accommodate all 10 of us when we had meals). It was filled with lots of information, and activities/games perfect for family time, with many personal touches. Lovely treat basket on arrival and big bunch of flowers. Portinscale is a peaceful village, within a short walk to Keswick, and 2 marinas at Derwent Water a few minutes walk away. It is a perfect location for cycling and walking, and ideal for discovering the Lakes. We thoroughly enjoyed our time here and didn't want to leave! We would definitely return in the future. Clive and Caroline are lovely owners and nothing was too much trouble, Caroline even accepted our grocery delivery before we arrived and put it all away!

Date of stay: July 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It felt very homely and spacious, perfect for spending valuable family time together. Lovely large dining room, very accommodating.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 4, 2016
It was lovely having you all to stay and we are so pleased you liked everything so much. We were inspired with all your cycling and have been out on our bikes quite a few times since you left! Many thanks for your lovely comments and we hope to see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfriCarib...
United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Home away from home!”
Reviewed July 26, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We stayed at the Mount for 5 days and it was a lovely break for the whole family. A short walk away from Keswick town, the location is ideal as it is not on a busy road, and has such beautiful views of the mountains and lake from the bedrooms.
The house had everything we needed for our family including cuddly toys for our little daughter, and such lovely books and there was a wonderful welcome basket left for us.

Thank you Clive and Caroline, we will surely come back!

Date of stay: July 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Homeliness
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 27, 2016
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay so much, the house and the location. We really enjoyed having you here and hope you do come back. Kindest regards Caroline and Clive
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiamaka...
1 review
“A perfect retreat”
Reviewed July 24, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Our four days stay was peaceful and idyllic from the usual hurstle and burstle. Each room was made very cosy with novels or geographical maps to assist you with planning your treks and sightseeing,down to hot water bottles; if you needed them.
The kids enjoyed playing with different toys and puzzles in the house.
At the end of the stay,
we did not want to leave! We hope to visit again.

Date of stay: July 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 25, 2016
It was a pleasure to have your family to stay. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay so much and that the kids enjoyed the toys and puzzles, and you enjoyed the books and maps. We very much to see you again. Kindest regards Caroline and Clive
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing