We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to have a break”
Review of The Hampshire Hog

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Hampshire Hog
Ranked #1 of 2 Clanfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 23, 2014

My wife and I always try to get away for a weekend break at this time of year and have stayed in lots of hotels over the years.This is the first time we have ever returned to the same hotel from the previous year. It ticks all the boxes for us and we had very good weekend break.
The staff were all friendly and helpful, rooms are great and food was very nice ...again.
Its nice to be able chill out then just pop into the pub for a drink and food. Add some shopping and a walk on the sea front then along with this great place to stay you`ve got yourself a great break.

Would also like to add, how hard working all the staff at this hotel. They make this place work and make sure you have a good time.

See you again ,thanks for the great weekend.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KellysinKos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (685)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

500 - 506 of 686 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2014

Having just got home from Hampshire, after spending 3 nights at ''the Hog'' my wife and I both wished our stay could have been longer. Being regular travellers, we have stayed at a multitude of hotels, motels and guest houses, and we both agree the standards set by this hostelry, from the warm welcome, of the friendly staff from check- in to check- out, made our stay the best we could have wished for. Our room was spacious, clean and vey comfortable, with an on suite to die for, well done to the designer, it certainly shows some places can go the extra mile for the guests. As this was a trip to visit family in the area, we never got to sample the culinary delights of dinner, and so can only comment on our breakfast, which was another extra mile moment, with well cooked food, and a more than ample amount, once again served by friendly and nothing too much trouble staff. We did however use the bar for a night cap after visiting, so it was obvious that everyone was enjoying the food. We would certainly recommend '' the Hog'' to everyone, and we would certainly stay there again. Well done to all the staff, thank you for a great stay

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrissie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Having lived in this area for 29 years the Pub/Hotel was well known to me but sometimes not for the right reason. UNTIL General Manager Nicki arrived with her family. The welcome is always warm as the rooms. It is never cold,never noisy, never keep you waiting if you lock yourself out despite the HUGE notice in reception warning that the keys do not mix well with mobiles in pocket or bag. Soundproofing excellent. Outside lights do not cause issues once the curtains are drawn. No need for a fridge in the room taking up space when FRESH yes FRESH milk available in reception 24/7 in flasks to keep fresh. WIFI excellent but on the odd occasion the issue was down to BT not the hotel.Menu extensive and trust me i know after all that time both old & new. Rooms & general maintenance fantastic, never shabby or tired thanks to a very hard working multitasking Shaun. Every hotel should have one! Issues resolved with speed and ease. Whatever you need whenever you need it you are never made to fell 'in the way'. As with any property things go wrong and we are at the mercy of tradesmen but they always get it right. Come on? things go wrong in life. All the tradesmen either staying or working there were great! They are like a family and have all the traits of family life, right there in front of you. Fab
Not a drinker but i am told by everyone the selection of beer etc is fantastic. As for Nicki & all of the staff it's way past the time for them to get the recognition they deserve for being, Basically Brilliant at what they do every single day of the year. Christmas dinner was great too, so there. If after all this time i can be positive why do some people feel the need to moan about something? Life goes belly up sometimes and that is the best thing about Nicki, Sarah, Mike, Connie, Rob ,Kay, Dan & Dan, Keith, Emma and all of the staff at Hampshire Hog, Is... They are like life REAL. Hats off to you all.
Am going to miss you lots, I will be back. THANKYOU.

Room Tip: The Hotel does not have a Swimming Poor or a Fitness centre, but i am sure if they did it would be e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicki B, General Manager at The Hampshire Hog, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

There is very little one can add to your wonderful review. I can only say how pleased we were to have been given the chance of accommodating your booking. I am sure that a 6 month stay was the last thing you wanted, but we were blessed that you were here with us. After such a long time, you became a familiar face to both staff and customers, and we all miss you very much, and I mean that sincerely.

Of course we never want you to have to suffer the issues in your home again that brought you here to us in the first place, but please dont be a stranger, The Hampshire Hog will always be your second home now.

Nicki and all of the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Lovely place for family sunday roast..their meat is superb, usually a choice of two meat each Sunday..i always go for beef, lovely roast potatoes, Parsnips is the best, cabbage, cheesy cauliflower or brocolli, mashed carrots beans and red cabbage sometimes or creamed leeks.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sakuraneneng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicki B, General Manager at The Hampshire Hog, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

Thank you for such an amazing review!.. I am really delighted that you enjoyed your lunch, your feedback is really welcome.

We hope to be able to welcome you back for lunch again really soon.

Many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Stayed here for 1 night whilst attending a surprise party....friendly but professional welcome, room was fabulous....modern, very clean and comfortable.....lovely en suite with fluffy towels and toiletries.....hospitality tray including hot chocolate, biscuits and fair trade drinks, the fresh milk in the fridge is a lovely touch.....had our evening meal in the pub with good quality food.....I don't agree that the food was expensive given the quality and quantity.....breakfast the next morning was excellent, nothing too much trouble and a very extensive menu.....loved the toast in particular :) ......our only issue was the room was too warm! However, the weather was horrendous with gales and flooding so would be prefer to be too warm than too cold......would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicki B, General Manager at The Hampshire Hog, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Thank you so much for your great review. I am thrilled that your first night staying with us went so well, and really grateful for your positive comments.

The weather was terrible when you stayed, but sorry if you were a little on the warm side in bed.

We really will look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Nicki

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

wasone of the first people to stay here when it got refurbished then stayed regular on business but then found it harder to get a room as it became so popular.the rooms are excellent very comfortable ,lovely breakfast in fact too much.the meals in the evening were good although sometimes a bit pricey.But otherwise nice place to stay

Room Tip: all rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicki B, General Manager at The Hampshire Hog, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2014

Thank you for your great review.

I am delighted that we have maintained a good standard over the last 4 years, and I am really grateful for your continued support.

See you again soon.

Nicki

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

I found this place recently on a business trip to Portsmouth. It's really just a pub with accomodation, but the food is very good and the rooms clean and comfortable. It's also great value, so really all you need when staying away on business. Its conveniently located just off the A3/M a few miles North of Portsmouth, so very easy to get to and from. I'll definitely be staying here again as I haven't found anything that gets even close for convenience, comfort and value in this area. My only samll criticism is that it often takes a while to get served at the bar even when the place isn't busy, but I guess that's down to perhaps one or two inexperienced bar staff.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trousers99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clanfield
6.1 mi away
The Trooper Inn
The Trooper Inn
#1 of 1 in Froxfield
157 reviews
3.6 mi away
Langrish House
Langrish House
#1 of 3 in Petersfield
339 reviews
4.8 mi away
Travelodge Havant Rowlands Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,260 reviews
12.6 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#2 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,170 reviews
9.9 mi away
Farmhouse & Innlodge
Farmhouse & Innlodge
#33 of 39 in Portsmouth
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hampshire Hog? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hampshire Hog

Address: London Road, Clanfield PO8 0QD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Clanfield
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Clanfield
Price Range: $80 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hampshire Hog 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your The Hampshire Hog reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hampshire Hog Hotel Clanfield
The Hampshire Hog Clanfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing