We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Service!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Hampshire Hog

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Hampshire Hog
Ranked #1 of 2 Clanfield B&B and Inns
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Service!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

My wife and I recently spent two nights at the Hampshire Hog on the advice of my son-in-law and daughter who'd stayed there recently. Friendly, attentive service was a hallmark feature of the stay. A very pleasant sojourn indeed. Recommended!

Room Tip: Were were there i a quiet time. I guess I'd advise an upstairs room to the rear and away from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gregg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    163
    61
    41
    29
See reviews for
124
217
18
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tamworth
Level Contributor
99 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

Just off the A3 is the wonderful Hampshire Hog Pub/hotel,
Large car park right next to hotel entrance. A warm welcome at reception. All information given with regards to keys, meal times etc.
The room was a large twin , well furnished, very clean and everything we wanted. Tea/coffee making facilities. Fresh milk in flasks were available from a fridge in the hallway.
Flat screen tv & free WiFi.
The win beds were very comfortable and extra pillows and blankets were packed in plastic bags if required.
The bathroom was roomy and clean with plenty of hot water.
Breakfast was between 7am & 9:30. good selection of cereals, fruit & yogurts.
The full English was hot and plentiful with unlimited tea & coffee & toast. the landladies husband served us who was very pleasant and chatty.
The bonus being attached to a typical English country pub with log fires, large selection of beers and a restaurant with a varied menu.
A very pleasant stay in a lovely hotel that deserves the 5* B&B rating.

Room Tip: All room are to the same standard and well away from the pub so no noise or intrusion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fuzzyducktraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

We ate with two friends yesterday, Dec 28th, and all of us were very disppaointed with the food and service.
We had eaten there on a number of occasions and had good experiences, and it was based on this we selected The Hog for lunch. My dish, listed as Shepherds pie with honey glazed vegtables, came with a dish of burnt, microwaved carrots. When I complained this was not in line with the menu, and badly done, the waitress was only able to provide a dish of freshly microwaved carrots, just as I was finishing the shepherds pie. We had already complained about the long wait for the food, especially considering the restaurant was far from busy. In answer to our query we were advised the chef had been changed some months previously. We will not return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmead
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

Four of us went for lunch at the Hamshire Hog on Friday 28th Dec after hearing that there had been a change in management. Our previous experience, more than a year ago, can at best be described as a culinary disaster! Unfortunately little has changed.
One of our party chose the cottage pie with glazed vegetables which turned out to be a small ramekin of extremely dull and limp looking pieces of carrot. The fact that the menu stated the cottage pie would be accompanied by vegetables suggested there would be two or more, but no, just these grey looking slices of carrot.
I chose the ham egg and chips, so what could go wrong with that? I must admit the egg was good but the chips had been re-fried, tough on the outside and very dry on the bite.
The surprising thing was the fact we waited nearly fifty minutes for the meals to arrive at our table, so naturally we were anticipating something a little fresher and tastier.
At least the Guinness wasn't spoilt.
Would we go back? Never! With a bill of eighty quid for the four us, I think we will go elsewhere!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Forestofbere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallingford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

We stopped here last night with family and friends to go to a local party. The rooms were amazing - well equipped, perfect bed, best selection of drinks on the tea trolley ie hot chocolate, different teas and proper coffee! Breafast this morning was fantastic; I'm a sausage snob and these ones were yummy. The staff were welcoming and friendly. Looking forward to finding an excuse to go back.

Room Tip: We saw no difference between the rooms, they were all very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carolyn V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

I was with the party who were at the Hampshire Hog yesterday. The unfortunate dining experience was shared by all. The 55 Club had been looking forward to their annual celebration only to be extemely disappointed
The cold poorly cooked meal and the very slow service led to many disatisfied murmurings from the club members When I left I voiced my concerns to a member of staff and suggested that the Management refund 50% of the cost to be given to a Charity.
I would not dine there again

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross on Wye, , United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

My Mom as been here today with a group of over 55 s for Christmas lunch.Which was not good.Sprouts like bullets ,cold plates Think the Chef needs changing There was about 30 of us ,which still should be no excuse .Food was only warm ,like it had been standing.Gravy did not come round till we had nearly finished.Not to be highly reccomended.For Christmas lunch.Very disappointed for all of us.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 23Yvonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clanfield
9.1 mi away
Park House Hotel & Spa
4.2 mi away
Premier Inn Petersfield
Premier Inn Petersfield
#2 of 3 in Petersfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
3.6 mi away
Langrish House
Langrish House
#1 of 3 in Petersfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#2 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
9.5 mi away
New Place Hotel
New Place Hotel
#1 of 1 in Shirrell Heath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,331 reviews
19.1 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hampshire Hog? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hampshire Hog

Property: The Hampshire Hog
Address: London Road, Clanfield PO8 0QD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Clanfield
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Clanfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hampshire Hog 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Hampshire Hog reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hampshire Hog Hotel Clanfield
The Hampshire Hog Clanfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing