We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (291)
Filter reviews
291 results
Traveler rating
77
80
61
30
43
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
77
80
61
30
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviews evening meal pudding pub food nice breakfast overnight stop excellent value for money lovely staff pleasant stay beef good nights sleep plenty of hot water lovely meal curry young children lovely pub large tv plenty of space
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 291 reviews
Reviewed September 15, 2019

When we arrived the pub looked welcoming and lovely, the lady that checked us in later in the evening was lovely and good with our child no complaints there. The room itself was really spacious and a nice big comfy bed, travel cot was also provided which my daughter slept really well in, the rooms were nice and clean. The only down fall to our visit was the breakfast, there were no breakfast menus on the tables no one around really unless popping their head out, the continental was sadly rather poor, 1 small bowl of cornflakes out and 2 or 3 burnt pastries. No bread for toast and fruit that looked like it had seen better days. The water for a hot drink was luke warm and there was just my family of 3 and 1 other person and we went down when it started. The lady just came up and reeled a list of egg bacon sausage and ticked them no offer of anything else, she also failed to mention a kids menu or even that kids eat free, we only knew this as my partner is a manager of another Marston venue. The food itself was lovely but not Alot of it. Also over heard a vegiterain was not given any options so just settled for toast eggs and beans. I would stay again for the room but if this is the standard of the morning breakfast I would pay to eat else where sadly.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Emmiewithers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterloo-cross, Manager at Waterloo Cross, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Good Morning Emmiewithers1.

Thank you for your lovely review and kind words. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you also for your feedback. We will of course take this onboard.

Kindest regards,

Steph.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2019

Always such a lovely place to visit. We came as a group of friends to catch up and were made to feel very welcome. We weren't rushed when ordering and found the staff to be really wonderful. Great atmosphere here and the food was good.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank LouLouJame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterloo-cross, Manager at Waterloo Cross, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2019

Good Afternoon LouLouJame.

Thank you for your 5* review and your kind words! We will be sure to pass these to our team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Waterloo Cross Inn.

Kind regards,

Steph.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2019

Stopped here for lunch recently. Great food (recommend the burger). Very friendly staff, Good range of drinks and lunch time specials make it value for money.Highly recommend if looking to break your journey on the motorway

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank MaestroPlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterloo-cross, Manager at Waterloo Cross, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2019

Good evening MaestroPlymouth.

Thank you for your 5* review and your kind comments! We will be sure to pass these on to the team!

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you back to the Waterloo Cross Inn.

Kindest Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2019 via mobile

We stayed here on Tuesday 25th June 2019, on a stopover on our way to Cornwall. Check in was quick. Our room was clean and spacious. The bathroom was clean, and the shower was perfect with plenty of hot water.
We didn’t have breakfast, but we had an evening meal, which was fine, but nothing out of the ordinary.
The next morning, when my husband needed to shave, there was no shaver point in the room. We looked everywhere for one. So, he went to reception to ask if there was anywhere he could have a shave? “No, we had someone ask the other day for a shaver point/ socket”. Wouldn’t it be a good idea to provide either one in the room, or be able to collect one and return to reception?

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank 885lynnek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterloo-cross, Manager at Waterloo Cross, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2019

Good evening 885lynnek.

Thank you for your review and kind comments. We will be sure to feed these back to our staff members.

We will also ensure that your feedback regarding the shaver points is sent to our Marstons Head Office.

Thank you again for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Waterloo Cross Inn.

Kindest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2019 via mobile

Bad costumer service. Had to wait over an hour for our meals when there were only 2 other tables. Ran out of food so we to change out food a few times. The staff just weren’t pleasant. Wouldn’t recommend.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Sidonie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterloo-cross, Manager at Waterloo Cross, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2019

Hello Sidonie A.

Thank you for your comments. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your visit to us at the Waterloo Cross.

Our staff here work very well as a team to ensure all customers feel welcomed and leave happy. We pride ourselves on offering a very high level of customer service so I am saddened to read that this is not what you received. It is never our intention for customers to feel aggrieved.

Could you perhaps let us know when you visited? We would never have an unnecessary wait on food. Especially if the restaurant is quiet.

Kindest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews