We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disapointing”
Review of Calverton Fish Bar

Calverton Fish Bar
Ranked #4 of 10 Restaurants in Calverton
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed July 13, 2018

Visited yesterday to sit inside for fish and chips have been before a while back and has always been nice but yesterday left a lot to be desired. Had been sat down for literaly 30 seconds and a girl appeared out the back room for our order not really had time to look but ordered anyway no hello or anything .Do you do bread and butter i asked yes was the reply i was expecting how many slices white or brown etc with that drinks ordered ; she comes back out slaps a dirty glass on the table and grabs a can of pop from the fridge in the shop and disapears again,next time she pops out with two of the worst slices of brown bread we had ever seen looked like it had been spread by a toddler,well we dont like brown bread especially with fish and chips but she had disappeared again next time we see her she brings the food suposed to be large fish and chips very small portion of chips so i take the oportunity to ask for the bread to changed to white bread i will have a look she says comes back no we dont have any white bread my husband then says we will have bread roll instead no we havent got them either no offer to take it away or take it of the bill then the next thing we hear is people in the actual chip shop,ordering chip,cobs so she obviously couldn't be bothered to fetch them quite disapointed really as it cost £20 so not cheap i think the main focus is obviously the actual chip,shop,and not the restaurant bit you dont feel looked after at all .

1  Thank pennyloubriggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KootG83, Manager at Calverton Fish Bar, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2018

Hi pennyloubriggs,

Thank you for your review. we are saddened to hear that you did not have a positive experience when you visited us yesterday and if you had let us know at the time, we would have done our utmost to address any issues you had.
This is absolutely not our usual standard of service. We pride ourselves on offering an excellent quality of food and customer service at reasonable prices and have recently received a Certificate of Excellence from Tripadvisor for consistently providing this.
We are also extremely surprised to hear that you were not satisfied with the size of your food portion as we often get told that the portions are too big, so I am sorry if you felt this was the case.
Please ask for Stav the next time you are in and he will happily try and help resolve this.
Many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (34)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 34 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2018

Lovely food. Fish always cooked fresh. Delivery ok, but not always right order!! Always put right though and with extra! Lovely staff.

Thank Marcelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2018

Was told about this place from Dotties tearoom, the place was wonderful, new about gluten free, very friendly, large meals and i had small , will be going back

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Jeanette007007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2018

The chips are always delicious and the fish is always big and crispy! The staff are friendly and quick. They deliver now too, which is excellent!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lucyb1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2018

It is worth a drive to get large fish and chips .fish is fresh and huge.
Batter isn't greasy at all .

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Charlotte P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Calverton Fish Bar also viewed

Calverton, Nottinghamshire
Calverton, Nottinghamshire
 
Calverton, Nottinghamshire
Calverton, Nottinghamshire
 
Calverton, Nottinghamshire
Calverton, Nottinghamshire
 

Been to Calverton Fish Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing