We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ali and Ashley Draper 23rd August 2014”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cockliffe Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Calverton
Wakefield, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Ali and Ashley Draper 23rd August 2014”
Reviewed August 24, 2014

My daughter and her new husband had their wedding celebrations at Cockliffe yesterday and it was so special. Nothing was too much trouble. The staff smiled all the time and made us very welcome. The food both for the wedding Breakfast and Evening Buffet were superb and nothing was too much trouble. I would like to thank the Manager and his staff for making this such a special day for us. I know there have been some bad revues of late but I can reassure you that even thought we had some worries prior to the Big Day, the new Management and his staff are wonderful and once again I would like to thank them for the care and attention they gave to this very satisfied Mother of the Bride.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon-Paul D, Owner at Cockliffe Country House Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2014
Dear Marilyn

Thanks so much for taking the time to leave such lovely feedback and we're all very glad that you and your party had such a great time. We will be sure to make sure all the team see your kind words and we're really pleased to have been a part of your daughters special day.

Best Regards

The team at Cockliffe House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    23
    15
    10
    9
See reviews for
18
46
Solo
0
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

What can I say? The grounds are beautiful. The staff are pretty friendly and helpful. However, if it had been my wedding I would be contemplating demanding a refund from somebody. Not sure who was to blame for so many problems but someone needs to be held accountable. Food was great when it arrived, but the wait was shockingly bad. According to the website our room should have had a Jacuzzi, nope! Then again, we had to wait hours to get access to our room and even then everyone had to use ours to get ready for the wedding so it meant quite a lot of people sharing the toilet, shower, mirrors etc. Despite having a room for family, we had a four poster bed a sofa and the floor! Wedding itself went superbly despite the drama behind the scenes of nobody knowing what to do or where to go as some staff were clueless and apparently drafted in minutes before it started, caused by the Wedding Planner not showing up or leaving any plans for anyone. Glad I am not a vegetarian as it seems they would have been very hungry! Despite this the (I assume she was) manager, and the team she did have, managed to turn things around and pull it off. Bar was not too expensive either and probably on a par with similar locations.

Would I stay there again? Probably not, unless they changed things dramatically.

Room Tip: Most rooms had beautiful views. If you cannot find your tea and coffee making equipment when you arr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick0506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon-Paul D, Owner at Cockliffe Country House Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2014
Dear Nick

Thanks for taking the time to leave feedback on the event you attended, your comments have been noted and fed back to the team and we will be sure to act on any of the points made from a development point of view.

Regards

The team at Cockliffe House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calverton
6.7 mi away
Hart's Hotel
Hart's Hotel
#15 of 49 in Nottingham
517 reviews
7.1 mi away
Colwick Hall Hotel
Colwick Hall Hotel
#7 of 49 in Nottingham
621 reviews
5.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Nottingham - Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Best Western Bestwood Lodge Hotel
8.0 mi away
De Vere Orchard Hotel
De Vere Orchard Hotel
#5 of 49 in Nottingham
1,444 reviews
6.3 mi away
Roomzzz Nottingham City
Roomzzz Nottingham City
#1 of 49 in Nottingham
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cockliffe Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cockliffe Country House Hotel

Property: Cockliffe Country House Hotel
Address: Burntstump Hill, Calverton, Nottingham NG5 8PQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham > Calverton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Calverton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cockliffe Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Cockliffe Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cockliffe Country Hotel
Hotel Cockliffe Country

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing