We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for little kids and adults” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waialea Beach

Waialea Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great for little kids and adults”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

Love the trees that line the beach great for shade and climbing and to hang wet towels from. Very mellow vibe and quiet. Waves are a little intense for kids to swim but sand is so soft and fine that building sand castles is awesome. Definitely recommended if in the area

Helpful?
1 Thank cattivodancecoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    54
    8
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Comox, Canada
Level Contributor
174 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Paradise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

Visited the beach today; just off the highway. $5 parking fee; cards accepted. Nice sandy beach areas, easy to get in and out of water. Relatively calm, bit of a shorebreak. Snorkeling may have been OK but water was cloudy. Great spot for families and fairly quiet.

Helpful?
1 Thank Ben-Josee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful beach with shade and without crowds”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

Various Big Island guides talk about this beach as if it's an undiscovered paradise. It gets enough attention that I assumed that it would no longer be as quiet as it had been billed. In fact, it still has that private beach feel about it.

Unlike Hapuna Beach, it doesn't have an enormous expanse of sand stretching hundreds of meters in each direction. The beach itself is narrow, but the sand is soft. Perhaps one of the nicest features is that there are trees that extend almost to the water (in fact, there is a rope swing over the water) that offer much-needed shade during the midday hours. This is a place where you could easily spend an entire day just lounging on the beach.

There's a relatively calm area to the left of the parking lot that has decent snorkeling. Visibility can be affected by the surf and sun conditions.

Remove all valuables from your car when parking here. There's evidence of break-ins in the form of tiny pellets of safety glass throughout the parking lot.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LelHMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
298 reviews
83 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Good option”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

Nice useable beach, decent enough snorkelling, some shade to the back. Good facilities make this an easy choice for the day or a couple of hours. Parking charge.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank MauiBuilt2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, NE
Level Contributor
94 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Not as good as expected”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

This beach is located just south of Hapuna Beach and we went think that the snorkeling would be good. I think we must have gone on a bad day, because we did not see many fish and the water wasn’t as clear as other beaches we visited. I do have to note that we did go in the afternoon, so morning may be better. There is a $5 charge for non-residents and it is based on the honor system (i.e., there is a machine that you can put bills or credit cards into). Access is via a dirt road, but it is well kept, but somewhat narrow.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank FHLEnterprises
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waialea Beach also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Puako, Kohala Coast
 
Island of Hawaii, HI
Waikoloa, Kohala Coast
 

Been to Waialea Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing