We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sunset views” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waialea Beach

Waialea Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
200 reviews
191 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Sunset views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

We came here after relaxing sometime at the hapuna beach. My husband tried to do some snorkeling here, but the water was rough and it was after 5. So we just enjoyed a nice romantic sunset. And the fun started afterward when we got ourselves locked out of the car :). So this beach is unforgettable for us!!!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank CalGirl84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    54
    8
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Banbury, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Little Gem on Big Island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

My idea of a perfect beach,
No jet Skis or banana boats, No hotels or noisy bars
Just great sand, great water and lovely shady trees that wrap around giving you your own private area. Also quiet even on the busiest of days
Its half way around the world from us, but we would go again at a drop of a hat

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Danie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
70 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great Beach!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed at Fairmont Orchid, and this little gem was only about 10 minutes away. Great beach with tons of shade and not very crowded, even on a Saturday. Good snorkeling around the large rock. Do watch the ocean conditions, as it can get a little rough. My husband snorkeled all the way around the cove to Hapuna Beach. He almost didn't make it back, as conditions rapidly changed while he was snorkeling, but he is still raving about the octopus he saw and the huge variety of fish. There is a large parking lot, bathrooms, and a shower. A great little beach!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wow snorkeling as good as Molokini!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Great beach and good snorkelling! 2step might be a little better but if your staying up north this is much closer.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank nitro888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good local swimming & snorkeling beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

This wasn't the best snorkeling on the island (for us, that was 2 Step Beach), but the snorkeling was still nice and the convenient location, scenic sandy beach and plentiful shade make Beach 69 a great package. I can see how it would feel crowded easily, since it's not a huge beach.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank vlaurend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waialea Beach also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Puako, Kohala Coast
 
Island of Hawaii, HI
Waikoloa, Kohala Coast
 

Been to Waialea Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing