We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Warm, comfortable, and tastefully decorated”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Quoin Stone

Lounge/Living Area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lounge/Living Area
Lounge/Living Area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
18 reviews
Lounge/Living Area
Lounge/Living Area
Front Garden - with a Gate.   Makes it a safe area for small children.
Single Bedroom
Single Bedroom
Twin Bedroom - which has a Wardrobe and Chest of Drawers.
Rambling Rose in the Garden.
Quoin Stone Cottage
Quoin Stone - Cottage on the Right
A view into the Front Garden.
Some flowers for you to enjoy.
Double Bedroom
Multi Levelled Garden
Kitchen/Dining Room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Drumconrath, County Meath

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Gary I
Frederick, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Warm, comfortable, and tastefully decorated”
Reviewed January 22, 2014 for a stay in March 2013

My wife and I have only stayed in the 2 bedroom rental. We have been there on our own, with friends, and with family members from the US at different times over the period of 3 years. Everyone has felt at home while there. The place is light and cheery. The kitchen is appointed with everything you need including a washer/dryer combination.

The stove downstairs, when it is stoked up with coal or turf, will absolutely drive you out of the house. Works great!

The bedrooms are adequate and the beds are comfortable (IKEA). For the bathroom, the shower unit works great. There is an iron, ironing board, and hair dryer in the hall closet.

As a self-cater, you can pick up the essentials at Muldoon's shop which is a short walk down the street. There are 3 pubs in town, all in walking distance. The location is about an hour from Dublin, 30 minutes from Newgrange or Slane Castle. If Kieran knows what time you are arriving, he will have a turf fire going to take off the chill. He is a great host.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The rental has always been clean when we arrived.
Liked least: TV channels are limited
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVallery
Toara Di Villaga
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely hosts and a quaint and comfortable home away from home.”
Reviewed January 21, 2014 for a stay in April 2012

The Quoin Stone is a lovely place on two floors. Roomy with a well-fitted kitchen. The place was clean and charming. A very short walk to the local pub. Also, you are centered in a excellent location to explore all the area has to offer.
We were given a warn welcome and lots of excellent advice on the area. We would love to return for another visit.

Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
irishtour...
limerick
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disgracefull Attitude by owner”
Reviewed January 6, 2014 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We rented this cottage of Mr Kieran Rooney, on the 30th of December 2012 - January 3rd, the house was okay, our problems started the first night we were there
Shockingly the house was filled with some type of Karosene Fumes, we said it to Mr Rooney and he refused to accept it, the heating in the house constantly broke down during a very cold period we had a six month old baby in the house,
Bizarrely Mr Rooney advised us get a plumber ourselves, when we reiterated our complaint he wanted us to leave on new years with no where to go.
To sum it up no heating, and a very unhelpful and we had to leave in the end
We had to cut short our stay here

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Getting away from this hellhole
Liked least: The owners attitude
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meathman2...
Darlington, United Kingdom
1 review
“Friendly”
Reviewed September 11, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Clean accomodation and family friendly. Host went above and beyond to make us welcome.The accomodation was well placed for all the areas we needed to visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterus B
1 review
Reviewed August 25, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Nee.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing