We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect mountain hideaway”

Review of Jilba Cottage

Jilba Cottage backed by Porongurup National Park
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Jilba Cottage backed by Porongurup National Park
Porongurup Region Map Welcome!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
Jilba Cottage backed by Porongurup National Park
Porongurup Region Map
Welcome!
Jilba Cottage Lounge & Dining Room
Jilba Cottage fully self-contained Kitchen
Jilba Cottage queen sized Bedroom
Jilba Cottage second Bedroom
Jilba Cottage Bathroom, Laundrey & Toilet
Complimentary Continental Breakfast to welcome you on First Morning
View of Gardens from Jilba Cottage Deck
You are welcome to wander & relax in our beautiful gardens
Sunset from Jilba
Wildflowers in Porongurup National Park
Granite Skywalk on Castle Rock, Porongurup National Park
Upper of two Skywalks, Castle Rock, Porongurup National Park
Climb to Granite Skywalk - spectacular panoramic views to Albany & South Coast, plus Stirling Ranges
Visitors to Jilba Gardens
Two more visitors to Jilba
Guest meeting Jilba Cattle
Enjoy local wines at our annual Porongurup Wine Festival & be part of Taste Great Southern
Long time member of Hosted Accommodation, Australia
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Porongurup, Western Australia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sharon E
Gwelup
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect mountain hideaway”
Reviewed July 19, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Cottage was perfect for us. Beautiful, clean and nicely laid out. We enjoyed your books, games, movies as well as lovely bikkies and treats for the girls. The breakfast you left us was awesome.

Great access to Porongarups, Stirling Ranges, Mt Barker and Albany. We had a marvellous time. We climbed Mt Hassell (twice), Mt Trio, Castle Rock and Mt Toolbrunup. We had a lovely day sailing in Albany (see other review) and on another day we fit in a visit to the Gap and the beach and cliffs at Cape West Howe. Late lunches around 3oclock at Mt Barker bakery or Porongarups Cafe.

Back at our cottage we had a couple of late afternoon strolls up the firebreak and down to the lower dam. Saying hi to kangas and calves (and a rabbit on one occasion).

I even got a few sleep-ins. Luxury!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 21, 2017
Hi Sharon, Martin, Monika & Sophie, Thank you for such a great review - it is very much appreciated. We are glad you had such an enjoyable time, given the wintery conditions. You certainly packed an immense amount of activity into your stay. Hope to see you all again in the future. Happy trumpet playing! Warm regards, Joan & Jim
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterwitc...
Perth
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Tranquil, beautiful and perfect for family time.”
Reviewed April 10, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Jilba is set up beautifully with a full kitchen, lounge, 2 bedrooms and good size bathroom with shower, reverse cycle air conditioner. There are books and Dvds in the cottage, however we were too busy to use the tv much and the boys were happy playing in the garden, climbing trees or making up games.The beds are very comfy, electric blanket and plenty of layers for the cold nights. There is a large deck which is great for eating meals and enjoying views over the surrounding farmland. Looking out the kitchen window is the forest as Jilba backs on to the Porongurup National park. We walked/climbed the castle rock trail and clambered over the granite boulders at the top to the skywalk which was amazing. We could see Jilba Cottage and farm down below. My two boys (6 and 9) loved walking through the orchard to see the cows with their new born calves. In the mornings and and evenings there are lots of kangaroos around. Jim and Joan have have prints of birds and wildflowers on the wall and we had fun trying to spot them with the binoculars. There is even a torch if you feel like a walk at night to spot wildlife. Joan gave us advice and directions to local attractions. We also ventured out to Cheyne beach, Mt barker bakery and the Stirling ranges all of which are about 20 mins to 40 mins drive away. There is a about 2.5 kms of gravel in the last section of road to Jilba but I had no problems driving my Pulsar hatch along it.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 21, 2017
Hi Wanda, Jamie & Michael, My apologies. This is a very belated 'Thank you' for the great review - it was very much appreciated. We are so glad you all enjoyed your stay in our beautiful part of the world. You certainly made the most of it. Jim and I look forward to seeing you again in the future. Warm regards, Joan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antoinett...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Can't wait to return”
Reviewed June 6, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We were lucky enough to base ourselves at Jilba Cottage to explore the Stirling ranges on the last 2 days/1 night of our SW Australia trip. It is very well located; only a short 35 min drive from Albany with Bluff knoll, Mount Trio and other great walks all close by. The Granite Skywalk was 5 minutes’ drive away.

Jim and Joan were wonderful, friendly and knowledgeable hosts. They have a beautiful property with views all the way to Albany. The accommodation is very clean, the bed was super comfortable and the fully equipped kitchen had a pantry packed with goodies for a continental breakfast as well as their local home grown olives, which we were excited to spot in a store in Mount Barker!

We only booked one night’s stay as we were flying home from Perth the next evening. We regret is not being able to stay longer to explore the Mount Barker region and especially to enjoy the property (we had time for a short walk around part of the property and were lucky enough to see Kangaroo's). One night is definitely not enough to explore this wonderful region. It is one of the most beautiful areas in SW Australia and we can’t wait to come back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: I couldn't say, love it all! Great place to finish our 2 week trip around the SW
Liked least: Not staying long enough
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 9, 2016
Hi Antoinette, Jim & I are currently overseas, so hope get this O.K. Thank you for such a great review. Thank you for choosing Jilba Cottage for you albeit too short a stay, although you did manage to cram a lot into your short time here. Hope to see you both again in the not too far distant future. All the best to you both. Joan & Jim
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff C
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Clean, comfortable accomodation close to National Park and wineries.”
Reviewed March 21, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Well presented and well equipped accommodation. Quiet rural location, close to National Parks and associated walking trails. Easy access to Albany, Mt Barker and beyond. Warm, welcoming hosts and generous continental breakfast supplied for first morning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet rural location
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 1, 2016
Thank you, Geoff, for taking the time to review our cottage - it is much appreciated. We are glad you enjoyed your stay in our beautiful part of the world, albeit the weather wasn't in your favour, we hope to see you again sometime in the future, Kind regards, Joan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa P
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Quiet and tranquil”
Reviewed February 19, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Jilba cottage is set on the porongurup mountainside with an amazing view all the way to the Ocean and Albany. Set on a farm, we saw lots of cows and kangaroos and other wildlife in the national park, which is set right behind the accommodation! The hosts were wonderful and accommodated our changing dates. They also were full of information for things to do in the area.
Yummy breakfast supplied, comfy queen size bed, lovely shower. We sat on the deck out the front with a glass of wine - so relaxing!
30 mins to Albany, 10 mins to the skywalk and lovely wildflowers.
Had a great time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: View from the deck
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 20, 2016
Thank you Lisa & Janaka for taking the time to review Jilba Cottage - it is much appreciated. We look forward to seeing you again some time in the near future in our beautiful part of the world. Tell your friends.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NannaNann...
Western Australia
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Gem in the South”
Reviewed November 11, 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This cottage in the Porongurups is the perfect place to stay when visiting the area. Joan and Jim are welcoming and provide a home away from home in a quiet peaceful setting nestled in the National Park.Thank you for a wonderful stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: No dislikes
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 12, 2015
Thank you Merryl for taking the time to let Jim & I know that you enjoyed you time in our beautiful part of the world. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leanne_pe...
perth
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
“Serenity and surrounded by nature”
Reviewed October 9, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We had a wonderful stay at Jim and Joan’s cottage, the hospitality and area knowledge they extended to us made our trip even more enjoyable and memorable. The cottage was comfortable and clean. For the two of us there was plenty of space. We were welcomed with olives (from Jim and Joan’s Olive trees) and a continental breakfast for the next day. The farm and its surroundings was scenic and we spotted a family of wild kangaroos on the edge of the property during the stay. Our evenings were blissfully quiet on the property, it's well away from the main road. The kitchen was well equipped for cooking meals and on the first evening we fired up the BBQ on the deck at sunset. Our favourite space was at the dining table eating breakfast and looking out to the trees, the elevated position of the cottage meant we were at eye level to the top half of the trees. Jim and Joan left some binoculars and a handy information book on the species of birds that you can spot on the property, we saw quite a few at breakfast time. For those wanting a quiet retreat and have a strong interest in Australian nature we recommend a couple of nights at Jilba Cottage. We felt so relaxed afterwards.

There are plenty of nearby hiking trails, including to Castle Rock, an amazing skywalk view from the top. Small boutique wineries are within a five minute drive, highly recommend Castle Rock Winery. For adventurers, there is the hike to the Bluff Knoll summit 1,097 m above sea level (weather permitting).

The closest town for shops and restaurants is either Mt Barker (20 mins drive) or Albany (30 mins drive).

There is loads to see and do in Albany, it would be worth adding an extra week on your stay to explore this area - loads of nature and historical sites. Some great cafes in the town centre too.

If you are driving from Perth, bring along supplies for the evening dinner, that way you can enjoy dinner on the deck and relax!

We enjoyed our stay so much we returned a couple of months later for the new year. It was such a unique stay, to be able to wake up on a farm and surrounded by nature. Loved it!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: waking up on a farm!
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 26, 2015
Thank you Leanne & Derek for taking the time to let Jim, I & prospective guests know that you enjoyed you time in our beautiful part of the world & the wealth of things to see & do. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing