We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“caravan site”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hoddesdon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lee Valley Caravan Park, Dobbs Weir
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 29, 2013

I owned a static caravan on this site for 5 years until 2008 when lee valley decided to shut it down , at that time it had a nice layout to the caravans and was a very pleasant place to be .
The site has now re-opened and has all been changed round , I went into look around in November and at that time it had been open for some 16 months , the layout in my opinion is not very nice and the cheapest caravan was £27000 , there was only 10 or 12 caravans sited at that time so obviously was not proving to be very popular or just over priced .
Why lee valley have altered it so much is beyond me , the site and once pleasant area has totally been ruined ..........................................

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank jaweedon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VisitLeeValley, Manager at Lee Valley Caravan Park, Dobbs Weir, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Thank you for your comments in relation to the static holiday home side of our site, at the time of your visit and as we speak the site is part way through a phased redevelopment with only phase one completed and we have another three phases to construct over the coming years. The finished site will house 120 luxury static holiday homes and be complemented with new roadways and landscaping to enhance the tranquil setting of the bordering rivers.

At the time of your visit phase one was indeed only partly filled but at this time only two months later we are pleased to say it has only one plot remaining. Therefore we are busy planning phase two, this next phase will add a further 30 pitches for new and modern static holiday homes to meet our new customer’s expectations.

If you return to site following the completion of the further phases, I hope you will agree that the improvements made exceed the standard of the site in the past and we have created a modern spacious static site that sits well within the quiet back waters of the River Lee.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (91)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

87 - 91 of 91 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2013

We have just come back from a weeks stay at this lovely camp site. The wardens and management were both very friendly and helpful. The site was clean and well ran, with very good showers, washing machines and a small shop on site for basics. The kids loved the play area and my husband loved the stream which he was able to fish in. There are lovely walks along canals with pubs and café just across the road and an Asda and Sainsbury’s 5 minute drive away. We went to London by train which is only 10 minutes away making this camp site ideally located. We will be using this site again, the only down side was a week was not enough time to everything we wanted.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jennifer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VisitLeeValley, General Manager at Lee Valley Caravan Park, Dobbs Weir, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

We are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay at Lee Valley Caravan Park, Dobbs Weir and thank you for your kind comments. We look forward to welcoming you and your family again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed at Lee Valley (Dobbs Weir) campsite with our 3 young children on a serviced tent pitch last month on a long weekend trip to London.

The location was great; 5 minutes drive to Hoddesdon where there was a great selection of supermarkets, shops and restaurants, a lovely pub the 'Fish & Eels' just over the river and the main line to London (Broxbourne Station) was 5 minutes drive away.

The site itself has only been open a year and consists of a large open field (where mainly caravans and motorhomes parked) and a smaller field with electric pitches and mainly for tents, this was nice as it was next to the river and provided fishing areas for each tent if required. The electric points were shared and if you have only a short electric lead (10m) you can borrow an extension lead (for a £30 deposit). There was an industrial estate next to the site, and you could hear the trains but personally this wasn't an issue.

The shower, toilet and washing block were very good and always kept clean. The only downside was that out of the 8 (free) showers only 3 worked on our visit, which meant we did queue briefly. There was a nice little play area and well stocked shop, along with river side access to fish for crayfish (a big attraction to our kids!)

The main thing attraction for me was the ease of getting into London. It only cost £1.10 to park at Broxbourne Station on the Sunday we visited, and the 25 minute train journey in with unlimited tube and bus for the day cost just £32 for our family. It was a great way to get to see the sights, with having an easy enough trip back to the tent.

I can also recommend 'Wokulike' in Hoddesdon who delivered a wonderful Chinese to the campsite gate! The staff were very friendly, and welcoming and

Highly recommended and we will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StarTurn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VisitLeeValley, General Manager at Lee Valley Caravan Park, Dobbs Weir, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our campsite. We're pleased to hear you had a pleasant stay and enjoyed the local attractions as well as finding it easy to get into London. Unfortunately the showers have been out of order but are in the process of being repaired. We look forward to seeing you again on another visit and make sure you take a trip to nearby Lee Valley Park Farms (great for the kids with lots of animals and indoor and outdoor play areas!) plus during the summer holidays they can have a go at kayaking on our lake at Lee Valley White Water Centre!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

I am a local resident of the park and needed to move out of my home for a month whilst work was being done. I decided to take my caravan to Lea Valley. I was greeted by Lorraine and Ian, the site wardens, what lovely, happy, helpful people - thank you. Whilst here for 4 nights I stayed I had 2 different people come to visit. Both visitors park beside my car on pitch (at separate times) for a while. After these "incidents" I was warned by the manager that this must not happen again. Ok no problem I didn't know before butbnow I do. Another brief detail I forgot - roughly I guess there are about 60 or 70 pitches and during my stay I would estimate it to of been less than half full at peak and down to 5 or 6 at lowest times. I was setting a bad example to all the others. Then on my final day I had to leave for work at 4am and would b leaving my dog in caravan from 4am - 8am when she would be collected by a friend. I received a phone call about 7.30am to say my dog had barked and had been left alone all night and I needed to get her picked up asap otherwise it would be done for me by council/police as it was cruel of me to shut her in for 4hrs! I explained that a friend would be there shortly and the reply i received was "well we are going to ask you to leave site anyway as the continuos problems with dogs and parking". The call was made by the manageress, same person as "bad example" and the car thing. I wanted to tow the line and enjoy my stay but I didn't, I found myself not being able to relax for fear of doing something wrong. Anyway you guys make of this as you will... Maybe I'm seeing it wrong! Whatever though, remember lovely site, clean facilities, great pub 2 minutes walk and 2 lovely park wardens.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VisitLeeValley, General Manager at Lee Valley Caravan Park, Dobbs Weir, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Thank you for your comments, and the kind words you said about the wardens. It is disappointing that you have not had the type of experience we would have liked you to have had whilst staying at our site, however we do have stringent but fair site rules which are there for the benefit and safety of all site users. With regard to your dog it is again stipulated in the site rules that they should never be left unattended for exactly the reasons that caused concern for our customers and ourselves therefore we were left in no other position then to contact you, the owner and ask that you deal with the issue immediately. Constructive customer feedback both positive and negative is always welcomed and this allows us to continually review our processes and site rules. We hope this won't stop you enjoying the rest of the park.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Giuseppina11-53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VisitLeeValley, General Manager at Lee Valley Caravan Park, Dobbs Weir, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoddesdon
5.1 mi away
Travelodge Cheshunt
Travelodge Cheshunt
#1 of 2 in Cheshunt
349 reviews
0.7 mi away
Clocktower Lodge
Clocktower Lodge
#1 of 4 in Hoddesdon
59 reviews
2.1 mi away
Woodland Lodge
Woodland Lodge
#2 of 2 in Hoddesdon
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lee Valley Caravan Park, Dobbs Weir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lee Valley Caravan Park, Dobbs Weir

Address: Dobbs Weir, Charlton Meadows | Essex Road, Hoddesdon EN11 0AS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hoddesdon
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Hoddesdon
Price Range: $25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lee Valley Caravan Park, Dobbs Weir 3*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax by the river at Lee Valley Caravan Park, Dobbs Weir and explore the sights of London or get active in the Lee Valley. Sited on a bend in the River Lee, this spacious campsite is surrounded by picturesque countryside with lots of opportunities to wind down and relax. There are a total of 146 pitches and a number of static holiday homes available. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing