We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saturday evening”
Review of Taste Of China

Taste Of China
Ranked #23 of 62 Restaurants in Hoddesdon
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have patronised this restaurant since it opened over 30 years ago.as the owner Ester is always so miserable, in latter years we have just used it as takeaway. The food is the best around, no question. However we went on Saturday evening to celebrate our daughter ‘s birthday. Her choice. We arrived as booked at 6.30pm and didn’t leave until 9pm. Not our fault. The service was diabolical and one of our dishes didn’t arrive until we had all but finished our main course. There was no “sorry for the delay have a glass of wine on us” etc and the owner Ester was her usual miserable self. As much as we love the food, we will not be eating there Again!

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Shebazz2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (160)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 160 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2019

Surprised by some of the recent poor reviews. We were welcomed, well looked after and the food was very good indeed. Lost a star as we felt a little rushed, the food courses were placed before us without finishing a last mouthful of the previous course. Felt they were keen to get us out of the door ready for the next sitting. Wasn’t acknowledged as we left (do like a thank you and goodbye). Minor issues, overall our experience was “very good”.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2019 via mobile

What a great place to eat, it’s a bit small so you have to book, the food is lovely, so much to choose from,

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank 21jackiemcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2019 via mobile

I used this restaurant many of times gone down hill food was terrible mush & cockroach in food I will never go there again absolutely rubbish dog food

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank jamesdel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2019 via mobile

We used to love this restaurant - a buzzy atmosphere every day of the week. So popular you couldn’t get a table mid week.

Tonight was a different story / we were the only ones there - the staff were inattentive & un interested - the food bland and verging on inedible / and before I left I had a violently upset tummy ☹️and yet almost not discount.

We won’t be going back - Taste of China you have lost a long standing Customer

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank amanda l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taste Of China also viewed

 
Hertford, Hertfordshire
 

Been to Taste Of China? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing