We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very average” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Woodland Lodge

Woodland Lodge
Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Woodland Lodge
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

I stayed here for 4 nights with my other half. It was suitable at the time as we hadn't pre-booked anywhere but probably wouldn't go again.

POSITIVES:
+ quiet countryside (dependent on neighbours though!)
+ fairly clean
+ good for short stay
+ room was tidied/bed made every day
+ TV in the bedroom
+ complimentary mini wine bottles/tea/coffee
+ double size shower cubicle

NEGATIVES:
- door from bedroom to bathroom/toilet is wooden folding door that doesn't really provide much privacy or sound barrier
- walls between lodges are VERY thin - could hear everything the couple in the next lodge were saying (let alone anything else!)
- shower had no power at all - not good if you have long hair!
- before booking it said a fridge was included with the room but had to ask the cleaner for one. When it came it was very small and very loud!
- nothing close by and the pub next door is closed
- very bumpy drive to the lodge with huge pot holes in - not good if you're in a hatchback!
- fairly clean but quite a lot of cobwebs
- upon arrival found that our toilet was leaking and had a bowl underneath to prevent it going onto the floor
- photos looks nicer than the lodge actually is

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Afj7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    14
    8
    7
    6
See reviews for
10
18
2
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

Pretty average to be honest, the chalets are roomy but dated and the mattresses are pretty ropey.

Generally clean but the shower holder was broken in our chalet. The smoke alarm was beeping all through the night in our relatives room and the mini fridge was very noisy.

It's a reasonable price but there is nothing nearby and the pub is closed next door.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ClashCityWomble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire
Level Contributor
107 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

Cheaper than a Travel Lodge yes and "cosier" yes, it was clean inside and the breakfast was good value. The en-suite required a proper door to provide a bit more privacy to people on both sides of it. The staff might have been helpful but as we never saw them cannot say friendly. Everything, even on site, was dealt with by text message or phone! And as for "log cabin in the woods", come on, wooden shacks in a treed area. The immediate surrounds were scruffy and need litter collection. Having said all that - it really was OK.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GeeWizzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2012

Brilliant cheaper than a travel lodge and a lot cosier not a lot to in the town and the nearest pub not associated with the lodges is hit and miss but your own log cabin in the woods and the most friendly helpfull staff you could wish for for less than a travelodge brilliant definitely will be back

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Milemuncha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoddesdon
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Ware Hotel
3.5 mi away
Cheshunt Marriott Hotel
Cheshunt Marriott Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Salisbury Arms Hotel
Salisbury Arms Hotel
#1 of 4 in Hertford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
3.9 mi away
Fanhams Hall Hotel
4.0 mi away
Hertford House
Hertford House
#3 of 4 in Hertford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodland Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodland Lodge

Property: Woodland Lodge
Address: Cottage Farm Goose Green | Goose Green, Hoddesdon EN11 8SN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hoddesdon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Hoddesdon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Woodland Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing