We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another excellent meal”
Review of Fish and Eels

Fish and Eels
Reserve with OpenTable
Fish and Eels is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #32 of 45 Restaurants in Hoddesdon
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Fish and Eels in Hoddesdon is a country pub & restaurant oozing rural charm and rustic character. Our picturesque surroundings provide the perfect backdrop for savouring the hearty, seasonal pub-food on our menu, and the carefully nurtured cask ales and fine wines gracing our bar.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Another excellent meal”
Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

Our third visit here for lunch and we can't fault the food and service. We had a nice window table overlooking the river and the sun began to shine! Special thanks to our excellent and pleasant waitress, Emma.

Helpful?
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GENERAL MANAGER a, Manager at Fish and Eels, responded to this review, January 25, 2017
Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    107
    100
    115
    191
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great location, but appalling service!!”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Having used this pub before due to its location right on the river, we called in for Sunday lunch for 4 people, after waiting nearly 20 minutes to be served, we were informed they were busy & had no tables available & could we "pop back in an hour or so"!! I asked for some drinks but was informed they were busy taking food orders & would get to us when they had time!! At this point we decided to leave immediately, we had a very similar experience at their other pub called "The Crown" again perfectly situated right by the river this ones near Broxbourne station, & endured almost the identical appalling service, if you want messed about or worse ignored, then these two establishments will do you nicely.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Asitis X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GENERAL MANAGER a, General Manager at Fish and Eels, responded to this review, January 18, 2017
Please do come try us again as we are under a new manager.
Sorry for your previous disappointment however we are sure you will be impressed on your return
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely location...awful service”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Went to the Fish & Eels today after a lovely walk along the River Lee. Queued for 25 mins to order food at the bar... barman (especially) was very rude with the waiting customers... was told the wait would be 45 mins... well 1.15mins later.. and after chasing twice the food arrived. The burgers were dry and the roast was stone cold. I wish I'd read the reviews on Trip Advisor before I came here... £70 down.. and frankly very disappointed. Seems that there were too many tables for the limited staff to cope with.. and clearly not enough kitchen capacity to get the orders out in a reasonable time. I would suggest you try somewhere else.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Moorph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GENERAL MANAGER a, Manager at Fish and Eels, responded to this review, January 25, 2017
Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Won't be going back in a hurry...”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Cons: We had booked a table - but still waited half hour to be seated. Once we ordered, we then waited over an hour for starters to arrive - bread and oil!!! Then waited another couple of hours for main meals to arrive. It wasn't even really that busy for a bank holiday, but the place did appear to be understaffed.

When we queried where the food was, we were repeatably asked "Were we not told there was a 45 min wait when we were seated? and you are a table of 7, which is a large group so smaller groups are served first!"
- well no we weren't informed of the 45min wait and it had been over 45mins anyway!

When the food arrived it was okay, portions could have been more generous for the price - however mine arrived with mash and veg instead of chips as was on the menu (however this was corrected) and my brother's still took a further 10-15min to be served after the rest!

Pros: Bill arrived promptly when we asked and the waitress who was serving us, was lovely and despite the mess was still smiling :)

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Baylie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GENERAL MANAGER a, Manager at Fish and Eels, responded to this review, January 25, 2017
Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Look warm service”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

After a long walk around the lake we felt cold and were looking foreward to a hot drink. We ordered a pot of tea and 3 hot chocolates which arrived after a considerable waiting time. The tea water was hand warm and the tea pot wasn't full up, which means it was only one cup of tea. The hot chocolate was also hand warm, had a very watery taste and the amount of cream was very waistline friendly. It just didn't taste like it was made with milk. It was such an easy order and yet went so wrong. The ambience is very nice but a cold drink is probably better to consum there.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Steffisreisen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GENERAL MANAGER a, Manager at Fish and Eels, responded to this review, January 25, 2017
Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fish and Eels also viewed

Hertford, Hertfordshire
Cheshunt, Hertfordshire
 
Broxbourne, Hertfordshire
Hoddesdon, Hertfordshire
 
Hoddesdon, Hertfordshire
Stevenage, Hertfordshire
 

Been to Fish and Eels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing