We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Proper Treat”
Review of The Black Swan

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oldstead
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Black Swan
Ranked #1 of 1 Oldstead B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A Proper Treat”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

With gift vouchers burning a hole in our pocket we finally managed to get around to booking a night away at The Black Swan and actually think waiting was a good idea. As it was cold and dark outside the cosy bar, rooms and restaurant had a fabulous atmosphere, a pint of Black Sheep sat next to the real fire was the start of a great night. Had a choice of great gins with Fentimans Tonic pre-dinner. Three great courses, with excellent Veggie options for me (almost unique for me to get choice when in a quality restaurant!). Ending with sloe port and coffee - terrific.

Room Tip: If you can book last minute and be flexible on date, check out their website for special offers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MatureChaletGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    19
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
141
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

Been here three times now? So cannot be too bad. Had a lovely meal and well worth the money but was a little disappointed regarding the five star rooms, but not that disappointed. All that said go for the food and enjoy the experience!!! Male sure you take a sat nav as the road was closed and we had diversions which took us to know where sensible, but we got there in the end!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 8311ben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

On entering the restaurant, you are invited to the downstairs bar which is incredibly romantic & comforting with dark oak furniture, a roaring fire & low lighting. We enjoyed a glass of wine & our amuse bouche here before sitting down for dinner in the main dining room.

The a la carte menu is minimal with only 4 choices for starter & the mains. Food was excellent & beautifully presented as you would expect. Staff are charming & I'm astounded that the chef who has achieved such an accolade is only 24. I take my hat off to you. Lovely dining experience overall.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank LixTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night on my birthday, fantastic staff, unbelievable food and a warm and cosy bar/pub area with a glorious open fire.

The food is worthy of its Michelin star (ignore any previous comment that it doesn't) and the wine list is excellent.

My only slight criticism was that the mini bar in the room was extortionate.

Would definitely return

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

If you are into small details, clean rooms, VERY comfortable beds, and a very quiet hotel then the Black Swan is the perfect place to stay. The restaurant is a whole extra wonderful experience. We went for the 3 course menu and were not disappointed from the second they brought out the consommé of spring roll and mushroom soup to the petit fours of chocolate, macaroons and something else I can't remember. The portions were MORE than generous for each course, and the extensive wine list did not disappoint. Breakfast the next morning was just as excellent, I will be chasing the flavours in my own kitchen for years to come.
Congratulations Black Swan on your Michelin star for the third year in a row, you truly deserve it.

Room Tip: Take a walk to the Abby its beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmericanCaribbeanUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed here 37 years ago on honeymoon and have visited a few times since but had stopped as it had become run down. It is an ideal romantic destination.
In 2006 the new owners took it on and have renovated it to a very high standard the restaurant has now a Michelin star. The rooms are filled with antique furniture comfy bed and best stocked mini bar I have ever seen.The tea and coffee tray included a café tier and fresh coffee, teapot, fresh milk in fridge, lemon and lime slices and full ice bucket, bottle of filtered water, homemade brownies and cookies. Quality products in bathroom deep double ended claw feet bath and wet room shower. A private outside seating area with views of sheep grazing and swifts flying over head. Staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast excellent, No mobile service but can use hotels land line our local call was not charged. Food Devine as was wine, we were given advice on their extensive wine list as we are not experts it was expensive but worth it, as was the strawberry champagne cocktail. Not a beer drinkers pub as only Black sheep bitter available and a couple of lagers (luckily one of my husbands favourite) The bar has mousey Thompson furniture and is very cosy the restaurant intimate. I will definitely be going back although pricy it is worth it for a little bit of luxury spoiling.

Room Tip: Only four rooms we stayed in Duckdale, there is a four poster room at extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Visited The Black Swan for a second time last week and had a fantastic time! Only downside was the drive in (narrow country roads) but luckily we arrived before it was dark. Upon arrival we were shown to our room for the night 'Cockerdale'. Big double bed, bathroom with deep bath and wet room/shower area. Delicious homemade brownies and ginger biscuits and tea/coffee making facilities. We sat in the bar area whilst perusing the menus and the waiter was happy to answer questions that we had. The meal itself was delicious. Service was faultless. After a good nights sleep we enjoyed breakfast the following morning in the small private dining room. Would definitely recommend The Black Swan for a getaway. Lovely room, peaceful location and amazing food...what more could you ask for?

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RainbowDevs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oldstead
5.6 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
1,562 reviews
5.6 mi away
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
5.7 mi away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#3 of 4 in Helmsley
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
White Horse Lodge Hotel
5.6 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 4 in Helmsley
376 reviews
1.1 mi away
Forresters Arms
Forresters Arms
#1 of 3 in Kilburn
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Black Swan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Swan

Property: The Black Swan
Address: Main Street, Oldstead YO61 4BL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Oldstead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Oldstead
Hotel Class:5 star — The Black Swan 5*
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing