We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Black Swan
Nearby Hotels
$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$211
$204
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$101
$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$94
$85
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Best Western Burn Hall Hotel(Huby)(Great Value!)
$52
getaroom.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (206)
Filter reviews
206 results
Traveler rating
177
22
6
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
177
22
6
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstasting menucopper bathscallopsroll top bathamuse bouchehomemade biscuitsox cheekwalk in showerthe great british menukitchen gardenconverted stable blockflavour combinationsmolton brown toiletriesfresh milk in the fridgerestaurant with roomsseparate buildingwine package
Filter
Updating list...
164 - 169 of 206 reviews
Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights . The rooms are very good with a great view from the door - they are separate to pub in a converted out building .
We had the taster menu on the first night and a la carte the second . Both superb with excellent cheeseboard to finish.
We had a lot of snow on the first night which was cosy. It is quiet remote Nd roads very narrow so need to be aware of weather forecast in winter.
Very expensive but worth it for a special occasion.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank domshirt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

This place is really hard to find, tiny lanes find the little village where the pub is situated.

We went for a meal but the missus did go through to the bar side and said it looked really good.

Anyway upon arriving we went straight to the dining area, there was no sitting room to view the menu for have a drink. This was the only downside.

The food was really good, as was the wine, I just wish I could have had a taste but being the driver I had to go on the missus' review. It is also to be noted you pour your own drinks here which in some restaurants can be obnoxious when you rely on waiters.

If you want Michelin star quality and a price that won't break the bank come here, you can't go wrong. Think we paid £130 for two meals and the missus' wine. Burlington is nearly twice that and not near as nice.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

beautiful stay we had and the best meal for a long time we made use of the fantastic offer 7 course tasting dinner, bed & breakfast with a half bottle of Champagne on arrival £270! brilliant for a celebration and stay away. the food was tasty stylish and presented and cooked to perfection the wines were a treat and the stay was fabulous. the staff were helpful and generous with their time. the rooms were clean and beautifully presented. we had a cracking 2 days!! A great restaurant in Yorkshire

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Our room was beautiful, I've previously reviewed the food here. I love this restaurant tucked away in the countryside. Our room was very comfortable and spacious - the bed was comfy and the bath just made me want to have a soak. Nice finishing touches included the home made biscuits. Look at the pics

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ireallywanttogothere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We had the two-course set lunch - £25 each. Our mains were pheasant and coley, followed by the cheese board and a lemon custard (a sort of creme brulee). It was all excellent, as was the amuse bouche, the homemade bread and the coffee and petits fours. The service was excellent too. The food here has always been very good but now it's getting even better.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank MVC499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews