We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Flavours”
Review of The Black Swan

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oldstead
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Black Swan
Ranked #1 of 1 Oldstead B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 15, 2012

We went to the Black Swan for their seven course tasting menu, we also had the package of 5 glasses of wine with the courses, the restaurant is stylish and comfortable, and the service is fantastic, professional yet none intrusive. The bar area is very cosy with a lovely real fire. Now onto the food, wow the wonderful food, flavours galore and served in style, only one Michelin star!! Every detail of our evening had been thought of, the wines where all fantastic and well matched with the food served, we felt very spoilt and the atmosphere is very unpretentious. Worth every penny spent, this is a real treat; just go you will not regret it.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (185)
There are newer reviews for The Black Swan
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 185 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2012

It's very cosy eating in the bar area before a blazing fire. The food is not cheap but it's very good. Our mains were ox-cheek and sea bass, both very well cooked. Our puddings were chocolate fondant and ginger cake with rhubarb and marmalade ice cream. The ice cream is a highlight. The bread is good and an amuse bouche (pumpkin soup with a parmesan straw), very good. What with all this and coffee and petits fours you only need two courses for lunch. The service is excellent - efficient and pleasant and not intrusive. If there was any background music we didn't notice it - good!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank MVC499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2012

Stayed a couple of nights and dined each night in the restaurant. The rooms are small and simple but very well appointed with great bathrooms and decent beds. Big selling point is the food which didn't disappoint. It's first rate Michelin stuff, but served without any pompous nonsense. For food of this quality it's great that there are decent portions and you feel you've had a proper meal. There is a small bar downstairs which still feels like the original pub. Restuarant was completely full both nights of my stay. Overwhelming more 'mature' customers which meant that by 2115 each night we were the only people left eating, which lost a bit of ambience.

Oldstead is a great hidden spot with loads of walks to be done from the front door. Plan to return.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank acl1495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2012

We stayed 1 night at the end of January on one of the "dinner and stay" packages. It was worth every penny. The rooms (only 4 in all) look unpromising from the outside, but on the inside are excellent: large 4 poster bed, big telly, quality mini-bar and snacks, massive copper bath plus wet-room - all decorated to the highest standard. The food is excellent - the Michelin star is well deserved and we enjoyed the subtly attentive service too. It's a friendly and relaxed place to stay for a special occasion, and we would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank NorthEastMe999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2012

Once awarded a Michelin star, customers' expectations are high. The black Swan didn't disappoint. The room was lovely- the bathroom was beautiful too- and the food delicious.
Staff are friendly and welcoming. Homemade cake and biscuits await you in your room, along with fresh milk in the well stocked mini (and very silent!) fridge. We stayed in one of the four poster rooms with views looking out to snow covered fields. Very pretty and would be even more so in summer as there is a private area outside the room in which to sit and enjoy the scenery.
Just a couple of small criticisms: breakfast could be extended from 9.30 to a 10.00 finish. (Guests staying are unlikely to be rushing off early on work business). Brighter lightening in the room would have been an asset on a gloomy winter day. Having said that, this is a great place to stay and eat. If you try it and like it, Hipping Hall in Kirkby Lonsdale and L'Enclume in Cartmel might appeal too.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bec011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

We stayed for one night on a snowy Friday night in February. Included in the price was room, dinner and breakfast and I can say it was some of the best money we have ever spent. The room was lovely, special mention should be made to the fresh coffees, homemade cakes and biscuits and the roll top bath! But we were here for the food and we were not disapointed. Stunning from start to finish. We have been to a number of michelin starred restaurants all over the world ( 1, 2 and 3 stars) and apart from a meal at the fat duck this was the best food I have ever eaten. The value for money of this place should not be forgotten. The whole team (or should I say family) should be very proud of what they have achieved. We will be back and bringing friends and family next time!!!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Greedy_ToonTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2012

We stayed in the "Cockerdale" room for 1 night and opted for the 7-course taster menu with wine on the evening.

The food is outstanding and we would highly recommend the wine to accompany the food.

The room is tastfully decorated, with a wonderful bathroom including a double-ended bath.

All of the staff were genuinely fantastic.

Overall, a relaxed restaurant, wonderful room in a great setting - we will be back!

Room Tip: There's only 4 rooms, so they are all good!
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gravimetrix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oldstead
5.6 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
1,627 reviews
5.6 mi away
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
5.6 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 4 in Helmsley
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Golden Fleece Hotel
Golden Fleece Hotel
#2 of 5 in Thirsk
950 reviews
1.3 mi away
Byland Abbey Inn
Byland Abbey Inn
#1 of 3 in Coxwold
81 reviews
1.1 mi away
Forresters Arms
Forresters Arms
#1 of 3 in Kilburn
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Black Swan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Swan

Address: Main Street, Oldstead YO61 4BL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Oldstead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Oldstead
Hotel Class:5 star — The Black Swan 5*
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing