We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Dali-Gala Castle Museum-House (Castell de Pubol)
Book In Advance
More Info
$119.86*
and up
Private Salvador Dali Day Trip to Figueres and the Costa Brava from Barcelona
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Pubol
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Medeival castle painter Dali presented to his wife, Gala, is now a museum. Closed 1 January to 14 March
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Misterioso”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

We arrived there early in the morning and the whole village was covered with a fog. The castle was closed, so we went to a small cafe to have breakfast. Although they were closed, the owner let us in (as it was cold and wet outside) and when my mom asked for some sandwich she brought her a whole baguette with f pack of jamon in it) And the price was really small)))

So as soon as the castle opened we entered. I can't say the territory is big, but I loved the exposition, and the atmosphere there, the photos were also great. I definitely recommend to visit this place, but don't try to make Figueras, Cadaques and Pubol in one day! Each of these places need a separate day.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Tatiana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    130
    38
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Amazing a must for all Dali fans.”
Reviewed August 1, 2014

An amazing Medieval Castle - a gift to his wife Gala from Salvador Dali. It is in the most quiet Village of Publo. You cannot miss is, as you follow the Coaches in. Do not be put off by this. There are not many rooms to see, but what you do see is quite remarkable. The gardens are unusual. Gala Dali is buried in the crypt, so a little respect should be shown. You have to leave you bags in the recepstion room and you are given a numbered token for them. There are Toilets. There is a cafe nearby. And a huge Car park.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank carolravenhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southampton
Level Contributor
85 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Good Museum but may be difficult to find.”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

This is a once in a lifetime experience. Be sure to make reservations in advance as tours are in small groups of 8 and majority are probably booked by Coach Operators. nearby the museum is the Dali Museum in Figures which is worthwhile to go after visiting this small museum. There are about 12 rooms spanning 2 floors covering various rooms untouched since Dali and some good exhibitions and the gardens are nice abeit a bit small. A word of warning the Dali merchandise in the nearby shops are varied but extremely expensive and the Museum house could be difficult to find by car - so look up the address before hand.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank thomas2279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
144 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Inevitably - surreal”
Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

If you are a Dali fan or interested in Surrealism this is an absolute must. Some great artefacts and you get more of a sense of the man here than at Figueres (which is also worth seeing). Some reviews suggest it's not worth a detour, but to my mind it is complementary to Figueres, and also pop into Bisbal while you are in the area.

Helpful?
Thank spuddybike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guerneville, California
Level Contributor
144 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Visit if you are in the area -- but not worth a special trip”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Charming 'castle' (actually a converted chapel) but don't expect to see lots of Dali art. The skinny-leg elephants in the garden, one of his favorite motifs, and the spooky cript were the best part. The rooms on the 2nd floor constitute most of the viewable space. The museum had suggested about an hour for a visit, which was just about right.

Compared to the Dali theatre in Figueres, the Gala castle is no where near 5 stars by comparison. If you are in the area for other reasons, the Castle is worth a visit. The small villages in the area are charming. Go on a sunny day to see the fields of sunflowers (one right in back of the castle). The restaurant next door is pleasant, if average.

The unique Dali museum in Figureres (a little way further from Barcelona on the same train) is a much better goal for a day trip. (The train ride is not scenic until you get past Girona.) The Gala Castle took a lot of time and was expensive. Figure 2-2.5 hours each way by train (depending if local or media distance) plus 1+ hour for the castle and perhaps an hour or so for lunch - total 6-8 hours. Cost: 18 - 26 euros for train, 10 euros each way from Flaca to Pubol by taxi, 8 euros museum (6 for >65) -- total 44 - 54 euros. Plus 11 euros for lunch. At current rates, about $90 for the day for me.

When I arrived at Flaca, there was one taxi which had just been hired. Fortunately, they agreed to take me by Pubol (4-5 km) on their way further toward the coast. However, that taxi driver said he could not return to get me. The museum gave me the numbers for a taxi in Flaca (972.48.81.05 and alternate 629.37.75.95). Fortunately, I had a Spanish mobile. For reasons unkown, they did not offer to call for me, even though I was obviously not adept at Spanish. I suspect the restaurant next door might oblige if you don't have a phone. The taxi arrived in <10 minutes. In off season, it may be more difficult to get a taxi.

A couple of notes: the review that mentions tours in groups of 8 is referring to the Dali house on the coast which requires advance booking. The Gala Castle does not do tours and you don't need advance booking unless you are a large group. There was a private tour of about 20 that arrived when I did which was annoying but with a little patience, they got out of the way. Although there is a handicap entrance to the museum, I saw no way to get to the main rooms on the 2nd floor except stairs.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank IQ140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dali-Gala Castle Museum-House (Castell de Pubol) also viewed

Figueres, Province of Girona
Cadaques, Costa Brava
 
Peratallada, Province of Girona
 

Been to Dali-Gala Castle Museum-House (Castell de Pubol)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing