We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting but unusual” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dali-Gala Castle Museum-House (Castell de Pubol)

Dali-Gala Castle Museum-House (Castell de Pubol)
Book In Advance
More Info
$143.56*
and up
Private Tour: Medieval Towns and Dali Landscapes Day Trip from Barcelona
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Pubol
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Medeival castle painter Dali presented to his wife, Gala, is now a museum. Closed 1 January to 14 March
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Interesting but unusual”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

The museum is not to our personal taste in art, but if you are in Pubol it is worth visiting. The grounds are lovely.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank annsan61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    129
    37
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
219 reviews
140 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Very cool”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

Púbol is a beautiful little village, but really the only thing to see is the Dalí-Gala house. My family and I happen to all really love his artwork, so we visited all the museums (in Figueras and Cadaques). I liked this house more than Port Lligat house in Cadaques, but it's a little out of the way and there isn't as much to do as there is in Cadaques. They don't provide that much information about the different rooms, but it's still an interesting visit and scattered all throughout are works of art by Dalí, though obviously not his most famous works. The garden is very pretty and the surreal fountainhead and elephant statues were really fun. My favorite room was the one with all of Gala's vintage gowns on display.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Worth the trip to Pubol”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

We visited the museum in Figueres and had enough time for one more museum so we decided to visit the castle in Pubol. It was well worth our time. We found the place fascinating in it's simplicity and gave us an insight into the lives of Gala and Salvador Dali. Finding the place was a bit difficult even with a GPS so get a good map.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mike-Bethesda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hope, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

Great insight into Dali's lifestyle. Be sure to book ahead.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank JaneandElliot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Hill, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The third leg of the triangle”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

Frankly this is the least impressive of the three stops on the "Dali triangle," and the most difficult to reach, but it's well worth the visit if you're a fan. The gardens are marvelous. There's also a very good restaurant next door - the Can Bosch - so it makes a good day outing by car from Girona or Figueres.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank evolxatu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dali-Gala Castle Museum-House (Castell de Pubol) also viewed

Figueres, Province of Girona
Cadaques, Costa Brava
 
Peratallada, Province of Girona
 

Been to Dali-Gala Castle Museum-House (Castell de Pubol)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing