We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous stay at Las Moradas del Unicornio” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Las Moradas del Unicornio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Las Moradas del Unicornio
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pubol
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous stay at Las Moradas del Unicornio”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Las Moradas del Unicornio for 1 night in February as we where visiting El Celler de can Roca in nearby Girona (about 30 mins in a cab). We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and found Olga and Kim to be friendly, welcoming hosts. Olga doesn't speak English but is clearly very passionate about the house, whereas Kim's English is excellent. The house itself is full of character and beautifully decorated. We stayed in the Dorado room which is huge (love the giant sofa) and has patio doors onto the lovely garden. Unfortunately it was too cold to use the pool but I imagine in the summer its great. Olga showed us the other rooms and all look equally lovely and full of character. Olga also arranged for flowers and champagne to be in the room on arrival as it was my my wifes birthday, plus prepared a gorgeous meet / bread / wine snack for us. Overall I loved it and my only regret is we stayed for only 1 night.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank david_judic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    25
    2
    5
    6
See reviews for
14
305
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2011

My husband and I spent two nights here while biking in the region, and we really enjoyed it! As others have noted, Olga and Kim really go out of their way to make you feel at home, and their home is wonderful!

The property: We stayed in the Dorado Unicorn room, which was huge and had the whirlpool tub mentioned by others--which felt fantastic after a long day of biking. We also spent some time in the library, which was a very cool space, and contained a great variety of books, including those of Kim's photography. The garden in the back was lovely--though we did not get to swim, we ate breakfasts and one dinner there, and it was an extremely romantic setting. Sitting outside at night and gazing at the millions of stars above was extraordinary.

The food: Olga's dinner was one of the best meals we ever had (pricey though). Everything was made with the utmost love and care, from the homemade focaccia and jams to the beans and bacalao cheeks, and for dessert, homemade cheese with quince paste and walnuts, and Basque cheesecake. Olga's cooking was so amazing it was truly unbelievable! And Kim was great at helping us to pair our dinner with a crisp, regional white wine and our dessert with cava.

Breakfasts were also splendid. It would be nice, as others have noted, if the breakfast were free. But at 6 euro/person, it was well worth it, for a variety of fresh artisan breads and pastries, omelettes, etc.

In short, we left Las Moradas feeling well rested and content, and hope very much to return in the future!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank reinhardtk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2011

My wife and I stayed at Las Moradas last June. It was a little hard to find (enter Pubol, not Girona, in the GPS), but once there we were welcomed ever so warmly by the hostess, Olga Castells (whose husband is a famous landscape photographer.) The guest rooms are beautifully appointed, and soft mediaeval music combined with Olga's amazing cuisine combine to produce a truly romantic setting. The property also adjoins the fascinating Dali Gala castle. If you are looking for something different, tasteful, respectful and intimate, I suggest you share with us this delightful abode.
David Cruse and Maggie Down

Room Tip: Only two guest rooms available
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DavidCruse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2011

We were looking for something a little different and were taken with the unique and quirky look of the house along with its very special location and history. It is not your average B&B and it is certainly not your average B&B price, but we believe you get what you pay for in life.

We arrived late in the afternoon so had already decided to stay in for dinner as it was our wedding anniversary so we ordered from Olga’s wonderful menu before we departed the UK. It was a very romantic setting, a table in the garden surrounded by candles and relaxing music.
The food was all freshly prepared and quite delicious.
Breakfast is also served in the garden and Olga was happy to let us have lye in, we could eat anytime up to 11am!

We stayed in the White Unicorn room which we found very comfortable, there was a lounge and separate bathroom. According to Olga this room has mystical powers!

We felt like we were visiting old friends even though this was our first visit to Olga and Kim’s home, and despite the slight language barrier we found a common bond and always managed to understand each other. Kim was also there to translate from time to time and had a great knowledge of where to go and how to get there.

If like us you want to get away from it all; relax and feel completely detached from the hustle and bustle of every day life this is the place for you.
We loved it so much we plan to go back next year as it is rare that you find such a place and such delightful people.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Carol_and_Bob25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelona
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2011

We wanted a break from city life, and choose this place based on the trip advisor reviews.

We had the white suite, as the gold was not available. It was lovely antique style and very large, although i found it a bit dark. The house and garden were spotless and tastefully decorated.

The hosts, Olga and Kim, could not have been more accommodating. They really do provide an excellent service and nothing seemed too much.

We stayed for the evening meal and it was one of the best fish dishes I have ever had.

The main complaint we had was the music: while i do not mind new age music, it was much too loud and too continuos. We found it hard to take our needed siesta on arrival. it was playing right outside our room as well as outside in the garden. My partner and I both felt we could not tell them to turn is down - the hosts try so hard for things to be perfect - but it was really too much for us. The other little negative i have is that the breakfast was not included in the price, which i found a little strange as it is a b&b.

Overall though, if you like b&b´s and the personal touch, then i fully recommend this place - try and get the golden suite though.

Room Tip: The golden suite is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank fiionabarcelona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4,916 reviews
362 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,802 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2011

This was such a surprise and totally unexpected.
As an aside, it is an example of why Trip Advisor is so important as this B&B is not found in the normal travel guides and my concierge service had never heard of it.

BUT this trip was special as we were visiting Can Roca (no.2 restaurant in the world) and we were dosing out on Dali's history - this met all those criteria and even more.
not only was it only 20 minutes from the best restaurant in Spain but it was at the doorsteps of Gala's home.
I normally freak at B&B's as typical proprietors assume they are my best friends within minutes of meeting but Kim and Olga are both courteous and friendly but also leave you alone to enjoy their home.
We not only though had Kim and Olga looking after us in a home that was hundreds of years old but we also had Gala's ex housekeeper make us breakfast in the morning.
History doesn't get any better.
Another bonus was our room - dsecribed by other reviewers as the Golden Unicorn room, and yes, it is large and it fronts onto the pool and garden but more importantly for us,it was described by Olga as the Dorado Unicorn.
This just made it for my wife as Lynn trains brumbies (wild horses known as mustangs in the States) and her special horse is named Dorado - what more could you ask for.

We went onto Cadaques the next day to visit Dali's studio and we stayed in a typical non-descript motel - my only regret then was that i hadn't booked a couple of days at Pubol rather than looking for accommodation at Cadaques - the sense of history and b&b atmosphere was more relaxing than your typical family motel in other towns.
Definitely recommended.

Room Tip: ask for the Golden Unicorn room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RonWamberal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2011

We were looking for somewhere special to stay - and we found it. This is a really unique B&B in the historic town of Pubol - in fact, the B&B is actually in the building that forms the entryway into the town. We stayed in the Golden Unicorn room which was very large and comfortable. There's an entire living area with a small couch and a table where you can eat. The bathroom is also large, though there is no standing shower, just a large jacuzzi tub (which is very nice). Overall, this is one of the two best hotels we stayed in out of 9 places in 4 countries.

A few things to know:

-The owners are lovely people, but their English is very poor. Kim also speaks French, but if you are limited to English, don't rely on them for detailed information. This is also true for e-mail correspondence with the hotel. I put it all through google translate.

-Get a meal at the B&B (other than breakfast). We initially thought the menu sounded a little pricey but one night we didn't feel like going out so we decided to get a small snack from Olga and it turned into one of the best meals we had on our whole trip. They laid out a huge spread for us of meats and cheeses and salads and everything was delicious and fresh. Totally worth it. Plus, we only made this request around 10:30pm and they jumped right on it.

-The town of Pubol is tiny, though tourists descend on it in droves to see the Gala Dali Castle. This is not even remotely disruptive if you are staying at the B&B, just something to know. Also, there is a restaurant in town that caters to the tourists visiting the house - don't go there, it's not very good.

-You will need a car if you stay here, but everything is very accessible and the roads are extremely well marked with a lot of signage. We didn't need a GPS.

-Browse through the photo books in your room and in the hotel lobby. Kim is a professional photographer and most of these books contain his work. They may inspire you with places you want to visit, since they are mostly of the Spanish landscape.

-Ask Kim for restaurant recommendations. He has many and is very thorough with giving directions.

-Get specific directions on how to find the B&B when you arrive in Pubol. If you don't know where it is, it's hard to find.

-Just to clarify - the private gardens and pool and the B&B are for the use of all the guests and for the family. When we arrived, the family was having lunch in the gardens, from where you can see into the Golden Unicorn room. This didn't bother us as we were planning to go out anyway, but we had been under the impression that the gardens were just for our room. Also, Olga and Kim enjoy New Age music and on one night they were playing it quite loudly throughout the B&B. As this was their home, we didn't feel comfortable asking them to turn it down, but if you are someone who goes to bed early, this may bother you.

-Breakfast is not included. We assumed it was, since B&B typically stands for bed and breakfast, but we were charged 12 euros each for it. This is actually not a bad deal given how expensive food can be in Spain, but we were surprised. Still, the setting for breakfast was beautiful and Olga (and her daughter, who helped serve) were wonderful.

Room Tip: The Golden Unicorn was pretty great, though we didn't really see the other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank thetravelcritic50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pubol
2.1 mi away
El Raco de Madremanya
El Raco de Madremanya
#1 of 2 in Madremanya
5.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
12.2 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Galena Mas Comangau
13.5 mi away
Salles Hotel Mas Tapiolas
Salles Hotel Mas Tapiolas
#1 of 2 in Santa Cristina d'Aro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Hotel Museu Llegendes de Girona
6.1 mi away
Hotel El Cau de Papibou
Hotel El Cau de Papibou
#1 of 3 in Peratallada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
2.8 mi away
La Pepa Maca
La Pepa Maca
#3 of 3 in Monells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Moradas del Unicornio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Moradas del Unicornio

Property: Las Moradas del Unicornio
Address: Pza. Constitucion- c/ Gala-Dali. | a 20 min. del Aeropuerto. Junto Museo Gala Dalí, 17120 Girona Pubol, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Pubol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pubol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 35

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing